Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars23
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2008
Picture the scene... Steven Gerrard leads Liverpool to their first ever League and European double and is rewarded by having his captaincy stripped from him because Fernando Torres says he's going to leave unless he gets the job. Guess you'd be pretty peeved too.

There was never any secret about Tommy and Emlyn's dislike of each other and it was a big part of the 'behind-the-scenes' stuff at Anfield in the mid '70's. Unlike the modern game when every whisper is snatched upon by the press and is followed worldwide via the internet, very little escaped from the dressing room and for many fans these books are a rare insight into what actually went on back in the heyday. It would have been wrong for Tommy to write his story without highlighting the bad, as well as the good times.

And this is Tommy's story, not Emlyn's. It is a no-holds barred story of his life, his career, his likes and his dislikes. To omit reference to Emlyn Hughes simply because it would upset some readers would be wrong. It's Tommy's life, his influences, his thoughts and his opinions. Agree with them or disagree with them, this is who he is. Maybe he'll lose a few fans as a result, but ignoring his relationship with Emlyn simply to pacify those who want to retain a rosy image of him isn't the Smith way.

Other than that, this is the first real book Tommy has done and I would strongly urge any football fan to buy a copy and relive the golden era, not just of Liverpool Football Club, but probably football as a whole.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2012
I've read loads of autobiographies written by footballers of the 60's and 70's generation.
This one is a must for anybody who has an interest in, and a fondness for football from those days.
If you want intelligent readable detail, this has it.
If you want real football nostalgia then this has it again.
It fails on no account and Tommy catches your attention from the first page.
His honesty and integrity shows through in every page and his devotion to his club is laudable to say
the least.
I saw the "Anfield Iron" play on many occasions and he never gave less than 100%.
He gives the same in his autobiography.
Read this one and you'll be spellbound !!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2008
This is the first time I have ever reviewed a book, but having read this book I feel I have to write to say how much I enjoyed it. Having been born on the Wirral and a Liverpool supporter all my life I loved Tommy Smiths book. The humour and honesty throughout, especially the stories about Bill Shankly are brilliant, I could not put the book down.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
Appalling writing - at one point he tell's us that a German player called Wagner had a ring to him, also, was Emlyn Hughes really so bad. Nevertheless it's a brilliant between-the-lines account of life at the top during the high point of English football. Tommy comes across as tough but fair - anyone who saw him play will draw their own conclusions - but the fact that he was a decent player needs making. His account of Gerry Byrnes injury in the 1965 cup final tells us a lot about how the games changed - for the better? Highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2012
This is an excellent autobiography by Tommy Smith. He covers his career at Anfield in a chronological order, season by season.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2008
I enjoyed reading this book, the narrative moves along nicely and chronologically follows Tommy's career at various clubs. There are some interesting recollections of Paisley and Shankly and fellow players but also some curious omissions (souness not described at all in this book!?) Some funny and whimsical moments also.

A little disappointing is the somewhat incessant criticism of Emlyn Hughes, who has no right of reply given that he is no longer with us. i thought this a little churlish, albeit that the criticisms may be perfectlty well founded. All-in-all it is a competently written account of a great player at a great club.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Tommy Smith was the epitome of the sixties football `hard man'. His craggy looks alone were enough to put the fear of God into most opponents but he was also a tough man whose no-nonsense style of play ensured that no player relished the prospect of being on the receiving end of one of his crunching tackles. The expression `hard but fair' could have been coined to describe Smith though, because in his eighteen year career he was only booked an incredible TWO times and was dismissed just once, and all were for dissent, rather than foul play.

Tommy Smiths autobiography is very similar to his style of football -uncompromising. Earlier reviewers have been annoyed about Smiths criticism of his old Liverpool colleague, the late Emlyn Hughes, but whilst I agree that this is a little unpalatable this is just Tommy Smiths style - he never held back on the field and he doesn't hold back in print neither.

This book is an excellent read for any football supporter, but particularly those who were around in the 60's & 70's because it is a deeply nostalgic book too. Smith has the added advantage of playing under Bill Shankly because he is able to call upon a vast array of amusing anecdotes attributable to the great man. Any book which features Bill Shankly cannot fail to be entertaining, as was any club managed by him.

A thoroughly enjoyable book.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2009
Going through a phase of reading autobiograhies by Liverpool players but finding it hard to find a good read. Read 'Carra' and thought it was good and only got it as he's a player who is a kind of 'real' and 'down to earth' person who wouldn't pull any punches, and is also local but generally I stick to autobiograpies where the player has retired and has something to talk about and not blabbing on about the weather or who annoyed him. The other one I'm reading now is 'Gerrard' which is so far so good, and on a par with 'Carra'.
Anyway back to 'Anfield Iron'. If I could rate this book it would be 11 out of 10. It shows how life was back in the day. How you couldn't dodge any situation and run away. How life was tough and not pampered like some of these 'so-called' players who have less skill than some sunday league players.
This book shows how Shanks had placed his input into Liverpool and how the system was back then.
I didn't know much about Tommy Smith but after reading this I got a good insight into the player and man, and he did have something important to write about. He was a fantastic player and the game was played with passion more then than now days
This book just goes to show that football was much better 30 or 40 years.
Dont delay, buy this book and read it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2009
I am a Liverpool fan, but this book is a must for all English Soccer fans. Tommy not only gave some great insights of the Shankly/Paisley era, but fottball in general as it was in the 60s and 70s. I thoroughly enjoyed this easy reading book and could feel the pleasure or pain he was going through. As a Liverpool fan, I am more than satisfied with this book and unfortunately, can appreciate more the ocean that separates football as it was in my younger years against as it is in the money rolling days of today. This book, contrary to many I have read, is not a boring statistical book, but really walks you through the authors' years, experiences, glorious and painful days.
Tommy, if you read these reviews, thanks alot mate for all the pleasure you gave us Liverpool fans across the globe and for sharing your experiences with us through this book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2012
As football books go this has been the most interesting that I have ever read. I was too young to remember much of Tommy playing, the FA and European Cup Finals of 1977 are the earliest that I can recall, and I can remember when he went to Swansea City later. So, being a Liverpool supporter it was great to read first hand accounts of the club, players and stories (at which Tommy excels), and the times which now are sadly gone. However, I should point out that it disappointed me enormously to read of the bad feeling that existed from the entire time that Tommy and Emlyn Hughes were at the club together, of which Tommy details at length. After all of the years spent together since Emlyn arrived in 1967 (Tommy already at LFC for a good many years before), you would have thought that two grown men would have found an amicable solution to at least make an effort to get on with each other, but alas no. The book is a great read despite the uncomfortable reading of the two men not getting on, it is very hard to put down - I know that sounds like a cliche but it really is that interesting and good.

The only modern player who has released an autobiography that compares is Jamie Carragher's Carra, which I also highly recommend. Both books are honest, giving the good the bad and the ugly, and unlike most superficial football autobiography's are not shallow in content.

Take a trip down memory lane and buy this, you will love it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)