Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's All About The Bike
There is more to Sean Yates than the last three years of his career with Team Sky. This book follows his life from unconventional upbringing in Sussex, as elite time triallist and champion, professional road cyclist and successful directeur sportif. Guilty by association in his eyes, he lost his job through being hired simultaneously by the team that nurtured Lance...
Published 14 months ago by G. Daniels

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tip toe through the land mines
Not much about Armstrong, even though he helped shape the Americans early career, he seems almost embarrassed by Armstrong, hardly mentions his dealings with the management in later teams, barely mentions Riis and Bruyneel thought he could have expanded on the daily dealings with sky during the tour. It was not what he wrote but what he left out, he tried not to get...
Published 14 months ago by mr s everington


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's All About The Bike, 13 Oct 2013
By 
G. Daniels "velovet" (Staffs, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sean Yates: It's All About the Bike: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
There is more to Sean Yates than the last three years of his career with Team Sky. This book follows his life from unconventional upbringing in Sussex, as elite time triallist and champion, professional road cyclist and successful directeur sportif. Guilty by association in his eyes, he lost his job through being hired simultaneously by the team that nurtured Lance Armstrong. This in response to Sky's policy, applied retrospectively, of not retaining any staff that had been tainted by association with performance enhancing drugs. Yates felt let down and particularly so when Sky, complacently, took several days to release an agreed press statement on the background to his departure.

The challenge of conflating a lengthy sporting life in to 300 pages seems to have been cathartic. He doesn't spare himself from exposing the personal conflicts in his life. For example, he addresses his own health issues candidly together with a strained and ultimately doomed marriage yet retains a touching dependence on his former wife.

Anecdotes abound that turn around the topsy-turvy years with Peugeot before gaining stability and status in the peloton. A manic trainer, tireless racer and general obsessive, vignettes of his career and the personalities and events that flecked his journey flow with wit and self-deprecation.

He remains fond of, and loyal to, Lance Armstrong, a friendship that endures. However, a selective view of his doping and other activities is difficult to accommodate and this contact led to his premature retirement from Team Sky.

Sean Yates emerges as a complicated character, driven, sometimes indiscreet and often insensitive to those nearest him. Nonetheless, professional cycling is the poorer without his presence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yellow jersey!, 18 July 2014
An interesting and surprisingly well written run through the career of one of my teenage heroes - I used to love watching him at the TdF on the box when I was younger, so good to read about his exploits.
He rightly increases the focus back 'on the bike', with detailed recollections of training, racing & rivalries but you feel there's a fair bit unwritten on the drug issue. For someone who's been at the top end of the sport for a long time during the 'drug years' - as both a pro rider and team staffer, you feel he could have added some useful insights, if only to put in context some of what has been written, although he rightly says he has a no intention of naming names & places.
I fell out of love with the sport after the 1998 Festina drugs affair at the TdF, which was a seismic event at the time - a long held suspicion was suddenly and very publicly laid bare, and spoken of (at the time) as being a 'turning point' for drugs in cycling - how wrong that was. Some words on this and subsequent events is surely hard to ignore for someone who had a grandstand view of the action.

It's interesting to consider why some of the personalities who have loomed large on the bike scene during his career are not mentioned among the contributors, or provided recollections.

I'd agree with his summary of the drug issue, that it's impossible to unpick its complexity in retrospect, and that to scapegoat a select few is unfair - more discussion of what has been discovered of the sports sordid history, and his thoughts on it would have been welcome. His approach of glossing over the (known) drug related back story of some of the sports memorable moments is a bit odd too.

Nonetheless, drug issues aside, there was a lot of stuff about the bike, and it quite often had me laughing out loud - very readable - recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tip toe through the land mines, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sean Yates: It's All About the Bike: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
Not much about Armstrong, even though he helped shape the Americans early career, he seems almost embarrassed by Armstrong, hardly mentions his dealings with the management in later teams, barely mentions Riis and Bruyneel thought he could have expanded on the daily dealings with sky during the tour. It was not what he wrote but what he left out, he tried not to get political but he is a victim of the Armstrong era as well, I would have liked to see him fight his corner over his reputation a little more instead of leaving it to others to defend him. A good insight into the life of an ex pro but he could have given so much more in terms of the era he was apart of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sean Yates: It's All About the Bike: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
great read arrived yesterday and couldn't put it down great value for money as well would recommend it too anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 24 Oct 2014
By 
catherine (Hartlepool, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book. I hadn't previously known much about Sean Yates as a cyclist, only as a DS at Team Sky, so it was really interesting to find out about the earlier part of his career. The book is written in a very natural and readable way, as if you were just having a conversation with him, but what I really liked were the sections where his ex-wife and his friends, colleagues and acquaintances were given free rein to give their own opinions of Yates. It's a very unusual format, but it really worked, showing you the man through different pairs of eyes and from different perspectives. The book has virtually nothing to say about the doping culture which seems to have been widespread throughout Yates' time in the peloton, and he is obviously still very fond of Lance Armstrong and feels he has been unfairly scapegoated. If you don't expect a kiss-and-tell about who was taking what PED and when they took it, you will find this a very entertaining and easy to read book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Domestique story., 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet another story of the life of a super domestique in the professional peloton. Pity there wasn't a bit more insight into the doping scene but he was obviously protecting old mates
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Found it hard to get into then it did pick up but not as much as I would have liked. I was going he was going to open up more about his relationship with Team Sky and that decision to walk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read about one of cycling so great hard men, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have followed cycling all my life and it was great to read about the guy who was always in the pages of cycling weekly when I was young. I remember him climbing Holme moss in Yorkshire and flashing by at full gas, and being so impressed.
Great read for those of us who respect hard honest work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book for real cycling fans, 22 Oct 2013
By 
Kgbowen (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sean Yates: It's All About the Bike: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
Enjoyed this trip through Yate's cycling history. The book brings out the way Yates' personality is reflected in the way he performs on the bike - tough, dogged and driven - a competition against himself as much as it was against fellow cyclists. There is nothing particularly revealing or dramatic about the book, yet it doesn't suffer for this. You are left feeling a twinge of sadness at the way his career ended, yet pleased that cycling has given him a life full of interest and achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An illustrious pro cycling career, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really good autobiography. He doesn't just pick out the successful and nice bits about himself. While the "tone of voice" of the book is easy going and he seems laid back, I think Sean is actually a big, powerful, assertive personality - the childhood friend who he later finds out was made quite miserable, the straight to the point section his ex wife wrote*, his race director role at Sky etc.

I didn't know much (anything) about Sean prior to this book. In a nutshell he's had a proper pro cycling career (he wore yellow) and then a proper pro cycling management career until he got binned in and among the Sky zero tolerance purges despite no proof or admission. It is a shame to throw away all that experience. He doesn't really go into much detail about this nor how he feels about it but he's clearly left in a "erm. what now ?" state.

The beauty of this book is its timespan which takes us - without any self aggrandisement - on a journey from the local UK time trial scene in the 70's to pro racing in the 80's and 90's and then managing pro teams from the late 90's right up to the 2012 TDF with Sky. (Yes Froome did ski off piste up that mountain, yes Brad is a bit temperamental, no Cavendish was not always happy).

However, thankfully, it's not a gossipy book, the drugs issue is not addressed (good, enough already) nor is much time spent on ex team mate Armstrong so there is no feeling of someone having cashed in by eeking out an otherwise paltry history by piggy backing of the newsworthyness of others. Which he could have done given he's been at the heart of cycling for 30 years, riding for or managing teams like Motorola, CSC, Astana, Discovery, 7-Eleven and Sky. But Sean Yates simply doesn't need to : he's premier league himself and has more than enough of his own exploits and stories. Although I am not left thinking oh what a lovely man, I am glad to know more about him.

*genius! All bios should do this because (providing they are not malicious) no-one else sees us so clearly. Brave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sean Yates: It's All About the Bike: My Autobiography
Sean Yates: It's All About the Bike: My Autobiography by Sean Yates (Hardcover - 12 Sep 2013)
Used & New from: £7.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews