Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 90 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its not a novel, its a novel little book!
Ok, lets make this clear............ THIS BOOK IS NOT A JACK REACHER STORY!

I knew this before purchasing, I thought the product description made this quite clear, but there are a number of reviews that express disappointment because its not a story and have thus scored it accordingly.

I personally think that to compare this book to a Jack Reacher...
Published 21 months ago by IOWBOY

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual Reacher
Makes a change to read something with Reacher himself as the "author". Amusing in parts, with quotes from other Reacher stories, and interesting bits of information from the real world of the military.
Published 20 months ago by Mr. D. Wolfe


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 90 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its not a novel, its a novel little book!, 9 Nov 2012
By 
IOWBOY - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reacher's Rules: Life Lessons From Jack Reacher (Hardcover)
Ok, lets make this clear............ THIS BOOK IS NOT A JACK REACHER STORY!

I knew this before purchasing, I thought the product description made this quite clear, but there are a number of reviews that express disappointment because its not a story and have thus scored it accordingly.

I personally think that to compare this book to a Jack Reacher novel does it a disservice, it is not a novel and nor does it try to be one.

Ok, the basics first.

The edition I'm reviewing is a hardback, it measures 184mm by 132mm and it has 160 pages, the covers are nice and sturdy and the publication has a high quality binding.

The book is a mixture of words, pictures and photographs, all are in black and white.

The book has a foreword by the creator and author of the Jack Reacher stories, Lee Child, he is also listed as the copyright author of this book but it is more likely the work of a Val Hudson, listed as the books 'compiler'.

Following on from the foreword there a number of small 'chapters', these are:

1. Be Prepared
2. Breaking and Entering
3. Choose Your Weapons
4. The United States Army Military Police
5. The Rules of Coffee
6. Conquer Your Fear
7. Confronting Death
8. Cracking Codes and Passwords
9. Dogs
10. Fighting
11. Food
12. First Aid
13. Getting Mad
14. Hand-to-Hand Combat
15. How to Shake Hands
16. The Wimbledon Cup
17. Hitchhiking - The rules
18. How to Extract Information
19. Know How to Find Your Way Around a City
20. West Point
21. Keep on the Move
22. Codes Used by the Military Police
23. Lessons Learned in the Military
24. Live off the Grid
25. Hogan's Alley
26. On Walking Through a Thirty-Inch Doorway
27. How to Tell if they're Lying
28. Man Walks into a Bar - The Rules
29. A Medley of Military Acronyms
30. Respect your Opponent
31. Noticing Stuff
32. The US Army Military Police Code of Ethics
33. Military Police Training
34. The Science of.... The Perfect Shot
35. Personal Grooming
36. The Pentagon
37. Why it's Not Smart to have a Phone
38. Potential Aliases for use when Booking a Motel Room
39. Use Your Wits - Psychology
40. Miranda
41. The Science of.... Burning Down a Building
42. Sleep
43. Knowing the Time
44. Travel Light
45. When to Speak
46. Blind Blake
47. How to Win the Battle
48. How to Win the War
49. Man's Toys
50. Women
51. How to Leave Town

Most of the chapters are only a couple of pages long and they feature a series of 'bullet points', each one being a piece of advice or a mantra to live life by.

Anyone who is familiar with the world of Jack Reacher will know that he has a very distinctive manner and he lives by a set of 'rules', with each new adventure the reader is introduced to new rules and with the total number of books to date rapidly approaching twenty this means there a lot of them!

This book attempts to bring them together in one handy volume.

The book is quite simple really, and it doesn't take long at all to finish, but it is quite funny and as a fan of the Jack Reacher stories I did appreciate the point it is trying to make.

Almost certainly this book is best appreciated by Jack Reacher regulars, although it could also be viewed as a pretty decent little introduction to the world to the uninitiated.

A good little read, recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a novel but fun for fans, 19 Nov 2012
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Reacher's Rules: Life Lessons From Jack Reacher (Hardcover)
Well my Grandad is a huge fan of Reacher so this book has been on my radar for quite some time, especially when you get to sit back and enjoy the rules that have helped shape the character through his myriad of adventures. It's fun, it has a lot of useful tips and if you're a fan of the hard man image it's something that will hit the spot.

Throw into the equation a forward by Lee Child, some quirky additions like Man Toy's and all round it is something that is going to give a lot of fun to the recipient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Christmas present for Jack Reacher fans, 12 Nov 2012
By 
pale rider (Truro, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reacher's Rules: Life Lessons From Jack Reacher (Hardcover)
Do Jack Reacher fans not actually READ?? Evidently not from some of these reviews!! It is quite clear that this isn't a new novel - it's a gift book - and it is smart, entertaining and a perfect socking filler present for all of us who are die-hard Jack fans. I have read every single Reacher novel and I think this is a perfect present for people like me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual Reacher, 6 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. D. Wolfe (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Makes a change to read something with Reacher himself as the "author". Amusing in parts, with quotes from other Reacher stories, and interesting bits of information from the real world of the military.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jack Reacher, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this book as I was mystified by what could constitute a whole book of rules. For someone who has read all the Jack Reacher books it is very entertaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reacher's Rules, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As good as I thought it would be. Definitely going to adopt his fitness routine. A bit of fun. Reacher rules!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars informative!!, 29 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this...very Jack (not Tom)!
Tells you everything you need to survive the world today!
I can imagine Reacher having this conversation with some kid on his travels :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fiction, 31 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. G. Johns "Master Mason 6407" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting follow up to any of Lee Child's Reacher novels, written as though his hero was writing it. But, how can Tom Cruise play Reacher in the movie? He's so tiny, and Reacher's a giant of a man, with all the body parts to fit his size...why a little man? I can't understand why Lee Child agreed to him being cast as our hero!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very short., 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Short on substance - It doesn't really stand up on its own. It would have been better just filling in a few extra pages in the back of a Reacher novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reacher's Rules: Life Lessons From Jack Reacher (Hardcover)
This is a great book, ideal for any Jack Reacher fan. Great to dip into and handy to slip into a pocket. It's full of Jack's witticisms and rules for staying alive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reacher's Rules: Life Lessons From Jack Reacher
Reacher's Rules: Life Lessons From Jack Reacher by Jack Reacher (Hardcover - 8 Nov 2012)
6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews