Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


198 of 223 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only read one book arguing against scripture, make it this one
This is the most powerfully persuasive and concise book I have yet read on this subject and I have read many others,including Darwin, Dawkins, Dennett and many others.
In my opinion it is unbeatable and should be compulsory reading in all secondary schools.
For a man who was brought up as a regular practising Christian, in the USA, (a land where Christian...
Published on 13 April 2008 by Fictionhistoriphile

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Curates Egg!
Comprehensive & well researched - covers a wide range of arguments against the inconsistencies in the Bible. However, its let down by an immature writing style. It looks as if the Publisher couldn't afford an editor to guide the author. Probably worth it for the amount of information but be ready to wade through some turgid text!!
Published on 16 Jan 2011 by David K


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

198 of 223 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only read one book arguing against scripture, make it this one, 13 April 2008
This is the most powerfully persuasive and concise book I have yet read on this subject and I have read many others,including Darwin, Dawkins, Dennett and many others.
In my opinion it is unbeatable and should be compulsory reading in all secondary schools.
For a man who was brought up as a regular practising Christian, in the USA, (a land where Christian fundamentalism and fanaticism is just as rife and dangerous,as in countries where Islam follows a similar trend), he presents a totally unbiased and impartial, strictly evidence based, critical appraisal of the Judaeo-christian scriptures.
He accepts only that evidence which is provable and rejects "faith statements" based on the fallacies of "believing what it says in the scriptures solely because it is allegedly the word of God". If you read the bible (old & new testaments) you owe it to yourself to read the arguments that oppose them, before making up your own mind.
Like the author, I too grew up in a Christian household and was indoctrinated for the first 30 years of my life. I regret that I never thought to question it, until my 62nd year and feel I have been living a delusion for the past 32 years. So I feel a little embittered, that I was misled for so long. Thanks Jason. Retired professional SW England, UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nonsense indeed..., 5 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Biblical Nonsense: A Review of the Bible for Doubting Christians (Paperback)
There are (and I am guessing) probably millions of humans who believe in a wise and benevolent figure (a wisened male, often depicted in popular culture with white hair and a big white beard) that, at the most basic level, hears and sees everything and subsequently rewards the good and severely punishes the bad. To many other people around the world this figure is simply a fabrication of man, conjured up to control the behaviour of the masses, who put their blind belief in him in order to be personally rewarded for being good. Belief in this figure is largely dependent upon where you are born, so if you are born in Surrey he is very, very real, but if you are born in say China, he isn't real at all. Every December the faithful believers celebrate his joyous coming and give praise for his generosity and love, often with the exchange of small folded pieces of card bearing his image.

To not believe in this Santa Clause figure (that's Santa, not Satan) or to not be good, will, according to most parents, lead to him becoming wrathful and ultimately to no presents at Christmas time. For the believing kids that would be a very bad, and a very real, thing. Hellish, in fact. So they all accept what their parents have told them and blindly believe in Santa.

I raise this point as this book is written by a one time believer in the Bible (that other great man made creation) and I sense the style of the book reflects this cathartic conversion from blind belief, following careful examination of scientific and historic facts, and a good dose of common sense.

Following on from the point above, imagine explaining the evidence supporting the existance of Santa Clause. The author here would start by examining the evidence for the existence of manufacturing facilities in Lapland sufficient to accommodate the scale of production required to supply all the toys in the world. He would go onto prove, through carefully examining census records, that the population of dwarves in Lapland was only 6 and therefore nowhere near sufficient to man the plant. He would discuss the local population's view that no jobs have ever been advertised at any such plant and that nobody had seen the vast number of trucks required to supply the raw materials. He would point out that companies like Mattel and Hornby had never been approached by representatives from any company from Lapland about the use of trade marks and no tax records show the payment of VAT or Corporation Tax from any such company. He would then turn his attention to the aerodynamics of sledges that made them impossible to fly, the fact there is no record of a Reindeer having been seen airborne and the vexed question as to how a rotund character could navigate a chimney clocking in at an impressive 32 stone. Finally he would conclude that flight data collected from around the world did not support the flight patterns required to visit all the houses in the World on one night and that to do this would require a flight time of at least 10,000 years.

The believer (child) would look at the evidence above and, based on an abject fear of not getting any presents, conclude immediately, and without question, that it must be a MIRACLE because its 'what their parents and their faith based school told them was true'. A rational, older, child would have just looked at this and concluded - well, it's just a load of tosh isn't it. And equally they would conclude the same about Noah, talking burning shrubbery, virgin birth's, walking on water, Earth consuming floods, talking donkeys and snakes, God giving the Egyptian army piles, God forcing Ezekiel to eat bread made from human excrement, a seven eyed lamb, trumpets that when blown can decimate entire cities, angels with wings, Satan with horns (the evil one), simple magical healing tricks and so on.

However, the annihilation of, for example, the Noah story in this punishing and incredulous vein is very entertaining to read (in a laugh-out-loud way). The author goes to the extreme level of pointing out, in a completely dead pan way, that if all the animals of the World were indeed corralled into a 150m long wooden boat (the maximum length that a wooden vessel can be constructed according to this book) the build up of methane from the animals could lead to a pretty nasty explosion, particularly given the `FACT' that the ventilation system put in by Noah was only 16 inches wide and only in 1 compartment of the boat....he eve tackles the vexed question of how long it would take Noah and his wife to shovel the animals waste, which as you can imagine is quite a lot.

This book is definitely worth reading despite the sledgehammer style described above, as, through the complete decimation of the silly Bible stories, there emerges a large number of clear points that will stick in the mind, such as the BIBLICAL FACT that according to the Old Tasty Mint (the infallible word of God, remember) the wrathful and jealous GOD, Yahweh, is directly responsible for the deaths of between 2 and 5 million people* (including bizarrely millions of innocent women and children who are seen by the author of the bible as just collateral damage), which puts him into the same league as both Stalin and Hitler - interestingly I am not aware that Satan (the evil one) has killed anyone according to the actual Bible - which is a bit odd given his poor reputation for sneeking around bushes, tempting people with fruit and vegetables and hissing at people in a sinister way (he's behind you..!).

There are lengthy interesting sections on historical time lines, contradictions, the exact authors of the bible, why there are only 4 gospels when 75 are known to have been written, what historical evidence actually exists for the Messiah (all together now, 'he's not the Messiah, he's a very naughty boy') and so on, which deal with the more grounded parts of the Bible and then goes on to unpick these parts through hard historical evidence. These sections I found more enthralling than the stuff about Noah, Jonah and the Whale and so on which, as I said, is just common sense (even among the shrinking pool of people who actually still call themselves Christian in the UK, according to recent census surveys).

This book, therefore, is heavily biased to the loony tunes old testament, but it is important to bear in mind that millions of people still believe in all of this bronze age stuff (particularly in the US and the middle east) and it is these BIBLICAL FACTS that underpin the whole Bible - without the nonsense in the old testament the later stuff in the new testament doesn't make any sense either, or as a minimum it cannot be relied upon as in any convincing way factual. The whole shakey pack of cards is built on these wildly implausible foundations and the author systematically takes a sledgehammer to these foundations with predictable conclusions.

Worth reading.

* This figure could be as high as 30 million when you throw in the genocide of the entire human race by drowning, including innocent children, when GOD got upset that his creations were getting fat, lazy and a bit coarse (not to mention all the animals that had to die aswell) - which is truly shocking as it's a caste iron, bona fide FACT as it says so in the Bibble. Still, I guess on the plus side, we got bright colourful rainbows to look at to remind us of the 30 million people that died, which is a nice touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction, 12 Dec 2010
This review is from: Biblical Nonsense: A Review of the Bible for Doubting Christians (Paperback)
This is a good, thorough introduction to the various problems that exist in the Bible - for the most part, an enumeration of how the God of the Old Testament is morally deplorable, and how the morals of the OT are not acceptable in our modern age. There is also a section on overt contradictions. The section on the New Testament is briefer, mostly focusing on the question of Jesus' existence and divinity, and whether he offered good morals. A worthwhile read for anyone who doesn't want too much technicality and wants to get to the point without too much rhetoric. If you're in doubt about Christianity - either an agnostic or a doubting Christian, you should probably give this a look, so that you can see that even without Dawkins' arguments from Evolution and Consequentialism, in its _own_ terms, the Bible is self-contradictory and offensive, if you bother to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Curates Egg!, 16 Jan 2011
This review is from: Biblical Nonsense: A Review of the Bible for Doubting Christians (Paperback)
Comprehensive & well researched - covers a wide range of arguments against the inconsistencies in the Bible. However, its let down by an immature writing style. It looks as if the Publisher couldn't afford an editor to guide the author. Probably worth it for the amount of information but be ready to wade through some turgid text!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!!!!, 7 Oct 2010
This review is from: Biblical Nonsense: A Review of the Bible for Doubting Christians (Paperback)
I have read many books which expose the fallacy of religion from every angle (cult tactics; science; history; DNA; maths; etc). This book is extremely well written and he covers just the right topics in the right sequence/process to educate the reader from the basics as to HOW people get seduced by the lies of the clergy; how the clergy retain control over the minds of devotees (great explanation of cognitive dissonance) and great overview of logical fallacies as used by defenders of faith. Then he analyses the content of the Bible - the bizarre stories and doctrines. KABOOM ! he explodes the myths and exposes the patent folly and nonsense of the Bible.
I so wish i read this book as a teenager - i could have saved so many man-hours, money and headspace by knowing that the Bible is such illogical, implausible, impossible, anti-science, nonsensical trash which portrays a deity which is worse than the worst dictator and mass murderer.
GREAT BOOK - i strongly recommend this book to friends and especially to the slaves of religion who need help and liberation.
Friends don't let friends suffer from delusions/false beliefs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A scientific analysis of the bible., 14 July 2010
By 
Moonshine. "Spara Fugle" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Biblical Nonsense: A Review of the Bible for Doubting Christians (Paperback)
I liked the scientific way the author analyses the bible. His style is a bit rough but he does make a strong science-based case for the man-made rather than divinely inspired nature of the bible. Very thought provoking. For example, he lists dozens of common sense reasons why the story of Noah's ark could NEVER have happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars End of religion, right here, right now., 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as someone who has followed Christ for 33 years it takes one hell of a book to destroy my illusions. This is it. Don't get me wrong, I have had doubts for a long time, but this book demands answers from christianity, answers that are sadly missing. My religion is no more valuable than the worship of RA the sungod. My sacraments no more valid than the cruel demands of the mayan gods of sacrifice. Where do I go from here? Everything I have lived for 33 years is a lie. s***. Do Not read this book if you cant handle the destruction of your beliefs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This should be required reading in schools, 4 Aug 2011
By 
J. Harvey (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Biblical Nonsense: A Review of the Bible for Doubting Christians (Paperback)
Make no mistake this is the book to read to debunk all the myths and legends contained within the bible.

It is very well written with clear, concise information for the doubting Christian/atheist/freethinker.

It should be required reading in schools across the world and would help so many free themselves from the brain washing of religion.

Don't hesitate, buy it and several more copies for your reasoning and sensible friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended for doubters and believers alike., 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Biblical Nonsense: A Review of the Bible for Doubting Christians (Paperback)
This book takes apart the Bible and exposes the incredible levels of myth, magic, misogyny, and misrepresentation contained therein. You can't read this and not seriously re-think religion. Should be compulsory in schools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For the doubting christian, 21 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. S. Holmes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Biblical Nonsense: A Review of the Bible for Doubting Christians (Paperback)
In recent months I have completely lost my faith
I began researching loss of faith and found many helpful books and internet articles
It came as a surprise to discover that there are clergy some still serving who no longer believe
This book explains many conflicting statements in the bible and explains how we are conditioned to believing in a supernatural human being
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3190528)

This product

Biblical Nonsense: A Review of the Bible for Doubting Christians
Biblical Nonsense: A Review of the Bible for Doubting Christians by Jason Dr Long (Paperback - 19 Jan 2005)
8.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews