Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight into WW1, 21 Sept. 2014
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Railways of the Great War with Michael Portillo (Hardcover)
It wasn't the first railway war - that was probably the American civil war - but it was certainly the biggest, because railways were an important element of WW2, air and road transport made substantial contributions too.

This is the first book I've read about WW1 as such, but I have heard, seen or read bits and pieces from plenty of other sources. At least one of my grandfathers fought in the war and survived, albeit with shrapnel wounds that didn't seem to affect him much in the prime of life but badly affected him in old age and ultimately shortened his life. He died at 76.

One book that I read was about Quintinshill, the worst railway disaster in British history.. The author appears to have read that book and an earlier book on the subject, and neatly contrasts the findings. Although I didn't read the earlier book, I've seen it summarised in a few other places.

The author suggests that the petrol locomotives used in the first world war may have been the first nail in the coffin for steam locomotives. It was a nail in the coffin, but not the first. I know that the Waterloo and City line opened in 1898 and was all-electric from the start. I think there were electric trains somewhere else even before that.

The author devotes significant space to the ways in which women contributed to the war effort, as well as discussing all sorts of other issues raised during and by the war, but never strays too far from the basic theme of the book - the railways.

An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read and reference book., 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railways of the Great War with Michael Portillo (Hardcover)
Excellent, authoritative and interesting read to support the TV documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars railway history in war brought to life., 7 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railways of the Great War with Michael Portillo (Hardcover)
Excellent review of UK railways at war 1914/18 not previously considered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railways of the Great War with Michael Portillo (Hardcover)
still reading it great companion to the dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read., 13 Nov. 2014
By 
Phillip J. Watson (Yorkshire GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railways of the Great War with Michael Portillo (Hardcover)
Good well written book, well illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railways of the Great War with Michael Portillo (Hardcover)
Excellent book and very informative. Bought as a present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lots of information and was delivered promptly and perfect condition., 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railways of the Great War with Michael Portillo (Hardcover)
I bought this as a present for my husband and he is really enjoying it, lots of information and was delivered promptly and perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railways of the Great War with Michael Portillo (Hardcover)
Good book arrived on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railways of the Great War with Michael Portillo (Hardcover)
Very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Jan. 2015
By 
I. Trafford (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railways of the Great War with Michael Portillo (Hardcover)
I bought this for my father- he utterly loves it and he is a very fussy train enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Railways of the Great War with Michael Portillo
Railways of the Great War with Michael Portillo by Colette Hooper (Hardcover - 24 July 2014)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews