Customer Reviews


222 Reviews
5 star:
 (151)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are they the same?
When I saw Ice Cold I thought wow Tess Gerritsen has written a new novel and went straight to the reviews. On looking at the reviews though I realised that this novel is the same story as The Killing Place? Amazon are offering both novels in the one package so customers beware because although different titles they are the same story!!!
Published on 19 Oct. 2010 by J A Poyser

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Killing Place in disguise - be warned
Don't be fooled by the title as I've been caught by this before.

This book is the same as The Killing Place so don't waste your money!

Amazon - do the decent thing and warn people it's been published under a another title.
Published on 1 April 2011 by TracyP


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

82 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are they the same?, 19 Oct. 2010
When I saw Ice Cold I thought wow Tess Gerritsen has written a new novel and went straight to the reviews. On looking at the reviews though I realised that this novel is the same story as The Killing Place? Amazon are offering both novels in the one package so customers beware because although different titles they are the same story!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting thriller, 11 Oct. 2010
By 
Bluebell (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I've read three other books by Tess Gerritsen and so was expecting this to be an exciting thriller. I was not disappointed. The book continues to follow the exploits of law enforcement officer, Jane Rizzoli, and her friend and colleague forensic pathologist Maura Isles. Maura is attending a scientific conference in Wyoming held in a lodge in Jackson Hole: a very remote location in the Grand Teton national park. Maura's conference is held as winter approaches which adds to a sense of menace as she and some other conference attendees set off on a trip that ends in disaster. Maura goes missing and much of the book is taken up with Jane Rizzoli's determined quest to find her. The story also involves the mysterious disappearance of the members of a religious sect headed by a sinister, charismatic leader. The book has all the surprising twists and turns that make for a good thriller and I, at least, didn't anticipate the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tess Gerritsen - The Killing Place, 6 July 2010
By 
molko (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Killing Place: Rizzoli & Isles series 8 (Hardcover)
While attending a medical conference in Wyoming, Maura Isles stumbles across an old friend from college. Currently battling a troubled romance with Father Daniel Brophy, Maura decides to do something spontaneous for once and sets out for a weekend away in a snowy cabin to indulge in some skiing and a catch up with these old acquanitances. However while en route to the cabin the snow is falling heavily and Maura and co. take shelter in the small village of Kingdom Come, a choice they're all soon regretting. Gerritsen paints an eerie picture of the town, windows are left open despite heavy snow storms, uneaten meals are set out on tables and theres no one in sight... what became of the residents of Kingdom Come?

Having not been able to contact Maura, Detective Jane Rizzoli begins to worry for her friends safety and sets off to Wyoming to find her, fearing the worst. What follows is a tense and creepy ride with Gerritsen's two leading ladies at the helm. This is something quite new for Tess, not her standard crime novel instead she's inviting us to uncover a mysterious towns secret and what results is a truly unsettling read. This is the 8th book in this series but I feel it could easily be read if you are new to this author. Well worth a try for a spooky escape on these long summer nights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dont get caught out and buy this twice !!, 12 Jan. 2011
As a lover of this author I bought this book Ice Cold and on another occasion the killing place. They are the same book with different titles. Not sure why. Was a great read but I am confused by this. Buy one of them and enjoy....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Killing Place in disguise - be warned, 1 April 2011
This review is from: Ice Cold (Paperback)
Don't be fooled by the title as I've been caught by this before.

This book is the same as The Killing Place so don't waste your money!

Amazon - do the decent thing and warn people it's been published under a another title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHILLING!!, 22 Jun. 2010
By 
C. Jeffery (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Killing Place: Rizzoli & Isles series 8 (Hardcover)
This has all the ingredients you would expect in a Tess Gerritsen; suspense, a bit of CSI forensic action and a great plot. But The Killing Place has something more... It is bloody scary! I read this in two sittings and could not put it down. My husband is reading it at the moment, he didn't think he would like it as he had tried one of her earlier novels and it wasn't really his cup of tea. This time it is different, he loves it and he is sooo scared (don't tell him I said that).

This is definitely the best Rizzoli/Isles novel yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good thriller., 31 Jan. 2011
By 
J.Flood (Dublin,Ireland) - See all my reviews
While attending a medical conference in Wyoming, Dr. Maura Isles is invited on a skiing trip, by an old friend. When their car takes a wrong turn, in bad weather, the skiing party find themselves stranded, in a remote village called Kingdom Come, which consists of twelve houses. However, there is no sign of any of the inhabitants.

This book grabbed my attention from the start!! The parts of the story set in the small isolated village I found intriguing and very creepy. For me, this was the best part of the book.

Jane Rizzoli comes into the story when the skiing party's burnt out car turns up, with four charred bodies inside. However, Jane is not convinced that Maura Isles was one of the occupants, and starts to to dig deeper, and uncovers sinister goings-on in the area.

I found as the book progressed, while still a good read, was not as nail biting as the first one hundred or do pages, and the ending was a bit of a letdown. Overall, though I found it a very good thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ice Cold / The Killing Place, 19 April 2011
This review is from: Ice Cold (Paperback)
I wish I had seen the review already posted, as I had previously bought 'The Killing Place'. I DO think Amazon should be more careful, maybe they need more info from publishers, but it strikes me as mean to put the same books ( albeit under different titles, and don't say they don't know now ) in a package.
So, caveat emptor, if you order 'Ice Cold ', it is the same book as 'The Killing Place'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a book of two unequal halves, 6 Dec. 2011
By 
Jonathan Clark "Great Black Hawk" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A story based on religious cults, in ths case Wyoming in the clodest snap of winter, is always going to provide a great backdrop for a compelling story.
It raises the same old questions how can people be brainwashed by a charasmatic yet cearly unhinged individual.
The cult Kool-Aid sucides in the eopnymously named Jonestown still beggars belief.
So when Maura Isles goes missing at a medical conference in an area where some Cults exist after yet another spat with Father Brody a casual affair with someone she met at the conference seems a natural conclusion.
The reality is she hooks with a old but younger student (of her era) who still has the hots for her.
In conjunction with a small group of his friends they decide to cast caution to the wind and experience the wintery wilds of Wyoming.
So far so good.
Inevitably they get lost and they lose control of their car.
Of course their cells/mobiles can't pick up any signal and after realising that they are in deep trouble notice a sign to Kingdom Come.
They find a small enclave of houses mysteriously abandoned where they decide to take sanctuary.
Up until now Rizzoli hardly has a role to play so we are left with the uncharasmatic Maura Isles to step up to the plate.
For Gerritsen this was her chance to ramp up her profile.
Back to the plot it becomes apparent that Kingdom Come is a place where a Cult movement has existed led by Jeriamiah.
Gerritsen in this part of the book does a really good job of ramping up the suspense.
We then move to the second half of the book where I can't say as much as 'd like other I could spoil it.
However there is still a level of suspense and we do get to know Maura a bit better but ultimately the story loses it's fizz.
It's not bad more disappointing which I suppose is testament to the first half which is gripping.
For example you don't really get to know Jeriamiah that well and the final denouement is OK at best.
In summary:
A great idea which starts off really well but either gets bogged down or TG loses her own plot!
It's certainly not her worst but not her best.
The absence of Rizzoli in a major sense loses some of this book's edge and, as a couple of people have suggested, Maura Isles doesn't ignite the afterburners as a character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why I'm colder to this book than I should be, 30 Jan. 2011
By 
David Roy (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
When a new Tess Gerritsen book comes out, it's a no-brainer that I'm going to be picking it up. This was the case when I saw that Ice Cold, the new Rizzoli & Isles book, was on the shelf, prominently labelled with the "Now a series on TNT" crest as well (a series I'm also enjoying). In the book, Gerritsen continues to explore these fascinating characters even as she gives us a mystery to gnaw on. While this isn't the greatest example of Gerritsen's prowess, it is a decent novel that does a good job in changing a bit of the mythology of the series.

Boston's Chief Medical Examiner, Dr. Maura Isles, has been stuck in a secret relationship with a priest, allowing only brief liaisons that only make her hunger for more in her life. Needless to say, she's not a happy person. So when she's at a Forensics conference in Colorado and happens upon an old classmate, a man who's both attractive and single, she finds herself opening up a bit. So much so that she agrees to join him, his daughter, and their two friends on a jaunt to a mountain cabin in the wilds of the state. The heavy snow forces them off the road, and they find an abandoned village nestled in a valley; a village seemingly abandoned so quickly that food was left on the table. When Isles disappears, Rizzoli, a Boston Homicide detective and Isles' best friend, must try and track down what happened to her, before the secret of that village ends up costing even more lives. Perhaps even that of Dr. Maura Isles.

Gerritsen's been slowly developing the Isles character, and her romantic entanglements, over the last few books, and Ice Cold carries this to completion, or at least it appears to. While I've found Isles a wonderful character, I've often felt that she's just way too morose and willing to look at things in a physical manner (often the first thing she sees when a man comes around is his attractiveness). Now we see that this may be coming to an end, as she realizes that this "relationship" with the priest has no good ending. He's not going to leave the Church, despite the fact that he's sinning against it every time they sneak a quick one in. She's doomed to be lonely 95% of the time.

All of this comes out during the interaction between Isles and the classmate who recognizes her at the conference, though not because she blabs about it. Instead, it's meeting him and seeing what he's offering that does it. She doesn't do things on a whim; it's not part of her nature. So when she decides to go against that because it would mean a break from her old personality, we feel that she's growing as a character. Even if it doesn't quite work out the way she wanted it to.

This is definitely Isles' book, and Rizzoli takes a back seat, despite being prominent during the middle part of the book where it's unclear whether Isles is actually alive or not (despite the obvious, Gerritsen actually does a pretty good job with the head fake here). After a number of Rizzoli books, it's nice to see her be a bit of a supporting character.

Most of Gerritsen's books have some kind of social consciousness to them, and Ice Cold isn't any different. In this one, she examines extremist cults, where the leaders take child brides and run their flocks with an iron fist, removing them from civilization. We get to see just how tied up they can get with small town politics (maybe that's why so many of them are situated near these towns?)

Gerritsen's writing is once again very fluid and the book just flies by. I haven't been reading books very quickly recently, but this was one book I couldn't put down due to a combination of Gerritsen's characters and her prose. She sets the scene very well. This was another cold-weather book that I read in the middle of Summer, yet it still managed to elicit a shiver or two from me as she describes just how frigid Isles' predicament is.

While I greatly enjoyed the book, it's nowhere near Gerritsen's best (that's still Vanish). It's hard to quantify why that is, as there's really nothing I can point to in the book and say "this was bad," or "this didn't quite work." Instead, it's just the general feeling that the book gave me. It's all typical Gerritsen, and perhaps the feeling comes from the fact that it's not more than that.

Don't get me wrong. You should definitely pick up Ice Cold if you get the chance, especially if it's the only Gerritsen book that you can find. But if you can find others, you should start with them first. This one will wait.

Originally published on Curled Up With a Good Book © David Roy, 2010
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Killing Place: Rizzoli & Isles series 8
The Killing Place: Rizzoli & Isles series 8 by Tess Gerritsen (Hardcover - 24 Jun. 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews