Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - Absolute Treasure - Take the time to read
I enjoyed reading this book very much so much so that it left me waiting like a loon by my front door for the postman for the next instalment which is called Wounded.

The book itself is about a young woman called Corey and her introduction into the world of the fey, which believe or not are right underneath her nose in her small Northern Calafornia town. The...
Published on 7 Jan 2007 by Soph

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not without fault...
I came across this author by chance and was enthralled by the reviews. As I am always excited to find a new author, but I must say I was not impressed. The grammar mistakes were easily overlooked, but the emotional development of each character was somewhat unrealistic. Our main heroine, Cory, sets off into the story with such promising hope that you can only be charmed...
Published on 13 Jan 2009 by A. Bynum


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - Absolute Treasure - Take the time to read, 7 Jan 2007
By 
Soph (London UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vulnerable (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading this book very much so much so that it left me waiting like a loon by my front door for the postman for the next instalment which is called Wounded.

The book itself is about a young woman called Corey and her introduction into the world of the fey, which believe or not are right underneath her nose in her small Northern Calafornia town. The book has numerous other world creatures such as shape shifters, elves, vampires and goblins to name but a few. Following such traditions as Sookie Stackhouse, Anita Blake and others, Cory has to face a variety of supernatural incidents including love and the ups and downs that comes with this.

I was expecting to dislike the fact that each chapter in the book represents the point of view of a particular character in that moment in time. However, if i had bet a million pounds on this i would be dirt poor (not that i have that sort of money). The style of the book added to its overall effect and was most enjoyable to read.

Each character in the book is different, has their own style, personality and voice. Yet how author Amy Lane has interweaved them leads to a strong cast that supports one another. You can detect influences from such authors as Laurel K Hamilton but these are subtle and very few and are just that, influences.

My only problem is the editing in the book which at times is just terrible (Typos). However as author Amy Lane does not have an editor i will say well done. Do not be put off by the fact that the book has editing errors in it because the story is, to simply put it, just wonderful.

The characters are deep and evolve (Especially in the next book Wounded which i have also read). The book is filled with humour, suspense, heartache, love and just all over greatness.

I strongly recommend that each reader take a trip with this new author. I for one, can not wait for the next installment of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Little Goddess" series book 1, 9 Aug 2008
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Vulnerable (Paperback)
"Vulnerable" is the first in the "Little Goddess" series by self published author AL. In this book nineteen year old Corrine Carol-Anne Kirkpatrick (aka Cory) battles against her circumstances; determined to graduate and leave behind her small town and white trash reputation. Working the night shift in a gas station, she soon discovers her late night regular visitors are not all human and learns to see behind the glamour these individuals wrap themselves in. Hiding behind her own heavy Goth make up, a variety of facial piercings and a hard, sarcastic manner, it takes a powerful vampire and an immortal Sidhe Lord's belief and love for Cory to realise her own potential and wield the magic inside her.

Vampire Adrian pretty much falls in love with Cory at first sight and yearns for her to accept both him and his lover Green, the Sidhe Lord who rules their supernatural society; an individual who cures physical and emotional hurts with sex. When Green too finds himself falling in love with Cory, both he and Adrian can only hope this young mortal can accept both of them in her life and survive the dangers she faces by associating with them.

There is plenty of sex in the book, both hetero and same sex; however it certainly isn't as explicit as I expected or have read from other publishing houses such as Ellora's Cave or Changeling Press. In fact the physical acts between Cory, Adrian and Green take on an almost magical air as their ménage is capable of producing some wondrous results. As this trio unite in power, aided by a whole host of fairy tale and supernatural creatures to battle an enemy targeting Adrian's loved ones in an attempt to kill him, the ending is truly heartbreaking. Yet despite the deeply poignant conclusion, I am left eager to read the rest of this series; book 2 "Wounded" and book 3 "Bound".

Lastly this book is not only written in the first person, the narrative switches in each chapter between the personal perspectives of the leading characters. I assumed this approach would become confusing; however is doesn't and certainly offers a deeper insight into the motivations and emotions of Adrian and Green as well as heroine Cory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The typos are awful--the story is not., 20 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: Vulnerable (Paperback)
"Vulnerable" is a solid first novel by newcomer Amy Lane. In the Alpha-*itch tradition of Anita Blake, Victory Nelson and Sookie Stackhouse, Corinne Carol-Anne Kirkpatrick (a.k.a. Cory) must face a variety of supernatural phenomenon in her job as night-clerk for a rural gas station. After she meets Adrian, her first lover--and her first vampire--she is sucked headlong into a world that is a mix of elves, vampires, and danger, and in which she is surprised to find herself a key player. Although the plotting could use some tightening, and Lane's supernatural world is not as fleshed out as, say, Laurell K. Hamilton's, Cory is very believable as a neophyte to the preternatural world with a prickly attitude and a generous dose of understanding towards the outsiders that now make up her chosen Universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like Twilight on acid!, 15 Sep 2009
By 
Elle L "of the Dark Woods" (Belly of the Beast (Athens)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vulnerable (Paperback)
This is a strange book. It takes a few pages to make sense and when it goes into it, the "point of view" changes every chapter, making one identify with each hero in a different and total way. Firstly, it is not for the closed minded as it has homoerotic threads weaved throughout. That is one major difference to Twilight, where sex is the no-go zone and pre-marital sex equals death.
In Vunerable, sex is a healing act, a loving act where the sex of the person/s taking part is abolutely irrelevant. Sex is power and sex is what holds this bizzare paranormal community built around "Green", one of the main characters, closely knit together. But the power of love, family, bonds of kindness and passion is the common denominator with both Twilight and Vunerable.
The world is laden with feelings, innuendos, fears, hopes, emotions and dark simmering passions, like Stephenie Meyer's universe- though it is much weirder, much less traditional, much more multidimentional, thus I said its like Twilight on acid. The feeling you get though is the same: Amy Lane manages to suck you in soul deep into this bizarre dark world of hers, where vampires, fey, were-creatures live together. I strongly recommend it. Yes, there are a few typos as other reviews mention, but the style of writing is so powerful and insightful, original and captivating, that you soon forget about the mistakes and just dive straight in this universe to emerge in the end wanting to read the next installment immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not without fault..., 13 Jan 2009
By 
A. Bynum (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vulnerable (Paperback)
I came across this author by chance and was enthralled by the reviews. As I am always excited to find a new author, but I must say I was not impressed. The grammar mistakes were easily overlooked, but the emotional development of each character was somewhat unrealistic. Our main heroine, Cory, sets off into the story with such promising hope that you can only be charmed by her wit and attitude. The love triangle(I will not give away anything ! XD) was beautifully explained at times. But the transition of Cory leaving her old life should have been much smoother, thus helping the reader understand her outlook. I must say the two love interests could have been a bit more distinct in personality, for they can easily be mistaken for the other. Overall the story is good, but was shadowed by lack of consistency with characters.
I would recommend this book to fans of Holly Black.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Different, 29 July 2011
By 
Potterywhizz (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vulnerable (Paperback)
I have to confess to not being slain in my tracks by this story. One minute Cory is working the late shift at a local petrol station, the next a burgeoning Mary Sue of unspecified power. Cory is a good enough character but the two male leads were pretty much interchangeable and I'm afraid I wasn't into the bi men and the menage aspects of this story. I would point out though that it is not erotica and is tastefully depicted, although Green curing by sex magic and sleeping with everyone was more than a little creepy by my yardstick. I like my fantasy rather more straightforward and I'm irritated when mysterious writing clouds the actual meaning of events and powers. So this was interesting but I don't think I'll be back for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unique, crazy, intoxicating, enjoyable read., 7 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vulnerable (Paperback)
I am fairly certain that I will never read anything like the Little Goddess series. I was wary but I was about to go on holiday and wanted some escapist reading. AL's series was a great choice - even if it was a bit pricier than the usual paranormal book.

It is very much as another reviewer said - it's like paranormal romance on acid. Lovers of vampires and fey who want something different that has that otherworldly feel to it need to read these books. The books have an unique feel to them and I loved reading them. I'm a fan of JR Ward, Nalini Singh, Larissa Ione, Lara Adrian.... but it is impossible to compare any of these to AL's Little Goddess series. If you want something different that not only creates a new world to escape into while you read, but also has a whole new feel to the genre, give this a try.

I believe AL self publishes so be prepared for some irritating typos and significant need for proofing but these dont take away from the story and the approach - not always crafted as a HEA that I find boring and insultingly prevalent too often in this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A uniquely beautiful story, 27 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vulnerable (Paperback)
Id never heard of Amy Lane before and had never read any of her books so didnt know what to expect, however I certainly didnt expect the glorious story that unfolded before me. Im a huge fan of fantasy fiction and have read many many books but found this to be truly unique and totally absorbing full of colourful exotic beings, and some truly sexy gorgeous characters that could give Edward Cullen a run for his money any day. Not the kind of "fairy" story you'd read to your children, most definitely an adult story book but cant wait to get the next books in the series. If I have anything bad to say about this book its all the typos, I did hope that I would start to ignore them after a while as there are so many but didnt, however they didnt annoy me enough to stop reading. I would definitely recommend this book and took it straight to my friend after reading it and she's loving it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, 22 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vulnerable (Paperback)
So this was a good book it has vampires it has the sidhe were-animals humans it has romance.So one of the main people in the story is cory she is a human there is adrian a vampire and green is a sidhe . Adrian and green have been with each other a long time they have been frends lovers and family to each other and have made a family of lots of other misfits they have each had other lovers but the one thing they would like is a woman who can love them both.Then adrian meets cory and because she dose not fall at his feet he knows he wants her but the more time he spends with her the more he falls in love .As time gose by she meets green and as they get to know each other they fall in love too and all three are together and make great magic thing start to fall apart as people they care for are hurt or killed and the love they are building is pushed in all ways.At the end you are left sad for there lose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book a 'must read', 21 Nov 2008
This review is from: Vulnerable (Paperback)
For fans of fey, vampires and were creatures - who like Laurelle Hamilton but who don't need the 'politics' this book is just what you need on a dark winters night. The lead charaters a slightly flawed, who isnt! but likeable and theres just enough erotic without it becoming over the top. I really enjoyed this book and have ordered the next two, hopefully they will be just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vulnerable
Vulnerable by Amy Lane (Paperback - 4 Feb 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews