Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Reference
No-one likes spending any longer than necessary reading technical books. We read these books because (we hope!) they are condensed instruction manuals, so after reading them, we know what to do, and can get on with it.

This book achieves exactly that: it is compact and concise. It introduces what may be new concepts without any fanfares... it just states - very...
Published on 11 Nov 2009 by S. MACLAREN

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent but somewhat disappointing
As a pocket reference, the book accomplishes this task very well. It's a very small book (in terms of length and size) and all the information is concise and quick to read. With a background in C you could learn Objective C from this book but it still wouldn't be a bad idea to get a more in depth book on Objective C. The unfortunate problem with this book is it's filled...
Published on 23 Jun 2011 by AJ


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Reference, 11 Nov 2009
This review is from: Objective-C Pocket Reference (Paperback)
No-one likes spending any longer than necessary reading technical books. We read these books because (we hope!) they are condensed instruction manuals, so after reading them, we know what to do, and can get on with it.

This book achieves exactly that: it is compact and concise. It introduces what may be new concepts without any fanfares... it just states - very clearly - what the different parts of the language, and the Objective-C run-time (Cocoa or Cocoa Touch, for the iPhone and iPod touch), do.

You will have to pay attention to the text in this book. There are very few diagrams, (although the examples of interfaces and implementations are neatly explained in Objective-C). If you come from a C, Java or C++ background, most of the verbal descriptions will be easy to comprehend. You may have to re-read some paragraphs, because there is so much information contained in this book, but re-reading should clarify the subject(s) for you. Duncan's writing style is fluid, accurate and not too dry - a welcome relief!

Get this great value book if you need to learn Objective-C and already know C/C++ and don't want a "Dummy-style" explanation.

One of the best O'Reilly books I have ever bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Typographical Errors tarnish first Kindle purchase, 2 Mar 2011
First off, the content itself is exactly what I wanted: a text that assumes a good working knowledge of C and either Java or some other OOP language.

Unfortunatley, whilst having this on a Kindle is for the most part very nice and I`m sure will prove useful, typographical errors in code examples tarnish the experience. Something I expect from a volunteer-OCR job, not something I just paid for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good concise reference, 11 April 2009
By 
Michael Hopkins (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Objective-C Pocket Reference (Paperback)
Does exactly what it suggests - gives a clear and concise reference to all the important aspects of Objective-C as a superset of C. For anyone with good C knowledge, this combined with the Apple & GNUstep documentation on the web will be all you need to take advantage of this delightful object-oriented paradigm which balances the speed & generality of C with a simple set of extensions which provide very significant power, much closer to the 'true' Smalltalk object model than the theoretically efficient but often infuriatingly obtuse mixed type/generic/object model of C++ which can become a nightmare to develop in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small and perfectly formed, 19 Oct 2011
This review is from: Objective-C Pocket Reference (Paperback)
Like many people who will buy this book, I recently started developing for Apple platforms. After years of coding in C/C++ moving to Objective-C is something of a challenge. I found the Apple documentation of Objective-C overblown and tedious to read (a whole page explaining why you would program with objects for example). This book was exactly what I wanted, a small, concise, no frills guide to Objective-C. A book where you can find information quickly, without wading for pages of waffle about how the author likes to program. It sits on my desk as I write and I use it most days. It's not a guide for beginners, it won't tell you how to program for Mac, iPhone or iPad (or anything else). However, if you don't want your hand held, and you're comfortable using the OS documentation, this book provides all the information you need to program effectively in Objective-C.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent but somewhat disappointing, 23 Jun 2011
This review is from: Objective-C Pocket Reference (Paperback)
As a pocket reference, the book accomplishes this task very well. It's a very small book (in terms of length and size) and all the information is concise and quick to read. With a background in C you could learn Objective C from this book but it still wouldn't be a bad idea to get a more in depth book on Objective C. The unfortunate problem with this book is it's filled with typographical errors and incorrect code. Silly errors that should have been picked up by the editor like declaring a method as returning nothing when it actually returns an integer or incorrectly spelling method names. Even things like getting the line numbering wrong. In addition, the author makes some strange choices in naming, like calling Instance Variables, Fields when instance variables is the commonly accepted terminology. It's also important to note that this book is old. It doesn't cover any of the new features of Objective C 2.0 so you'll have to search the internet for information on that. Fortunately Objective C 2.0 isn't radically different so most of the (correct) information is still valid.

Make no mistake, this is a handy book but the numerous errors in it (from the very start of the book) really dampen the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference and intro to Objective C, 5 Feb 2011
This review is from: Objective-C Pocket Reference (Paperback)
I bought this book as a language reference for doing Cocoa/iPhone development -- despite the fact that it hardly mentions Cocoa and doesn't mention the iPhone at all (and was published in 2002), I found it extremely useful in explaining the concepts of Objective-C (much better than in any of the iPhone development books that I've read).

This book does exactly what it's supposed to: provides a quick and concise reference to Objective C. I read it from front to back when I first got it, and it's now a great companion on my desk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good reference, 25 Dec 2011
This review is from: Objective-C Pocket Reference (Paperback)
This is the best book on iPhone programming I have bought so far. I bought it as a reference for use with my other books and it is just that! Very good. I am half way through it in 2 days. There is a typo on page 10 which threw me briefly, this is corrected in the Kindle version (yes, its so good I bought that too). The typo is c@class which should read @class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Handy reference to keep by the keyboard, 20 Dec 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Objective-C Pocket Reference (Paperback)
Useful little book, keeps your brain from melting over compiler FUBARs and simple stuff that you do everyday, but for some reason your brain turns brown and squishy and needs a handy little crib like this to give it a kick start, especially, on Monday mornings...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well, it's cheap, 30 April 2010
By 
Nalle Rooth (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Objective-C Pocket Reference (Paperback)
This book suffers from "spontaneous information". While the author is describing subject A, he seems to realize that he also needs to cover subject B, in order to give a good overview of subject A. This is a normal "problem" in books, but I still feel that the book could have been better planned, without too much effort.

Since it's very cheap I'm giving it 3/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab78596c)

This product

Objective-C Pocket Reference
Objective-C Pocket Reference by Andrew M. Duncan (Paperback - 29 Dec 2002)
7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews