Customer Reviews


610 Reviews
5 star:
 (524)
4 star:
 (71)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and sad: The grey areas of a hero and villain
Anyone who does drugs or dopes in sport are cheats, right? They're scum: defrauding fans, cutting short their rivals' careers by giving themselves an unfair advantage. They win medals, accolades and sponsors' money that they don't deserve.

But is it as black and white as that, or is it all one big grey area?

Tyler Hamilton's autobiography is all...
Published on 20 Oct. 2012 by KW

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Read
Couldn't put the book down, I thoroughly enjoyed the narrative, but the insight into the murky world of procycling was enlightening.
Published 19 months ago by John Twist


‹ Previous | 142 43 4461 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but shocking, 25 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Race: Inside the Hidden World of the Tour de France: Doping, Cover-ups, and Winning at All Costs (Hardcover)
Candid, shocking. I finished this overnight, just could not put it down. Tyler has bravely put into print what we suspected for a long time. Confirmed the suspicions of David Walsh, Paul Kimmage and others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cycling thriller!, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having no interest at all in cycling or the Tour de France I was surprised to find this absolutely unput-downable!!!! Clear and well written, it reads like a thriller. Can't recommend it highly enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not much to say other than to endorse what other ..., 17 Dec. 2014
By 
R. E. Lee "RELinSpain" (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not much to say other than to endorse what other five-star reviewers have written. I absolutely screamed through this book in two sittings, it was so rivetting and eye-poppingly revelatory. Fabulous read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 3 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Race: Inside the Hidden World of the Tour de France: Doping, Cover-ups, and Winning at All Costs (Hardcover)
Read this just before the armstrong come out, was spot on, interesting and a good insight into the crazy things they get!
/ got up to in order to save energy and gain a few seconds here and there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and Informative, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a great sports book reader but this just hits a note with me.
I have not put it down and it really gives you a whole new perspective of cycling and professional sport.
Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!!!!, 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Race: Inside the Hidden World of the Tour de France: Doping, Cover-ups, and Winning at All Costs (Hardcover)
Great book, one of the best Ive read!! Hamilton comes across as a likeable honest guy, Lance Armstrong comes out of it pretty badly, although how he's been singled out is not fair and Hamilton agrees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cycling, 7 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to read with great flow.Opens the door on the drug taking , but includes the human side from the riders perspective.Makes you realise why they do it - cos everybody else appears to be doing it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inside Cycle Racing., 30 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Race: Inside the Hidden World of the Tour de France: Doping, Cover-ups, and Winning at All Costs (Hardcover)
The books chosen by our family represent our fanatical interest in our wonderful sport.
The Best and hardest in the world. No comparison to such soft sports as Soccer, Athletics and the like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Secret Race, 8 Jan. 2013
By 
P. Butterworth (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Race: Inside the Hidden World of the Tour de France: Doping, Cover-ups, and Winning at All Costs (Hardcover)
Bought this book for my husband for Christmas and he can't put it down ! He's always been an avid follower of the Tour de France and is fascinated by all the intrigue involving Lance Armstrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, gutsy, enthralling read and a candid view into the secret world of bicycle racing, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The truth. The whole truth. And nothing but the truth... In amazingly graphic, microscopic detail. I could not put this book down for a week!!! It has restored my faith in the Tarmac religion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 142 43 4461 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews