Customer Reviews


177 Reviews
5 star:
 (140)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark, violent, surreal crime thriller with a difference.
The 7th novel in the Jack Caffrey series and unfortunately he's missing for large chunks of his own story and that's a shame.

The plot is certainly dark and violent enough, plenty of that surreal creepiness Mo Hayder's so good at, but Wolf reads like two separate stories almost until the end with very little to tie the two parts together.

On one...
Published 2 months ago by JK

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another exciting page-turner, but?.....
....not her best.
I love Mo Hayder's books and have now read the lot! The reason I give this a 3 star rating is in relation to her other books, some of which I hold in rather higher esteem.
This is another 'unputdownable' read and her writing is so approachable and pleasant, whereas the subject matter never is.
Jack Caffrey is a solid character using the...
Published 2 months ago by james taylor


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark, violent, surreal crime thriller with a difference., 9 May 2014
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The 7th novel in the Jack Caffrey series and unfortunately he's missing for large chunks of his own story and that's a shame.

The plot is certainly dark and violent enough, plenty of that surreal creepiness Mo Hayder's so good at, but Wolf reads like two separate stories almost until the end with very little to tie the two parts together.

On one hand Caffrey's out there relying on the brilliantly evoked Walking Man, a regular throughout the series, to help him finally solve the riddle of his brother's death. On the other hand there's a family suffering extreme psychological torture at the hands of some very dubious characters while a decidedly nasty serial killer is on the prowl...or is he?. Although Caffrey's drawn towards the mystery of the family it's slow going and some of the links are stretched to breaking point.

Mo is at her best when she's dealing with Caffrey. When he features in the novel she hits her stride and Wolf becomes all I expect from her. She's not managed the story of the family quite so well. It begins strongly, ramps up to exceptional in places, but then loses it's way and becomes less and less believable. I'd switched off to everything apart from Caffrey before the end.

What is perfect in this novel is the story of a little dog. I can't say much more without leaving spoilers. The way Mo uses Bear to create horror and empathy is absolutely spot on and I fell in love with that little character.

Wolf is a good read but it's bumpy and I missed Flea Marley and her eerie underwater search scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another exciting page-turner, but?....., 3 May 2014
This review is from: Wolf: Jack Caffery series 7 (Hardcover)
....not her best.
I love Mo Hayder's books and have now read the lot! The reason I give this a 3 star rating is in relation to her other books, some of which I hold in rather higher esteem.
This is another 'unputdownable' read and her writing is so approachable and pleasant, whereas the subject matter never is.
Jack Caffrey is a solid character using the typical punchy first syllable rhyme which we enjoy so much (Jessica Fletcher, Gil Grissom, um.. Sid Vicious?) he is typically flawed and brilliant in equal measure. The returning story of Jack Caffrey's past and indeed his past acquaintainces are continued in this book, but for some reason the general mood of the piece didn't affect me as much as previous outings.
I got so lost in 'The Treatment' and 'Ritual' and indeed her non-Caffrey books too(HangingHill, Tokyo (which is horrific) and PigIsland) but this tome didn't provide that same engrossing story.

Many people, when reading books or watching movies, can 'call' what is going to happen but this only happens to me when I'm not totally into the book or film.

I was so excited waiting for this book and now I am slightly gutted. Still, read the book as it is better than most, nowhere near as hackneyed or paper-thin as many novels of a simlar ilk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack is back! Don't miss this gut wrenching gore fest thriller., 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wolf is Mo Hayder's seventh Jack Caffery book and is as amazing as all the previous books in the series. Jack is still searching for his brother's remains and this book finally gives closure to it at the end of the book. He is unwillingly drawn into looking for the owners of a hurt dog on the behest of The Walking Man in return for vital information. Concurrently, we are drawn into the abduction and imprisonment of the Anchor-Ferrers family in their remote mansion in the countryside. They are subjected to unthinkable mental torture and it becomes clear that the dog belongs to this family. Each page builds tension and the characters' fear and despair almost becomes tangible.
The book is gory and fast paced as one would expect from Mo Hayder's work. It's a fantastic read and I would highly recommend this to anyone who loves a good thriller series. Although it can be enjoyed as a standalone, it's by far more beneficial to read all the books in the series. I cannot wait for the next instalment. Thanks Mo Hayder for an awesome read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars (3.5 stars) "We want you to be scared", 24 April 2014
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Mo Hayder is an uneven writer for me: some of her books are terrifying with a potent emotional kick (Birdman, The Treatment, Gone, Poppet), others fail to work - this is somewhere in between.

It's good to see the Misty Kitson story finally (finally!) laid to rest, and I'm glad that Flea Marley who's never worked for me as a character never made an appearance.

The main story is gory and scary in parts but it also feels a little half-hearted as if Hayder is writing on auto-pilot. Elements of the plot replay bits of The Treatment, and the final twist reminds me of an old Ruth Rendell whose name I don't want to mention as it would be a spoiler.

So not the best of Hayder's books, but it's good to see Jack Caffery back in a slightly edgier place than he's been in in the last couple of tales. He still has the potential to be one of the most darkly interesting protagonists in contemporary crime fiction and I hope Hayder pushes him further rather than letting him settle.

(This review is from an ARC courtesy of the publisher)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very cruel,violent and dark, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf: Jack Caffery series 7 (Hardcover)
This book of Hayders is NOT for the normal rational thinking person, the cruel torture of a family and their dog does not make good reading.
Jack Caffrey plays very little part in the book, Flee none at all. The one good thing about Wolf is that at last Hayder has written Ewan, Caffreys missing brother out of the story. She has dragged this on for 7 books now, so that was well past its sell by date.
I was so looking forward to this new book, as far as I am concerned it was a total waste of money.
Next time I shall not be so eager to jump in with both feet and buy her new books, I shall wait for other peoples comments first
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth adding to your Mo Hayder library., 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mo Hayder at her best! Not going into a synopsis of the book read it for yourself.You Will not be disappointed.
Read in just over a day on kindle as I didn't want to take hard cover which I have also bought on holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chilling and enjoyable, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic return to form. I read this in one sitting. The atmosphere of menace is built up expertly from the beginning. I would strongly suggest that any readers who are new to Mo Hayder start the Caffery series from the first book as there are major spoilers in this book and ongoing plot developments throughout the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wolf, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another excellent Jack Caffery novel by Mo Hayder.

A family are visited by two policemen but things are not what they seem and the victims are soon in a nightmarish situation.

The plot twists and turns as the story gathers pace towards the conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Execellent, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Super book as always

He really does write a page turner not always pleasant reading but always makes you have to read on if it were a film you would have to shut your eyes sometimes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joyously vicious., 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely to read a gritty crime thriller by an English author. As a West Country boy I particularly enjoyed the geographic references of the area I grew up in. Joyously vicious, these Jack Cafrey novels must be read in order. Start with Birdman. Excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wolf: Jack Caffery series 7
Wolf: Jack Caffery series 7 by Mo Hayder (Hardcover - 24 April 2014)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews