Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars11
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£28.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2001
DO NOT EXPECT TO LEARN VBSCRIPT FROM THIS BOOK!!! This is a book solely intended for people with some knowledge of vbscript programming as a quick-reference guide and as such - its excellent. Compared to Microsoft's own online reference guide this will explain how to use vbscript to your advantage and is an easy to use reference. Personally I use it mainly for vbs scripts for enterprise apps
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2001
I mainly use VB Script for ASP applications and this book has been invaluable to me. It details every language element and function (syntax, arguments etc.) together with programming tips & examples. It lists everything alphabetically and by category so it is very easy to find what you are looking for. If you program in VB Script then get this book - you won't be disappointed...
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2001
Like most of the O'Reilly's publications this book isn't for the feint hearted. This is most definitely a reference book and I would not recommend its use as a tutorial. However, there comes a time when you've learnt the basics and you need to be able to have the information at your fingertips. This is the best reference book that I've found on VB Scripting and WSH so far.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2003
Great book if you are already familiar with the basic of writing scripts, or even working with existing scripts.
The tutorials in the early chapters of the book do not impress much - if you don't already have knowledge of script application in Outlook, or IE, etc.. they will be awkward to grasp.
However, I have found the latter half of the book - which carries the VBScript reference pages, and a small Windows Script Host reference invaluable. The information is concise, easily understood, and well linked to other functions to increase understanding and use of the language.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2003
Small and easy to carry - but packed with info. Solved a problem for me which I had been working on for weeks ! The layout of the book showing syntax and practical examples makes easy readng. Not a book for beginers but a must have for anybody working on web page designs where wizards wont or cant do it for you !
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2002
Brilliant reference, but not a tutorial.
1st section details scripting in IE, Outlook, ASP etc, and has an overview of the object models in each. Sorted out my Outlook form scripting issues!
2nd section is a brilliant reference to all VB Script functions, what version they came about, how to use them, code snippets, related functions.
Having bought quite a few useless "IT books" recently, usually for >30 squids, I'm happy to say this one at least has a place on my desk!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
Good for a beginner but few practical business examples.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
Good Book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
all good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2001
This book is not a tutorial, but then to be fair it doesn't claim to be. Almost 2/3 of it is language reference and between this book and Wrox Windows Scripting Host (Dino Esposito) I have gone from nil experience to writing fair login scripts. The tid-bits are there and are reasonably well indexed. A fair book for the beginner.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)