Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goddard at his best
I ordered Robert Goddard's latest book on the day of publication (Thursday), it arrived Friday and I began reading it that evening. I finished it 24 hours later. It's been a while since I've been gripped to read a book that quickly. The shorter chapters certainly helped - in fact, they're not even numbered as chapters - the scene ends and a new scene begins on a new page...
Published 9 months ago by Simon Whaley

versus
38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deeply Unsatisfying
I never thought I would feel cheated by a Robert Goddard novel, but "The Ways of the World" has left a nasty aftertaste, or sensation akin to being duped by a second-hand car dealer. I am not surprised that the cover price has been slashed by almost a third only a couple of weeks after launch. How on earth can any writer consider writing what was developing into an...
Published 8 months ago by Peter, Brighton, England


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deeply Unsatisfying, 6 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Ways of the World: (The Wide World - James Maxted 1) (Hardcover)
I never thought I would feel cheated by a Robert Goddard novel, but "The Ways of the World" has left a nasty aftertaste, or sensation akin to being duped by a second-hand car dealer. I am not surprised that the cover price has been slashed by almost a third only a couple of weeks after launch. How on earth can any writer consider writing what was developing into an outstanding mystery - and then not bothering to finish it?
I have seen many unusual constructions in my literary experiences, but to effectively tail off mid-chapter and be faced with "To be continued" did come as something of a suprise, to say the least. If this was intended from the start to require a sequel, or be a part of a trilogy, why on earth was that not made clear from the start? And even writers who adopt that practise usually ensure that each separately sold segment had self-contained plots but developed continuous themes.
There is no doubt "Ways of the World" was developing into one of Goddard's best-yet mysteries, with sufficient uncertainty, duplicity and historical ambiguity to keep readers gripped. But to pull the rug out at the very end will ensure I have absolutely no desire to pay another hefty price to find out what Goddard should have delivered for my original investment. It's a great pity that having read all his previous novels our relationship should have to end like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why no warning?, 26 July 2013
This review is from: The Ways of the World: (The Wide World - James Maxted 1) (Hardcover)
I am a great fan of Robert Goddard & to date have read all his books. Ways of the World was a great read BUT why was there no indication at all that this book is only Part 1. Had I known I would have waited until all part(s) were available to read. This book would normally warrant a 5* star rating, but the aforementioned disappointment/frustration takes it to 3*. Presumably it is the fault of the publishers?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goddard at his best, 7 July 2013
By 
Simon Whaley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ways of the World: (The Wide World - James Maxted 1) (Hardcover)
I ordered Robert Goddard's latest book on the day of publication (Thursday), it arrived Friday and I began reading it that evening. I finished it 24 hours later. It's been a while since I've been gripped to read a book that quickly. The shorter chapters certainly helped - in fact, they're not even numbered as chapters - the scene ends and a new scene begins on a new page - and as a result, the story hurls along at a cracking pace. I believe this is the first of a trilogy, and when I learned of this I was concerned. (Having just watched the film version of The Hobbit, where the first part just stops, I was worried Goddard might do the same.) I needn't have worried, though. This book neatly resolves the main quest, and then sets the scene for the questions that need answering in part 2. Brilliant.

The only downside to reading the book so quickly is that I now ave longer to wait until part 2 is published!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another page turner from Robert Goddard, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always enjoy books by this author, even though they often follow a similar format. There are always twists and turns and I am usually surprised by the final outcome. This time I was totally unsure what the ending would be and VERY surprised at the end to find the words "to be continued"! He has not done that before! What I want to know now is - when is the sequel coming out please?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ways of the World, 12 Aug 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ways of the World: (The Wide World - James Maxted 1) (Hardcover)
"The world turns on a sixpence. Nothing can be foretold. Certainty lies only in the actual."

I've read a few of Goddard's books over the years, and always thoroughly enjoyed them. I was very intrigued by the setting of this book, in Paris in 1919 where statesmen, diplomats and politicans are gathered at the Peace Conference to discuss the future of Europe and the wider world in the aftermath of the Great War. James Maxted is looking to the future after the War, preparing to set up a flying school, convinced that the air was the future. But abruptly, his plans change, when his father Sir Henry Maxted is killed in an accident.

This is a fantastic spy thriller from early twentieth-century Paris and London; full of action, mayhem, intrigue, double-crossing and more. Cryptic notes, untrustworthy allies, pasts which are now haunting their owners. Absolutely fantastic with non-stop action but characters that are drawn brilliantly and which leap off the page for the reader.

I am surprised that some reviewers have complained that this book offers a sequel. Books do not suffer in and of themselves if they are sufficiently fully populated as to allow a sequel to continue the longer narrative. For this book, in itself, it offers a neat ending to the initial part of the story, so there is no need to read any sequel if you cannot bring yourself to do so. For my part, I cannot wait for the next instalment of Max's journey to find out the secrets that his father appears to have lived by, and to find his own path in the post-War world. Brilliant stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another disappointment., 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ways of the World: (The Wide World - James Maxted 1) (Hardcover)
I received Mr. Goddards last offering on July the 3t .and finished it four weeks later. Would you not say that tells it all?

Mr. Goddard has written more than twenty novels since 1980. Half of them are brilliant. The last six – with a dubious exemption of “Fault Line” are like a spiral staircase going downwards with his last book – ”The Ways of the World” as the absolute nadir.

It’s a real pity. Thousand of readers must have found his first novels as gifts from heaven. Their convoluted yet logical plots; the fluent language and use of metaphors are unrivalled by most of his contemporaries - not to speak of the discreet romantic undertone; like a reminiscent of Butterworth and Delius.

And now this: It takes place in 1919 in the aftermath of the Great War. And in Paris. What a possibility wasted: The book is peculiar absent of atmosphere, The cardboard characters jump out of cars and into apartments for no apparent reason. The language, so fluent and captivating in his first novels are plain and boring and repetitive no less. And the intrigue? The ending tells it all; having finished the book with a yawn you suddenly awake by the last sentence: “To be continued” . Nothing – absolutely nothing warns you that this is no 1 in a sequel of God knows how many.

Be my guest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Goddard re finds his early form., 19 July 2013
This review is from: The Ways of the World: (The Wide World - James Maxted 1) (Hardcover)
Almost 5 stars! His best book for many a year and his best historical novel since 'Take no Farewell' in 1991.

I thought when I read the pre publication blurb that this would be a cracking read...and it does not disappoint. Even the cover is a return to the style of his early books.

As this is the start of a trilogy, Goddard can pace the novel and spend more time on characterisation.His settings and the vast list of characters are well drawn. It perhaps lacks the heart stopping moment and sudden revelation that his very best books have, but it is original and very well written.

Robert Goddard went through a period a few years ago where his stories were just not as strong as they once were.That is now in the past and has been since he produced 'Long Time Coming' in 2010.

He has once more found an historical subject to wrap a good thriller around and a hero in the shape of 'Max' Maxted that is believable and affable.
Our most original mystery thriller writer now has the challenge of making parts 2&3 as good or even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100% back to his best, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Robert Goddard wrote some superb mystery thrillers in the 80s and 90s. He then wrote a book called Sea Change which was poor and a whole string of mediocre books after that. Last year's effort was an improvement but The Ways of the World is as good as anything he has written for many a year. The plot is based on historical events. There are twists and turns throughout. I didn't realise this was part of a series until I got to the end but if the next two books are of the same standard there are further treats in store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hyped as a novel, in fact it is unfinished, 15 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Ways of the World: (The Wide World - James Maxted 1) (Hardcover)
I feel that this book is a bit of a rip-off, nowhere on the cover does it suggest that it is just the first part in a series. The story goes fine, until, almost in mid sentence you are informed that it is "To be continued." Not even a suggestion of when part 2 will be published, or how many parts there will be.

A bad case of "Lectio Interuptus!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for the sequel!, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ways of the World: (The Wide World - James Maxted 1) (Hardcover)
I have read all of Robert Goddard books and this one was as gripping and full of plot twists as all of his books are. He also provides well drawn characters and attention to historical and geographical detail in his books. It surprises me that not more of his books have been made into TV or cinema films as the subject matter is always to do with a mystery, murder, beautiful locations and often a romantic element. A number of them would make great films. P.S. I am not related to him nor did he send me a cheque in the post!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae000f0c)

This product

The Ways of the World: (The Wide World - James Maxted 1)
The Ways of the World: (The Wide World - James Maxted 1) by Robert Goddard (Hardcover - 4 July 2013)
ú12.79
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews