Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars something to be treasured, 13 Nov 2010
This review is from: Harry Potter Film Wizardry (Hardcover)
I had no idea what to expect from this book when I first ordered. I knew that it would give me info on the films but what I got when I opened my book this afternoon was beyond anything that I could have ever imagined. As a huge Harry Potter fan who has amassed other Harry Potter collectibles, this book probably tops the lot. Not only does it provide in-depth look at the first 6 films and a more than 'sneak peek' at the final instalments, it also gives readers the chance to own replica copies of props that are used in the film from the marauders map to the quidditch world cup program. Warner Brothers have out done themselves and proved without doubt that they were the right company to have the rights to the Harry Potter films.

For any Harry Potter fan who's childhood has been shaped by the Harry Potter books and films this book is a must buy. For me it already seems as important on my bookshelf as the Harry Potter books themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part of the magic, 21 Jan 2011
This review is from: Harry Potter Film Wizardry (Hardcover)
As a huge harry potter fan i got very excited about this product, though worried at first it may seem like one of the boring uninformative fan made books that we come across. how very wrong my worries were!!

the book is brilliant for any muggle fan. the book contains everything & anything a harry potter fan could want to know... & more. the interviews, backstage information & little quirks such as copies of harrys letter from hogwarts or a copy of advanced potion making make entertaining little thrills that really make the reader feel involved & right there with all the magic.

could hardly put it down & i would reccommend for any true fan.
5 star rating? you bet, if there was a 6th star i would give it! :)

Harry Potter Film Wizardry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 11 Nov 2010
This review is from: Harry Potter Film Wizardry (Hardcover)
Got this for my son for Christmas. Had a quick look and ended up looking at the whole book. Fantastic for any Harry Potter fans. Loads of info and pics as well as lots of extras to pull out. My son will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What the fans are waiting for, 16 Dec 2010
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Length:: 1:15 Mins

There still isn't any Harry Potter art books, but this movie companion is probably the best thing any fan could wish for.

Harry Potter Wizardry is 160-page hardcover and designed like a scrapbook with little goodies -- booklets, stickers, maps, etc - attached to the pages. The cover is also nicely embossed. It's printed by publisher Collins Design.

The book covers all the seven films, including a sneak at at Deathly Hallows Part 2. It's packed with all sorts of interesting things from the Harry Potter movies. There are chapters on characters, the schools, mythical creatures, strange locations and stories about the wizardry world. You can read about all the teachers Harry had, the different villains from each movies, Ministry of Magic or all the strange inventions created by Ron's twin brothers.

There are plenty of photos shot behind the scenes showing the sets, the miniatures and models, actors and there are even some pieces of artwork and sketches.

The commentary provided includes interviews with the actors and staff. They talk about everything from creating sets like the Hogwarts castle to how they film the movie with computer graphics elements. I'm impressed with how much content is included.

This is the book Harry Potter fans have been waiting for. Grab it.

(There are some pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter Film Wizardry, 8 Dec 2010
This review is from: Harry Potter Film Wizardry (Hardcover)
This is a must have for anyone who is a fan of the Harry Potter films. It goes very much into detail about most of the things that go on behind the scenes and how certain effects are done. There are also many 'pull out' features such as Harry's Hogwarts Acceptance Letter, the Marauder's Map, catalogues for Borgin and Burke's and Weasley's Wizard Wheezes, a programme to the Bulgaria v. Ireland Quidditch match, and many many more. The extras are sure to please people who are fans of only the books but not the films as well. Overall this was a great book, and I would recommend this for any person who is a big fan of the Harry Potter films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic!, 17 Aug 2011
This review is from: Harry Potter Film Wizardry (Hardcover)
I couldn't believe just how much is packed into this book for the price! It is an absolute must have for any Potter fan. It has amazing detail that covers all the art, design and creative aspects of the films (except for the last one which is covered only slightly as this book was published before the release) as well as interviews with cast and crew. What is even more amazing about this book is that it comes with replica items from the films such as a Quidditch world cup final pamphlet , a miniature Marauder's map, pop-out sweet boxes, potions stickers and much much more! It is well worth the money and would make a great gift, I am so happy I got it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 12 Nov 2010
This review is from: Harry Potter Film Wizardry (Hardcover)
The Harry Potter Film Wizardry book is absolutely fantastic. Packed with information, facts, pictures, behind the scenes, drawings and so much more. And to top it all off the book has removable reproductions of props (eg. The Marauder's Map, Hogwarts acceptance letter, a Quidditch world cup programme etc) Such a wonderful collectible item for any Harry Potter fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Film Wizardry Vs. Page To Screen, 9 Dec 2011
By 
Quinn (England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter Film Wizardry (Hardcover)
I wasn't sure what to expect from Film Wizardry having already purchased Harry Potter: Page To Screen. I was a bit concerned I would be left disappointed as Page To Screen is so large that it's hard to imagine there is anything else to discover. Fortunately I found Film Wizardry was quite different. While Page To Screen feels more grown up with an overwhelming amount of text and beautiful concept art, Film Wizardry has a younger look - it is charming, bright and fun and the text segments are much shorter but brimming with facts. While not as large as Page To Screen, Film Wizardry is surprisingly thick and overflowing with detail and photographs to show how they created the Harry Potter movies. As this book was made by those who worked in the Harry Potter art department, the real attraction here is the amazing prop replicas tucked inside. There's a little Yule Ball Programme, Educational Decrees, a Borgin & Burke catalogue, make-them-yourself sweet boxes, a copy of Advanced Potion Making which contains potion stickers, a Quidditch Programme, a Mafalda Ministry Identity Card, a bright Wizard Wheezes Catalogue, Harry Potters' Hogwarts Letter and my particular favourite, a little Marauders Map. The prop replicas are made to a very high standard and are fortunately not plagued by the annoying 'TM' (Trademark) that is often plastered all over Harry Potter prop replicas. All of them are secured neatly inside so they won't fall out and be lost/damaged while reading unless you choose to remove them yourself. I am really impressed with this book and I would definitely recommend it for the prop replicas alone. While Page To Screen is quite a spectacle to behold, Film Wizardry made me feel like I was fully immersed in the magical world of Harry Potter as the props are so fun and realistic. I think any Potter fan would love to own this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Astonishing, 1 Oct 2011
This review is from: Harry Potter Film Wizardry (Hardcover)
One of the most beautifully printed books I have ever had the luck to purchase. The size was much bigger than I expected, pages brimmed with details and beautiful additions to keep. All the additions are kept in clear envelopes for protection and some even hidden, which provided extra excitement for me when searching for them. Just beautiful. I will treasure this book all my life as it sits next to my Harry Potter boxset. I was almost in tears when it finally arrived, it truly is a book you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treasure to Keep Forever, 25 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: Harry Potter Film Wizardry (Hardcover)
The reviews rated this book as being magical, beautiful and just as keepworthy as the main seven Harry Potter books. They were absolutely right. Designed wonderfully, with so many original pictures and facts I had never seen/known before (and I am a very avid fan) with lots of little props from the films included in the pages, such as Harry's first Hogwarts letter, the Marauder's Map and the programmes for the Quidditch World Cup and the Yule Ball. A really special book that is worth the price and worth a place in your bookshelf forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harry Potter Film Wizardry
Harry Potter Film Wizardry by Warner Bros (Hardcover - 28 Oct 2010)
Used & New from: £34.22
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews