Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On behalf of a RE Lt, somewhere in Afghanistan...
The perfect book for anyone wanting to spend more than 2 hrs in the company of British Army personnel!

I was a bit dubious about the book at first, as I thought it might be either a bit patronizing to us in the army or too complicated/technical for civvies to understand. However I left it on the coffee table for the lads to read and it literally has not been...
Published on 15 Nov 2011 by E. Buckley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Is it really that funny? or more of a general guide?
This was bought for my father who was a member of the armed forces. As I flicked through the book, it had a few funny moments here and there but seemed more of a general guide book to the British Army than a funny read. The jokes may have been lost on me and it might appear funnier to actual armed forces members.
Published 9 months ago by M. Ward


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On behalf of a RE Lt, somewhere in Afghanistan..., 15 Nov 2011
By 
E. Buckley (Windsor) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Official ARRSE Guide to the British Army (Hardcover)
The perfect book for anyone wanting to spend more than 2 hrs in the company of British Army personnel!

I was a bit dubious about the book at first, as I thought it might be either a bit patronizing to us in the army or too complicated/technical for civvies to understand. However I left it on the coffee table for the lads to read and it literally has not been put down. Everyone that comes through picks it up and has a good laugh. They'll look first at their regiment, then the Special Forces page and then at the piss-take page of the RLC or Signals. It's a really funny assortment of facts, and most of the lads have said they'd buy it for themselves or as a present for someone they know who's ex-forces. Great for girlfriends and wives as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ARMY BARMY, 12 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Official ARRSE Guide to the British Army (Hardcover)
Major Des Astor writes fondly, amusingly and painfully accurately about the tribalism that is the strength of the British Army and, very often, its undoing in its internal relationships - and in its attitudes towards the other Services of the Crown. Don't be put off by the racy title - this is textbook stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tongue in Cheek, 21 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Official ARRSE Guide to the British Army (Hardcover)
Most enjoyable and informative read. Lots of facts & figures with a light hearted approach, mostly to be appreciated by serving members and ex servicemen alike but of interest to the curious "outsider"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny!, 14 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official ARRSE Guide to the British Army (Hardcover)
Highly amusing, beautifully illustrated and rather elegantly produced. I would recommend this as the perfect Christmas gift for all the family (or at least those members who want to know about skiffing). Buy twenty copies and help 'Holidays for Heroes'; buy a thousand copies and help Major Des Astor take his wife to Barbados for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Official ARRSE Guide to the British Army, 18 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official ARRSE Guide to the British Army (Hardcover)
To get the most from this book you have to have served in the the Army , as an ex member of the British Army it brought back many happy memories and gave many a chuckle just like the ARRSE web site . Well worth the money.
To anyone who has not served it will probably seem a waste of money and , unfortunately for them , they will not be able to understand most of what the book is about .
The military sense of humour is what makes our Army the best in the world bar none , this book is a briliant example of that humour while imparting a lot of up to date information .
The Army has changed over the years , thankfully the British soliders attitude to life hasnt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joining the Army ?, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official ARRSE Guide to the British Army (Hardcover)
Learn everything here no need for basic, penned by a expert in his field ( parade square more like )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Tongue in cheek look at the Army, 25 May 2013
By 
N. O. Miller (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official ARRSE Guide to the British Army (Hardcover)
Overall an amusing look at a service in which I served for 36 years. Sometimes the author tries a touch too hard to be funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ARRSE, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official ARRSE Guide to the British Army (Hardcover)
Excellent book with very good humour. Being an ex army wife, it was great to read about army expressions, postings and regiments. Really enjoyable. Book arrived within just a few days of ordering, excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic read, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official ARRSE Guide to the British Army (Hardcover)
Having served in the Forces and used the website I had to read the book.

Wasn't disappointed, the book is great fun, the squaddie humour has been captured perfectly.

A must have for anyone with a connection to the military, and those just curious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy, 15 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official ARRSE Guide to the British Army (Hardcover)
buy it i did you should did you i did you did so did i you should did you yes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Official ARRSE Guide to the British Army
The Official ARRSE Guide to the British Army by Major Des Astor (Hardcover - 10 Nov 2011)
£12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews