Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic & Couldn't put it down!
James Holland has once again written a fantastic story. He is an extremely skilled Historian, story-teller & broadcaster with a rare ability to engage with the public & keep the subject matter alive & engaging.
I pre-ordered this title over a year ago before eventually receiving it on 19th July & I started reading it that evening until I finished 48hrs later. The...
Published 17 months ago by Robert Ferguson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading
Read all the books in the series and enjoyed each one. They are simple plots with plenty of action based on actual events
Published 14 months ago by Stuart Young


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic & Couldn't put it down!, 23 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Pact (Jack Tanner 5) (Hardcover)
James Holland has once again written a fantastic story. He is an extremely skilled Historian, story-teller & broadcaster with a rare ability to engage with the public & keep the subject matter alive & engaging.
I pre-ordered this title over a year ago before eventually receiving it on 19th July & I started reading it that evening until I finished 48hrs later. The story is set during the Allied invasion of Sicily in 1943, its very accurate about the Italian campaign itself & though the novel is a work of fiction it remains very faithful to the events of that time, whilst weaving the novel narrative into the historic events.
I have visited Sicily, my wife is from there & Mr Holland has captured the mood & charm of the island as well as the ways & idiosyncracies of its local people, who are unlike other italian communities on the mainland. Jack Tanner is a brilliant protagonist & could quite easily be transitioned to either the cinema or the TV screen in the way that the Sharpe novels also made that leap
I am a huge fan of both the writer's fiction & non-fiction books & I think I now own them all. I would recommend that any fans of this book also read "Italy's Sorrow" which is Mr Holland's historic opus on the allied invasion of Italy & its aftermath on the Italian people. I would also recommend his "Battle of Britain" & "Dambusters" non-fiction as well.
In fact as I can't wait for the next Jack Tanner novel in the series I will probably start them all again from the beginning, before going back to the historical non-fiction works.
Buy this book or buy the whole Jack Tanner series from the beginning, if you haven't already - You will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great war story, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jack Tanner at his best,faced with enemies on every side he comes out on top.Several surprises too,who do you really trust?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Jack Tanners., 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked this book more than the others in the series. Good story with interesting angles. I like books which identify issues as well as being good action adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet Another brilliant book. Could not put it down. I just wish the next one book was ready to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE WAR IN SICILY, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good fast moving account of the war in Sicily. Well up to the usual excellent standard of James Holland.
Well researched and historically accurate. Good way of learning history of World War 2 without reading a documentary account.
Eagerly await the next Jack Tanner adventure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good entertaining story, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read all of the. Tanner series and this is a good addition to the genre. Very much the Sharpe of ww2 the stories are, like Sharpe, works of fiction within historical fact. Well with the read and I await the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Left wanting more, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unlike some authors who run out of steam cashing in on a successful character I enjoyed the book from start to end. I would recommend this book and cannot comment more without spoiling the content for other raders
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Described by someone as the Sharpe for World War 2-and how very apt., 4 May 2014
By 
Christopher J. Eley "Chris Eley" (Chichester Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Pact (Jack Tanner 5) (Hardcover)
This novel is one of five I have collected to date in hardback and every one has been of the excellent standard of the former. It it time that someone at ITV/BBC ,or even a major film company, sparked and used these books to tell this country about World War Two from a soldiers perspective, in the way of Cornwell's Sharp but with more budget and blue screen combined. Jack Tanner is a very British hero, in the most indiginous/historical/cultural sense, something to be proud of and not shy away from through misguided 'Diversity'and from the the time of our greatest ever and most moral struggle. It is a highly palatable way to get the British young-from all cultures, to take the history they should know inside out-and don't. A great hero but really just your average British/Commonweath Army Sergeant, represenative of so many who had to endure failed campaigns one after another until after El Alamein. A rollicking good and authentic read ,warts and all but with no unneccessary use of foul language, from an author who has produced so much good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tanner takes on the desert fox, with Monty, great the way it covers the transition from Cairo espionage to desert warfare, just read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Devil's Pact (Jack Tanner 5)
The Devil's Pact (Jack Tanner 5) by James Holland (Hardcover - 18 July 2013)
Used & New from: £6.82
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews