Customer Reviews


549 Reviews
5 star:
 (472)
4 star:
 (62)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and sad: The grey areas of a hero and villain
Anyone who does drugs or dopes in sport are cheats, right? They're scum: defrauding fans, cutting short their rivals' careers by giving themselves an unfair advantage. They win medals, accolades and sponsors' money that they don't deserve.

But is it as black and white as that, or is it all one big grey area?

Tyler Hamilton's autobiography is all...
Published 22 months ago by KW

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Read
Couldn't put the book down, I thoroughly enjoyed the narrative, but the insight into the murky world of procycling was enlightening.
Published 12 months ago by John Twist


‹ Previous | 1 255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and sad: The grey areas of a hero and villain, 20 Oct 2012
By 
KW (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Anyone who does drugs or dopes in sport are cheats, right? They're scum: defrauding fans, cutting short their rivals' careers by giving themselves an unfair advantage. They win medals, accolades and sponsors' money that they don't deserve.

But is it as black and white as that, or is it all one big grey area?

Tyler Hamilton's autobiography is all about that area. What if you worked as hard as you possibly could, got yourself onto the start lines for the pinnacle of your sport, you tried and tried ... and then found you couldn't compete. It's not because you don't have the talent, or because you haven't put the hours in - it's because those around you are using little red pills, or white bags, they have barely distinguishable needle marks in their arms - and they go that little bit quicker than you time and time again.

The authorities don't want to do anything about it, it's almost impossible to prove, and so you have a choice: Join them and compete on a fair-ish playing field, or give everything up and go home to find something else to do.

What do you do?

Is Tyler Hamilton a cheat? yes he is - he'll tell you that. This autobiography is not self-serving, it's not a man trying to justify what he did, or claw back some sort of reputation, this is an astonishing tale of widespread doping at the highest level of sport. It's scary because things such as blood transfusions, taking pills and sticking needles in yourself seems so normal.

Some say this book is about Lance Armstrong and to a degree it is - but it's really about human beings and what we do to ourselves when the pressure is on.

As with all sporting books, or perhaps books in general, what makes this terrific is that it's about people: flawed people and tough choices.

You don't have to be interested in cycling to read this, perhaps not even sport. You simply need any sort of interest in why human beings do the things they do. I've not read a book that's stuck with me like this has in absolutely ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


172 of 178 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heroes and Villains, 19 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Race: Inside the Hidden World of the Tour de France: Doping, Cover-ups, and Winning at All Costs (Hardcover)
Before reading this book I would have answered the following questions about Lance Armstrong as follows:

Q1. Did he dope?
A1. Most probably yes.

Q2. Did the whole peloton dope, and therefore wasn't Armstrong just maintaining a level playing field?
A2. Just about - yes.

Q3. Have his denials since winning his last Tour been in this spirit?
A3. Yes.

Q4: Hero or villain.
A4: Hero.

After reading the book, and believing the confessions about Tyler Hamilton as well as his accounts of other riders, my answers have changed to:

A1. Oh yes. Big time.

A2. Most of the peloton in the 90s were doping, but Armstrong was doping most. He applied his one-step ahead philosophy not only to his training but also to his doping as well. The best doctors, the best drugs, the best methods, the best connections with the authorities. Three blood infusions over the course of a three week Tour was not close to a level playing field. Did this abuse distort the results of the races - most probably yes.

A3. His denials have been absolute, condescending and at times threatening to others, and have cost him a large amount of money to construct. They are discrediting to him and others, untrue, and calculated to defend a personal reputation and fortune.

A4: Villain.

Let us hope that the book contributes to his deserved and overdue outing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 29 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Secret Race: Inside the Hidden World of the Tour de France: Doping, Cover-ups, and Winning at All Costs (Hardcover)
I actually bought this as it was coauthored by Dan Coyle. I'd read a book he'd written a number of years ago on Armstrong and was impressed then by the quality of his research and writing and overall balanced view. I did not realise I was buying one of the most important and honest books on doping in the peloton, that I have read in over 20 years.

This book sets down a marker and will become a matter for the historical record. I expect a lot more information to become public as cases are pursued in the autumn. One of the key questions will be about the role of the UCI - did it do its best or was it negligent, incompetent or corrupt? The book clearly suggests corruption at the highest level. For too long the focus has been on individual riders rather than a root and branch examination of the entire system.

A great book, quick to read and gripping. One always reads exposes like this sceptically, as the author will have his own agenda, nevertheless, this has the ring of authenticity and is backed by Coyle's investigative journalism and recent events such as USADA's investigation. It's a shame we've had to wait so long, and a greater shame that so many still appear in denial in the sport. It was clearly cathartic for Hamilton to write this and allowed him to move on and took a lot of courage to do so.

Buy it and make up your own mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, credible and a must have, 10 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Race: Inside the Hidden World of the Tour de France: Doping, Cover-ups, and Winning at All Costs (Hardcover)
The Secret Race is well written, easy to read and a very fascinating story about the life of Tyler Hamilton as well as the cloak-and-dagger environment of professional cycling.
The book is well balanced between the different time periods of Hamiltons career, including an adequate into his childhood and early amateur days in the US. The bulk of the book is concentrated around his US Postal years and his relationship with Lance Armstrong. The LA part of the book tends to take up a little too much space at times and one certainly gets the impression that this relationship is indeed complicated. The final chapters of the books describing the FDA/USADA investigations appear less well written probably representing the emotional turmoil of these recent events but that doesn't spoil the overall impression of the book.

Contrary to most other 'confessions of a doper books' Hamilton actually spills the beans about almost everyone, but he does it in a quite non-condemning way, and people with an interest in cycling will find lots of interesting tid-bits.

Is it credible? I have a long running interest in doping in cycling, I'm an MD and a former amateur elite rider and well connected with both doctors and riders in cycling and I'll rate the contents as quite credible.

The book is as well written as 'Rough ride' and as detailed as 'Massacre a la chaine' and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truth now coming out about Lance Armstrong...., 18 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Race: Inside the Hidden World of the Tour de France: Doping, Cover-ups, and Winning at All Costs (Hardcover)
Most thought he is a superb human machine...but I always had my reservations about Lance Armstrong....one man winning a grueling race like the Tour De France 7 times ... this book explains how he did it -through doping, using his connections, and controlling those around him. The book focuses a lot on the writer's relationship with Lance almost to be the point of obsessing about him but I guess it was unavoidable considering they spent lots of time together on the same team,lived next to each other, and Lance 's ambition to be the only star and winner at all costs,thereby blocking others in a way, ... Now that Lance has been stripped of his titles in the USA and banned from competing in triathlon races,and marathons in the USA, it shows that this book has truth in it.

This book sheds a lot of light on the sport and what it takes to be an road racer,
- determination , motivation , love of the sport and the obstacles involved. I hope we can now start watching clean Tour De France races. I enjoyed this book, its interesting and easy to read , I read it in 2 days. I gave this book 4 stars because I felt the story is not yet complete ,.. there is more to come on the Lance Armstrong saga
I found this book very interesting and highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last piece in the jigsaw!, 28 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Secret Race: Inside the Hidden World of the Tour de France: Doping, Cover-ups, and Winning at All Costs (Hardcover)
I have read so many books about cycling and about Lance Armstrong, so I was pretty up-to-date when I read this book. For me, it filled up some holes in my jigsaw with new pieces, or old ones that could fit somewhere else. The result is an image of cycling that looked like a heroic triumph of the mind and body over adversity, and changed with the flick of a mirror to become a battlefield of power and influence, of propaganda, of henchmen, of ambushes, of cold war, of a sort of nuclear arms race, and above all, blood, blood, blood everywhere.....

That said, Tyler Hamilton comes across as a like-able guy who does not spare himself. He is excited about honestly telling his story for the first time, and he tells it lightly and without self-pity. It is an easy read for us, but for some others, the vested interests in the Lance Armstrong myth and those who took strength in his fight against cancer,it will be hard to digest. Lance Armstrong is no saint, and this book is a powerful and damning witness to his worldliness. Because Tyler Hamilton tries to point the finger at himself first, it makes his testimony against Lance all the more compelling. Read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winning Was All That Mattered., 12 Sep 2012
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Secret Race: Inside the Hidden World of the Tour de France: Doping, Cover-ups, and Winning at All Costs (Hardcover)
This is a publication of the means to which Lance Armstrong and his team of fellow riders (of the inner circle) with the aid of the best managers, aids and medical personnel would go to be the best in the world. Tyler Hamilton's descriptions of these methods are vividly portrayed in the book. He tells this as a factual story backed by his and colleagues' observations and self-confessed dopers, reinforced by retrospective analysis of Armstrong's blood and urine samples for erythropoietin,(EPO), synthesised in the 1980's and readily available in the 1990's, sensitive tests for synthetic EPO not having been developed by French scientists until 2000. Long thought to be used by many sports people in different fields, there have been rumours for years that its use along with infusion of pre-donated blood was rife amongst those with the money, connections and knowhow, added to the disguises and subterfuge of coming clean in drug testing.

Hamilton writes with his co-author as if giving evidence under testimony. No lurid acrimonious tales, just stating the facts as known. Lance Armstrong overcame testicular cancer and set up a cancer-raising charity. Under the circumstances his return to cycling was admirable and in retrospect, inevitable. No doubt brave, highly motivated, competitive and ruthless in his pursuit of glory. He may have been the best Tour de France cyclist ever but we will never know for certain. He has never admitted to the allegations and evidence against him. Hamilton seems to bear no grievances to his colleague seemingly hoping Armstrong can also unburden himself if he desires. It is a sad indictment of a marvellous sport that hopefully is recovering from being tainted. Recent track and road results would indicate so. The same can be said for other sports.

Hamilton gives his reasons for his book. His motives may be many but this is a book that anyone interested in cycling, sport, drug usage should find fascinating. I certainly did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and depressing, 11 Jan 2014
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Tyler Hamilton was a professional cyclist who was a key member of the US Postal Team in which Lance Armstrong won his first three Tour de France titles. This book is essentially his autobiography - something that I had never realised, thinking it was a more generic book about cycling and doping. He is a likeable individual and with the assistance of Daniel Coyle has written a highly readable book about his career and what it was like to be a member of the US Postal Team. This book opened my eyes to a lot of things that I hadn't been aware of before. Yes I knew that there was doping, but not how much, how widespread and how professional it was.

This is a book that I have intended to read for some time. Since Lance Armstrong's interview with Oprah Winfrey last year, it lacks the shock factor that presumably it had when first published. Nevertheless it is a fascinating story that really sheds light on the extent of doping within professional cycling. Before reading this I was of the belief that only a small number of cyclists were cheating, but after reading this I think the opposite must be the case. But having said that, it is less easy to dismiss them as evil cheaters than I would have before. As Hamilton points out, if everyone is doing it, if that's your only avenue to a career, what decision do you make? To be honest, I found it depressing. And I'm sure as Hell not buying any "spanish beef" stories.

I have read several books about Lance Armstrong so it was hardly a surprise to read about his controlling and dictorial personality, but I was still pretty shocked by how unpleasantly he comes across and how the entire team, medical and coaching staff revolved solely around him and his needs. This is despite the fact that Hamilton makes a real effort not to paint a one-sided picture of Armstrong.

I read the 2012 edition, but if ever there was a book crying out for an updated postscript it's this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 'Goodfellas' of the cycling world, 20 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Race: Inside the Hidden World of the Tour de France: Doping, Cover-ups, and Winning at All Costs (Hardcover)
Many of the revelations in the book you may have already heard elsewhere, but what this does is to put it into context and identifies the players and how they got involved. It joins a lot of the dots.

Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking!, 12 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Race: Inside the Hidden World of the Tour de France: Doping, Cover-ups, and Winning at All Costs (Hardcover)
Having just read the Riis book this proved to be very interesting indeed! Riis of course was Hamilton's manager for a couple of seasons after Tyler's was pushed at USPS. I think it is fair to say this book throws a clear (dark) light on the results of the grand tours and other major races in the late 1990's - 2000's . A thought provoking read , I could not put this one down until I reached the last full stop. There is no lack of detail here as there are many vivid descriptions of the methods used and numerous top stars,doctors and others named. As a previous reviewer says, the words are delivered in an almost casual way. I have now read over 100 cycling books and this is right up there as one of the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews