Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT PIES AND TARTS!
This is a fantastic book about pies and tarts: it has 150 recipes for all kinds of pies and tarts both sweet and savoury, and they are all amazing. The book is divided into ten sections, providing pie recipes for every taste, baking ability and occasion, so everyone can find their favourites.

The first section, "Classic" provides recipes for the most delicious,...
Published on 14 July 2011 by Eleni

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An american book
Got this at christmas. It is a lovely looking book with super pictures of each recipe. Unfortunately it's an american book complete with american weight measurements and a few american ingredients i have never heard of before. such as cornstarch. How do you measure 2/3 a cup of margarine and what size cup is standard?
Published on 11 Jan 2012 by lazybones


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT PIES AND TARTS!, 14 July 2011
By 
Eleni - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a fantastic book about pies and tarts: it has 150 recipes for all kinds of pies and tarts both sweet and savoury, and they are all amazing. The book is divided into ten sections, providing pie recipes for every taste, baking ability and occasion, so everyone can find their favourites.

The first section, "Classic" provides recipes for the most delicious, easy to make, old time favourites, that will never go out of style. The second section, "Free-Form" provides recipes for a wonderful selection of awkward shaped pies that taste and look homemade. The third section, "Sleek" has lovely recipes for a variation of elegant and glazed tarts. The fourth section, "Dreamy" provides recipes for dreamy and rich sweet pies and tarts. The fifth section, "Rustic" has the most amazing recipes for old fashioned double-crust and crumble pies. The sixth section, "Layered" has excellent recipes for beautifully layered tarts with cream, nuts, fruits, or chocolate. The seventh section "Dainty" has recipes for lovely small bite size tarts that are perfect accompaniments to tea. The eighth sections "Artful" has beautifully decorated pies. The ninth section is dedicated to "Holidays", with many festive pies. Last but not least is the "Savoury" section with delicious pies and quiches. Each section has a brief introduction and the recipes are very well written and easy to read, accompanied by very nice photographs and information about each pie's origin.

The book also includes a very helpful chapter about "The Basics", with useful detailed information about the basic ingredients for baking, the tools we can use for better results, and excellent step by step instructions for making great pies and tarts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bake me a pie, 12 May 2011
Martha Stewart has filled a book with luscious pictures of pies and tarts. There are classic pies, free-form, creamy and chiffon, rustic and layered, mini pies, and ones for the holidays and savory pies. There are pictures for each and a very few illustrations for techniques such as pressing in the dough. It would have been an added bonus if there would have been more of these, such as transferring the dough into the pie plates.
There is a section at the end that purports to give you everything you need to know to make these pies and tarts. The one huge failing here is that piecrust edges are shown as finished products and almost no instruction on how to accomplish them. The instructions on lattice pies is very good.

Ingredient staples are covered as well as equipment. There are techniques for pate brisee, puff pastry , various crusts, creams and toppings.
The savory pie recipes are outstanding, as is the peach and berry tart and the maple nut tart, which can use various kinds of nuts.
It's a good book, but would really benefit from having some more of the techniques needed shown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 Feb 2012
By 
LaLaLottieR (Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
I brought this book from Washington DC whilst on holiday there last November 2011 and I had been looking for a proper sweet pie book for years.

Honestly...this book is perfect for those looking for the same. The recipes are easy, some slightly more detailed. Remember though to buy some cup measurements if you haven't already, as most of the measurements are in American cup sizes.

I also like this book as there are photos for all of the pies and I love the fact that it has opened a whole new prospective for me in terms of ideas on pies and tarts. I have already are quite a few from this book and also tweaked some with my own ideas.

For those that do buy this book and wonder what wafers is, they're what we call biscuits - you can buy oreo cookies in most uk supermarkets and for the chocolate wafer recipes, that's what I use.

I think most of the ingredients we can get here in the uk, but if not, substitute, it's easy enough.

Enjoy and I definitely recommend this book. Is an ideal companion for the avid english baker to try something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it would be easier if I were an American, 2 Dec 2011
This book is fantastic. First of all, photographs will make your knees weak and mouth water. The recipes are not too hard to master, the only thing that was a bit hard for me was the constant converting. And, some ingredients were a bit hard to find. There is a huge difference between America and Europe when it comes to food. So, minus the minor difficulties, I can easily say that this books is great for all baking enthusiasts out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent! Book! Wide variety of recipes, great photos and everything very well explained!
The only "flaw" is that the measures are american and we have to make equivalences!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous book, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martha Stewart's New Pies and Tarts (Paperback)
Lovely images and surely delicious recipes, shown in a very practical way. It's difficult to choose one since they are all very promissing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 29 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book. It is much easier to bake from if you get a set of cup measures, which can be gotten cheaply enough. Have so far made the grasshopper pie, key lime pie, lemon meringue pie, apricot hand pies, buttermilk cream tart and lemon tartlets with meringue caps. Everything has turned out well, without any problem. There's a huge range of pies and tarts to choose from, should keep me occupied for quite some time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martha Stewart's New Pies and Tarts (Paperback)
This book is American so has some quite different receipes which is a refreshing change from the normal baking receipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY HAPPY. I couldn't find in the shop, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martha Stewart's New Pies and Tarts (Paperback)
VERY HAPPY. I couldn't find in the shop, very satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An american book, 11 Jan 2012
Got this at christmas. It is a lovely looking book with super pictures of each recipe. Unfortunately it's an american book complete with american weight measurements and a few american ingredients i have never heard of before. such as cornstarch. How do you measure 2/3 a cup of margarine and what size cup is standard?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Martha Stewart's New Pies and Tarts
Martha Stewart's New Pies and Tarts by Martha Stewart (Paperback - 2 Feb 2012)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews