Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny if a little Blue in places.
How many times have you had someone had a go at you and you can't think of either a decent put down instantly or are just so annoyed that you blow up and make yourself look like an idiot? Well if you're going to be honest about it, like me, its going to be more than once. So this title by Rufus Hound is an absolute little gem for these as there is pretty much a reply...
Published on 19 Nov. 2011 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
The guy has got attitude probs - much swearing
Published 3 months ago by Mark Devall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny if a little Blue in places., 19 Nov. 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stand-Up Put-Downs (Hardcover)
How many times have you had someone had a go at you and you can't think of either a decent put down instantly or are just so annoyed that you blow up and make yourself look like an idiot? Well if you're going to be honest about it, like me, its going to be more than once. So this title by Rufus Hound is an absolute little gem for these as there is pretty much a reply for all situations. Its funny, it has some great put downs, however a lot of them are x rated and may surprise you when you find out which comedian to which they're attributed.

Add to this some hecklers that have gotten one over them and the whole thing will result in a chuckle or two. Finally if you do some canny online shopping you can get this title for half the cover price which will make it an ideal stocking filler for your other half and a fiver well spent as it'll keep them cheerful throughout the Christmas stress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously strong language, 7 Jan. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand-Up Put-Downs (Hardcover)
I found this a very interesting book. I thought quite a few of the scenarios and heckles described and putdowns given were very funny. Some putdowns (and heckles) are however not merely crude, but just about as crude and aggressive as you can get; readers of a nervous disposition should go elsewhere. However, in the introduction, Rufus explains the need for this approach, in terms of the aims of the individual heckler, the self-absorption of the group (stag or hen parties for example), and so on. He also explains the need for the performer to get control quickly - and his or her problem, namely that he or she doesn't have the chance to get to know exactly what the heckler is trying to achieve. If they did, there might well be "nicer" ways of handling the heckles. I felt quite sympathetic to the performers - but I really find it hard to believe that some of the audience don't sometimes feel that the only reasonable response to what the performer says is to go on stage and punch the hell out of them. But we don't hear about that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable, 20 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Stand-Up Put-Downs (Hardcover)
A marvellous little book of comedian's putdowns and the heckles that provoked them. Many of the putdowns are one-liners but there are a few hilarious rants by the likes of Ed Byrne and Brendon Burns. It also has some good stories by comedians about how they have dealt with hecklers, or failed to do so, or in the case of Milton Jones, heckled their audiences . It isn't just the usual telly mob, who presumably don't get heckled very much when they become mega famous. Most of the putdowns are utterly filthy and I'm amazed they could get away with printing them. Don't leave it lying around when granny comes to visit (unless she is extremely broadminded).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious, 3 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Stand-Up Put-Downs (Hardcover)
This fantastic little book made me laugh out loud. It's clearly not for children - some of the put downs are absolutely outrageous! That's Christmas pressies sorted for all the men in my family...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic put-downs., 7 Jan. 2012
By 
Mr. Robert W. Beasley Limited (Durham NE England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stand-Up Put-Downs (Hardcover)
Thoroughly enjoyed the book, exactly what I was looking for. Hilarious put downs with real pub humour, however would'nt suggest that you quote it at your in-laws dinner party. Get in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From a promoter's point of view, 16 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand-Up Put-Downs (Hardcover)
This is a cracking book. Some of these put downs are so imaginative; most are laugh out loud funny.

This book is of particular interest to me as I run a comedy club in Basingstoke; bringing in top end acts from all over the country. I therefore know many of the comedians quoted (which makes it even better).

Our audiences are great; we're rarely troubled by hecklers but as a promoter, if we are, I need to know that the comedian can handle it without problems. A little trawl through this book provides inspiration on every page.

Yes, some put downs are filthy, and some seem over the top. But sometimes, if you have a particularly anal heckler, nothing else will do...

It's a great present for a broad minded person. It's different...and hilarious. You do need put downs in all walks of life.....just be careful which ones you pick in the workplace. You will find gentle put downs in here too. Frank Skinner's response to "Didn't I meet you at medical school?" is just awe-inspiring (you'll have to read the book to see what it was!)

Really loved it. Looking forward to the next one! Hopefully there will be one?

Jan Jack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly enjoyable, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand-Up Put-Downs (Hardcover)
I have never read a 130pages long book in less than 1h as I did with this one.
Mainly because of the enormous fonts - what a ridiculous loss of wood.
Some of put downs are gross, but many are witty and hilarious.
I particularly liked the "academic" classification of the types of hecklers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Standing up for smiles, 12 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Stand-Up Put-Downs (Hardcover)
Really good read as well as being a book that explains how to ride a put down.

Looking forward to using the examples.

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On time, nice hardback, 2 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Stand-Up Put-Downs (Hardcover)
I got this for my mate as a birthday present. Fitted the bill perfectly and the hardback made it very good value indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny!, 23 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand-Up Put-Downs (Hardcover)
This book is a fabulous collection of come-backs from various comedians, and the vast majority had me giggling. Every few pages there is a story from a particular comedian, which makes the book feel less of a joke book and more of an insight into the world of the stand-up. Very, very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stand-Up Put-Downs
Stand-Up Put-Downs by Rufus Hound (Hardcover - 13 Oct. 2011)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews