Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!!!!!
This book is superb, it captures the insecurities that can accompany confusion and uncertainty about ones sexuality. This is done by the two main characters of the book; Scott who is happy and confident about being gay and then Ryan, who finds it hard and has struggled with accepting the person he really is.
When their two worlds collide, they find comfort in each...
Published on 18 Feb. 2006 by Ian Fox-williams

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horses for courses....
I'm conflicted in my attitude towards this book. Intellectually, it could never be considered a great piece, but on some level it's a novel to which I find myself willing to allow plenty of leeway. Clearly the writing is for the most part very basic, and seems to have been penned for a young audience...the Janet & John approach. In addition, the characters lack depth, and...
Published on 1 May 2006 by Son of Nietzsche


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!!!!!, 18 Feb. 2006
By 
Ian Fox-williams (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Desert Sons (Paperback)
This book is superb, it captures the insecurities that can accompany confusion and uncertainty about ones sexuality. This is done by the two main characters of the book; Scott who is happy and confident about being gay and then Ryan, who finds it hard and has struggled with accepting the person he really is.
When their two worlds collide, they find comfort in each others arms and begin a relationship that involves heartache, jealousy, insecurity, fear and self loathing. However one thing that the two share help them to overcome all which tries to block their way - their love for one another.
I have not yet read the sequel but plan to do so soon, the journey in this book of Scott and Ryan is one that all can relate to no matter what sexuality. The characters may be young but they are learning from the lessons they have learnt so far...a truly special love story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wishing I had a life like this...., 26 Jun. 2006
By 
Nat NI "Nathan" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Desert Sons (Paperback)
Be thankful there are people like Mark Kendrick who put themselves out on a limb to make other peoples lives easier. For all the young people out there who are unsure of their sexuality, this book could make all the difference between life and death, by showing that they are not alone and that love is possible. I just wish I had access to books like this one when I was younger. Maybe I would have been able to accept who I am much earlier and not wasted so much of my life. It brought back many painful memories of my own childhood, but also made me realise how lucky I am today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Gay book ever, 26 Feb. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Desert Sons (Paperback)
I am now reading this book for the 5th time in 6 months. I can't get enough of it as well as it's sequel "Into this World we're thrown", though the first is better.

It is based on the life of a 16 year old boy named Scott who lives in a desert town called Yucca Valley. The book follows his life as he meets Ryan, a 17 year old who just moved from up north. The boys meet and are instantly attracted to each other but neither one has the courage to come out to the other. Ryan is struggling with his not so wholesome past and struggling to accept who he is. The book is an emotional roller coaster associated with late teen life and dealing with things that most teenagers never have to go through.

The two boys eventually get over their fear and start a relationship which progresses on a quite rocky road, that eventually...
Well i won't give that away, so you'll have to buy it.

Fair enough the book does have a few pretty bad spelling and grammatical errors, but if you can overcome the authors poor choice of editor/publisher, i'm sure you'll enjoy this book.

This book is definatley a read it twice book to pick up what you missed first time around as well, as there are often subtle hints and ideas that you don't pick up.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tender, erotic and heartwarming love story, 20 Sept. 2007
By 
This review is from: Desert Sons (Paperback)
Scott and Ryan are high school guys in Califronia. Both are gay but Scott admits it to himself, and to one or two others, and is happy in his sexuality. Ryan has had more experience but so traumatic that he cannot come to terms with the fact that he is gay. The story is about how the two meet,are immediately struck by a mutual physical attraction and soon start a passionate affair. But the book is also about friendship, family, acceptance and the sheer wonder of love between two very attractive human beings. No one with any human feeling could be homophobic after reading this book. And the rest of us can enjoy its open and joyous portrayal of passion, beauty and love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Started poor, but finished strong!, 29 Feb. 2008
By 
R. L. Judd (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desert Sons (Paperback)
I debated buying this book for several weeeks before I actually brought it, simply because I didn't like the cover! It said far too much as to the possible story and text inside - not a book for public transport!

However, despite a dodgy start (when I almost abandoned the book) it went from strength to strength. I got involved with the characters, both of whom are likable, and really championed them through the different events that mark their summer.

Although the book is supposed to be set over a period of months, during summer break, the way the story plays out it seems to only be weeks as the guys - Ryan & Scott - cope with many very adult situations.

Their independence is fun and exciting and the romance & love that eventually develop heartful and beautiful to read. There is also humour and some thundering sexual moments.

The writing isn't the best, so you must see through the grammar and punctuation errors and I found the early chapters confused and hardwork to read but stick with it. From mid-way through the text picks up and I personally found I couldn't put it (even on public transport - I didn't care anymore, i had to keep reading!).

If you enjoy gay romance, then this is for you - you won't be disappointed. I wasn't!

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horses for courses...., 1 May 2006
This review is from: Desert Sons (Paperback)
I'm conflicted in my attitude towards this book. Intellectually, it could never be considered a great piece, but on some level it's a novel to which I find myself willing to allow plenty of leeway. Clearly the writing is for the most part very basic, and seems to have been penned for a young audience...the Janet & John approach. In addition, the characters lack depth, and their actions and reactions are implausible. Further, there is little in this work that is particularly original.

And yet...it is a such a sweet story that the romantic in me is partly willing to overlook such things. As literature, it's decidedly lacking. But as entertainment, it seems to work. Perhaps this is aided by the plethora of sex scenes...Desert Sons could almost be categorised as erotica, rather than mainstream fiction, since the scenes in question are reasonably graphic and frequent. I could, perhaps, construct some form of intellectual justification along the lines that the frequency and explicitness of these scenes is representative of the urgency and novelty of inexperienced teenagers, who are experimenting with the physical pleasures recently opened up to them. But let's not kid ourselves...it's titillation, pure and simple. But then, that genre does have it's own value.

Previous reviewers have said that the book is 'just awful' and that it is 'the best gay book ever'. As Elizabeth Bennet would say, it deserves neither such censure nor such praise. It depends entirely on what kind of read you desire. If you're searching for a serious and emotive work of fiction about gay youth, try Kief Hillsbery, Joe Babcock, Blair Mastbaum, or William Taylor. If you're seeking a little 'comfort reading' with young teen romance and plenty of sex, then you couldn't do much better than Desert Sons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Teenage angst, 29 May 2011
By 
David Ford (Kent in the UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Desert Sons (Kindle Edition)
Desert Sons The book cover is misleading it tends to imply a sordid liaison and I would not wish to read it on public transport, but even though this book can titilate it is by not by any means pornographic.

It is a heartwarming story of two teenage boys coming to terms with their sexuality and the problems they encounter.

It tends to be a little simplistic, I never had this much luck as a teenager, it tends to make you rather wistful. Any young confused readers should not be led to believe that many encounters end up being so happily resolved.

Some of the language tends to be flowery and unrealistic, with lots of references to "Cutie" I think that the current equivalent would be "Fit", but perhaps the american teens are more romantic than I give them cradit for.

Despite this the book overall is uplifting and with all the twists and turns you end up in suspense wanting everything to turn out well. It could well give some youngsters suffering from teenage angst and coming out problems, hope for their futures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read with a few reservations., 20 Feb. 2015
By 
This review is from: Desert Sons (Paperback)
Somewhere in this rather over sexed, badly edited book is a great novel trying to get out. This is an above average gay "coming of age" story that is generally well written. The biggest turn off is the sex scenes that ultimately become quite repetitive and made me think there is probably only one way to skin a cat. The author must also hold the world record for the most uses of the words "cute" and "tumescence" in one book.

I did, however, enjoy it enough to order the sequel. The characters, even the minor ones, are well defined and you do begin to care about the protagonists although you are never in any doubt that the ending will be a happy one. The author does on occasion produces a nice turn of phrase such as "It seemed he was on a wild roller coaster ride but at least he was securely strapped in."

What cannot be forgiven is the editing. The book is littered with typos and grammatical errors which makes a few lines unintelligible. I know we should all be grateful for small publishers bringing out niche genre novels such as this but the amount of mistakes in this particular text pushed the limit of acceptable errors.

Overall an enjoyable, light read with a few reservations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly brillaint, a story that wont let you be!!!!, 16 Oct. 2008
By 
T. Gullick "welsh_bibliophile" (Wales, Llanelli) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Desert Sons (Paperback)
Well, I have just finished readin this book ,it took me 3 days in total, i could not put it down, as a matter of fact it made me late for college last friday, and only yesterday i managed to finnnish the second in the the two books.

i found this book, to be insiaring, amazing and a total worth of money.
I promise you, you wont be able to put it down.. and if you can, well theres something wrong with you

BUY it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been a great book, but..., 15 Sept. 2003
By 
H. Kroeger "galadflower" (Tromsø Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Desert Sons (Paperback)
Desert Sons is the story about the two boys Ryan and Scott, both in their late teens, who meet when Ryan moves to live with his uncle in Yucca Valley, Scott's home town. They are both instantly attracted to each other, but neither dare to make a move. Ryan is very closeted and in constant denial of his homosexuality, while Scott is more down to earth with everything. After over a hundred pages of hint-dropping from both sides, the boys *finally* (?) end up in bed and they begin a strange relationship. They fight, because Ryan is so closeted and Scott wants to come out, and between the fights they spend their time in … bed. Or on the kitchen floor. Or in any other place that might seem fitting. There are a lot of "I love you"s between these intrigues, plus a little sweetness and Ryan's suspicious and unknown past. The rest is basically...ehm... well, kitchen floors, tents, beds, showers. You get the picture.

The problem with Desert Sons is not the story. The idea is great and could be developed into a very moving tale, if the author, among other things, had a better language. It is clumsy, and the dialogue is often imbarrasly coarse. The story is also full of clichés, like when Ryan, sitting in the top of a tree with Scott (...) tearfully exclaims: "Mom....dad...I love you!" I actually involuntary twisted myself in my chair when I read that.
The second problem the book struggles with is all the sex. It completely overshadows all the emotions of the two boys, and is so very detailed that all the spark goes out of it before you're halfway through the book. And when you're halfway through the book, you have only seen a tiny bit of what's to come. Just so you know.
Desert Sons shows a lot of potential, but with all it's flaws simply is not good enough. Don't waste your money on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Desert Sons
Desert Sons by Mark Kendrick (Paperback - 1 July 2001)
£14.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews