Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars216
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£20.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 November 2010
I had no idea what to expect from this book when I first ordered. I knew that it would give me info on the films but what I got when I opened my book this afternoon was beyond anything that I could have ever imagined. As a huge Harry Potter fan who has amassed other Harry Potter collectibles, this book probably tops the lot. Not only does it provide in-depth look at the first 6 films and a more than 'sneak peek' at the final instalments, it also gives readers the chance to own replica copies of props that are used in the film from the marauders map to the quidditch world cup program. Warner Brothers have out done themselves and proved without doubt that they were the right company to have the rights to the Harry Potter films.

For any Harry Potter fan who's childhood has been shaped by the Harry Potter books and films this book is a must buy. For me it already seems as important on my bookshelf as the Harry Potter books themselves.
0Comment|77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
After much anticipation it arrived this morning and I can honestly say that it was worth the wait! I am a self-confessed Potter nerd, a mahoosive fan of both the books and films and for me this is such a wonderful insight into the backstage world of the Warner bro's films. The layout is beautiful and almost scrap-book like in its collaboration of photos, film visuals and text and the bright and bold colour makes it enviting. It is chocca block full of facts and information coming from all areas of the films production alongside stories and anecdotes from many of the cast and crew too.
For me personally the best bits of the book cover the visual elements of the films, from costume sketches, story boards, scenes created by the concept artists and maps showing the intricate layouts of Hogwarts and Diagon Alley the work is truly stunning. Best of all are the facsimilie replicas which allow you to hold that little bit of Harry Potters world in your hands, I won't give away all of the suprises but there are some incredibly intricate props tucked away within the book which really do bring it all to life.
I would reccomend this book to absolutely anyone with even an incling of an interest in Harry Potter. Having just biefly flicked through it I can already really appreciate the incredible amount of work that went in to the films and I look forward to an evening spent reading it cover to cover!
11 comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
Firstly; if you have the original version of this book, I wouldn't recommend buying the expanded version purely for the 6 extra pages, it's not really worth it (unless you sell the old one in exchange for this edition).
But if you, like myself, waited until the expanded and finished edition, then this book is absolutely brilliant for any Harry Potter fan and a definite must-buy.

The book itself is a gorgeous addition to any Potter collection, as it's nicely presented and includes great detail and information on the films which is lovely to keep. The detachable extras inside, such as the marauders map & hogwarts letter are equally as lovely to own - I've taken out and framed most of mine, as they look great on display ^.^

Great price, great product and was delivered fast - what more do you want?
don't hesitate in buying this, if you love the Potter series even just a little bit, it's worth it
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There still isn't any Harry Potter art books, but this movie companion is probably the best thing any fan could wish for.

Harry Potter Wizardry is 160-page hardcover and designed like a scrapbook with little goodies -- booklets, stickers, maps, etc - attached to the pages. The cover is also nicely embossed. It's printed by publisher Collins Design.

The book covers all the seven films, including a sneak at at Deathly Hallows Part 2. It's packed with all sorts of interesting things from the Harry Potter movies. There are chapters on characters, the schools, mythical creatures, strange locations and stories about the wizardry world. You can read about all the teachers Harry had, the different villains from each movies, Ministry of Magic or all the strange inventions created by Ron's twin brothers.

There are plenty of photos shot behind the scenes showing the sets, the miniatures and models, actors and there are even some pieces of artwork and sketches.

The commentary provided includes interviews with the actors and staff. They talk about everything from creating sets like the Hogwarts castle to how they film the movie with computer graphics elements. I'm impressed with how much content is included.

This is the book Harry Potter fans have been waiting for. Grab it.

(There are some pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
22 comments|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2010
Got this for my son for Christmas. Had a quick look and ended up looking at the whole book. Fantastic for any Harry Potter fans. Loads of info and pics as well as lots of extras to pull out. My son will love this book.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2011
As a huge harry potter fan i got very excited about this product, though worried at first it may seem like one of the boring uninformative fan made books that we come across. how very wrong my worries were!!

the book is brilliant for any muggle fan. the book contains everything & anything a harry potter fan could want to know... & more. the interviews, backstage information & little quirks such as copies of harrys letter from hogwarts or a copy of advanced potion making make entertaining little thrills that really make the reader feel involved & right there with all the magic.

could hardly put it down & i would reccommend for any true fan.
5 star rating? you bet, if there was a 6th star i would give it! :)

Harry Potter Film Wizardry
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2011
I wasn't sure what to expect from Film Wizardry having already purchased Harry Potter: Page To Screen. I was a bit concerned I would be left disappointed as Page To Screen is so large that it's hard to imagine there is anything else to discover. Fortunately I found Film Wizardry was quite different. While Page To Screen feels more grown up with an overwhelming amount of text and beautiful concept art, Film Wizardry has a younger look - it is charming, bright and fun and the text segments are much shorter but brimming with facts. While not as large as Page To Screen, Film Wizardry is surprisingly thick and overflowing with detail and photographs to show how they created the Harry Potter movies. As this book was made by those who worked in the Harry Potter art department, the real attraction here is the amazing prop replicas tucked inside. There's a little Yule Ball Programme, Educational Decrees, a Borgin & Burke catalogue, make-them-yourself sweet boxes, a copy of Advanced Potion Making which contains potion stickers, a Quidditch Programme, a Mafalda Ministry Identity Card, a bright Wizard Wheezes Catalogue, Harry Potters' Hogwarts Letter and my particular favourite, a little Marauders Map. The prop replicas are made to a very high standard and are fortunately not plagued by the annoying 'TM' (Trademark) that is often plastered all over Harry Potter prop replicas. All of them are secured neatly inside so they won't fall out and be lost/damaged while reading unless you choose to remove them yourself. I am really impressed with this book and I would definitely recommend it for the prop replicas alone. While Page To Screen is quite a spectacle to behold, Film Wizardry made me feel like I was fully immersed in the magical world of Harry Potter as the props are so fun and realistic. I think any Potter fan would love to own this.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
Want to own a copy of the programme of the 442nd Quiddich World Cup? Or a copy of the Marauders Map? Or a programme for the Yule Ball? Or a flier from Honeydukes? Or the catalogue of Weasleys Wizard Wheezes? This book is lavishly illustrated and has dozens of fold-outs and stick-ins, each more surprising than the last. There are hundreds and hundreds of photographs and sketches.

This book is amazing value for money and reveals thousands of the secrets of filming. It is recommended for children of all ages and that includes Harry Potter fans who have children and grandchildren of their own. This is the perfect book to sit down with a son or daughter and pass the pages looking at the pictures and re-living the magic of the films.

There are look-backs by the principal actors that reveal surprising details that you will not find elsewhere. Emma Watson's is about the part that her pet hamster played in filming "The Chamber of Secrets". You find pictures of a ridiculously young-looking Rupert Grint, who is actually 2 years older than Emma Watson and a spread showing how Harry changed between 2001 and 2010 from a young boy to a troubled adult who, behind the scenes, was struggling with a drink problem.

You can see the incredible attention to detail that went into the production just as this book shows an incredible attention to detail too. The book will bring back many happy memories for fans of all ages.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2011
I couldn't believe just how much is packed into this book for the price! It is an absolute must have for any Potter fan. It has amazing detail that covers all the art, design and creative aspects of the films (except for the last one which is covered only slightly as this book was published before the release) as well as interviews with cast and crew. What is even more amazing about this book is that it comes with replica items from the films such as a Quidditch world cup final pamphlet , a miniature Marauder's map, pop-out sweet boxes, potions stickers and much much more! It is well worth the money and would make a great gift, I am so happy I got it!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2010
This is a must have for anyone who is a fan of the Harry Potter films. It goes very much into detail about most of the things that go on behind the scenes and how certain effects are done. There are also many 'pull out' features such as Harry's Hogwarts Acceptance Letter, the Marauder's Map, catalogues for Borgin and Burke's and Weasley's Wizard Wheezes, a programme to the Bulgaria v. Ireland Quidditch match, and many many more. The extras are sure to please people who are fans of only the books but not the films as well. Overall this was a great book, and I would recommend this for any person who is a big fan of the Harry Potter films.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)