Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent tutorial and reference
Scalable Vector Graphics (SVG) is an XML language for specifying object-based graphics. "SVG Essentials" provides an excellent introduction to the language as well as a wealth of reference information.
The book starts off with a simple introduction to SVG by drawing a rather simple cat. Okay, so it looks like a five-year-old's drawing, but this isn't a...
Published on 10 Mar 2002 by CMcC

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good primer
While this is a very good as an introduction, it is not very thorough, particularly with more advanced topics such as animation and scripting where browsers are still a minefield. A new edition is needed.
Published on 14 Sep 2008 by Chuckster


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent tutorial and reference, 10 Mar 2002
By 
CMcC (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: SVG Essentials (Paperback)
Scalable Vector Graphics (SVG) is an XML language for specifying object-based graphics. "SVG Essentials" provides an excellent introduction to the language as well as a wealth of reference information.
The book starts off with a simple introduction to SVG by drawing a rather simple cat. Okay, so it looks like a five-year-old's drawing, but this isn't a problem. Other texts start off with some incredible masterpiece which you would never be able to produce yourself; this one starts off with a clear, to the point, simple image which can easily be understood. The rest of the graphics are the same -- rather than attempting to dazzle the reader with eye candy, the author provides useful graphics of the kind you are likely to create yourself.
The sections on shapes and gradients are equally down to earth and useful. All examples are well selected, and are not put in purely for the drool factor. The effects section should probably be longer -- the W3C specification contains a wealth of mathematics and very little useful description.
The second half of the book covers animated SVG, converting to and from SVG and serving SVG from Apache. The code here is more in-depth and less suited for beginners, but for people familiar with the basics of dynamic content generation it should be helpful.
The book assumes that the reader is familiar with XML, although an appendix provides a very brief introduction to the language. Readers with no knowledge of SGML or XML may find another text on one of these languages useful as a companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SVG in practice, 17 May 2004
By 
Stephen Hampshire (Huddersfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SVG Essentials (Paperback)
This book is great for people (like me) who've grasped the idea of SVG from an introductory chapter in a general XML book, but want to get to grips with the detail of the language.
Where it really scores is with practical examples of things you can do with SVG, particularly sripting it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than enough to get me started., 15 Jun 2002
This review is from: SVG Essentials (Paperback)
I'd tried, and failed, to get into SVG from the rec.
This book was more than enough. I worked through the first
few chapters, quickly getting the hang of it, and now use
it as a quick reference. Doing that I missed the matrix piece
at the end:-)
Not 100% rec coverage, but more than adequate to get into
SVG sufficiently to use it with confidence as yet another
XML tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, better than any web tutorial, 7 Aug 2012
By 
CMB (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SVG Essentials (Paperback)
Hunting around for a web-tutorial, most did not describe stylesheets and grouping well (and that's hardly advanced, I'd say it is essential after the basic shapes.

This book is now a decade old, but it's still valid - more so, as most browsers now support svg (apart from internet explorer before v9, i.e. on Windows XP). A new edition would be very welcome - luckily for the author, such a version could be mainly extending the breadth of the book (into animation) as the fundamentals have not changed or become outdated.

Note this book is available on O'Reilly's commons website (google svg essentials wikicontent). I bought a used copy for a few quid as nice to have a bound copy.

Internet Explorer lack of support for SVG until version 9 is no doubt the reason for the lack of popularity of SVG (though there are workarounds). Maybe in a year or two (2014?) SVG will finally become mainstream - when Windows XP no longer common, and therefore we can rely on IE9 being the base level browser. IE8 has no support for SVG, and that's hampered SVG considerably. Once we no longer have to support IE8, SVG will be useful from website decorations, backgrounds, through to complex menu systems and drawing web-apps. The future looks great for SVG!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple introduction to SVG, 22 July 2002
By 
Alan Moran (Zürich Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SVG Essentials (Paperback)
This book provides a beginner's introduction to SVG and in this respect is more than adequate. For those familar with the W3C documentation (TR, notes etc.) you will find further detailed information once you have finished this book (or indeed as a worthy alternative to it).
In spite of it's claim to be an "essentials only" book my main reservation about it is that it is not presented sufficiently in the context of other XML technologies. For example, one significant feature of SVG is its interoperability with XSL (e.g. embedding images in PDF documents using XSL-FO etc.). Such examples are simple to demonstrate and make more apparent why SVG should be of interest to developers rather than present it as yet another image generation technology.
The author has missed several good opportunities here that I hope will be addressed in a future edition of the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 20 Dec 2011
This review is from: SVG Essentials (Paperback)
I found this book very easy to read and not too hard to keep up with. The information is spread out through the chapters well. I started reading and testing the examples on the PC. But after chapter 5 I decided to just read the book all the way through first and then read through it and testing the examples on the PC. This is a great book if you want to learn about SVG.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good primer, 14 Sep 2008
This review is from: SVG Essentials (Paperback)
While this is a very good as an introduction, it is not very thorough, particularly with more advanced topics such as animation and scripting where browsers are still a minefield. A new edition is needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SVG Essentials
SVG Essentials by J. David Eisenberg (Paperback - 15 Feb 2002)
£17.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews