Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars MySQL At A Glance
The pocket guides by O'Reilly are not really learning aids but instead offer a quick reference to things the authors presumes you should know.

This guide offers the most common MySQL commands in a friendly and easy to read format, the book also offers guides on how to work with MySQL as well as giving an overview of the language in general.

Good for...
Published on 5 April 2011 by Mr. P. Graham

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor index compromises the book
It would seem absolutely basic that the index has the page numbers for commands. It doesn't, even for something as basic as SELECT. The information is in there, but given that it's supposed to be a "pocket reference", it's time-consuming to find it. I'll probably end up putting marker tabs into the book to use it.
Published 3 months ago by G C W S Wheeler


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Poor index compromises the book, 14 Mar 2014
By 
G C W S Wheeler (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It would seem absolutely basic that the index has the page numbers for commands. It doesn't, even for something as basic as SELECT. The information is in there, but given that it's supposed to be a "pocket reference", it's time-consuming to find it. I'll probably end up putting marker tabs into the book to use it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MySQL At A Glance, 5 April 2011
By 
Mr. P. Graham "Peter433" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The pocket guides by O'Reilly are not really learning aids but instead offer a quick reference to things the authors presumes you should know.

This guide offers the most common MySQL commands in a friendly and easy to read format, the book also offers guides on how to work with MySQL as well as giving an overview of the language in general.

Good for those who tend to forget !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's good, and could have been better!, 22 Aug 2010
By 
A. Kwabula (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a handy little textbook that serves as a reminder when one is working with MySQL Databases. My only problem is the scanty index provided for it. Sure it's meant to tiny but a few more pages to accommodate a more useful index would not hurt portability since it's barely 132 pages. For some of the most important MySQL commands the only way to find them them is to flip through the book since they do not apear on the table of contents either partially defeating the purpose which is to access MySQL statements quickly.

However due to the small size, the book still offers fast access to commonly used statements, and can help accelerate development by placing commonly used statements at one's fingertips. Despite being very small the Author offers brief explainations of data types, how to add users, etc. It has a page on mysql command-line utility. So all in all, a very useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pocket Guide, 29 Sep 2009
By 
ACJ (Aylesbury Vale) - See all my reviews
Everything you would expect from O'Reilly. Just the right level for a Quick reminder. Shame Amazon take so long to dispatch the order
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great wee book for the bus ....................................with instant obsolesence., 4 Sep 2009
By 
I. A. Peden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These reference books are great for stuffing in your pocket as you rush for the bus in the morning. MySQL Pocket Reference , being a particularly good example. MySQL , the language , has many variants or versions , resulting in instant obsolescence on publication.
Pocket books are the best option when trying to remember the syntax of 90% of SQL functions .
Great wee book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

MySQL Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly))
MySQL Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) by George Reese (Mass Market Paperback - 3 Mar 2003)
5.85
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews