Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action Comes Late But Great
Well, this was astounding. I hadn't really connected with these books before, so this was a bit surprising. Three of Princess Meredith NicEssus's guards have been accused of raping someone from King Taranis's court, but this is thrown by the wayside when King Taranis brutally attacks Merry's people through a mirror. But that's not all: in a strange event that I didn't...
Published on 20 Jan 2008 by Tez Miller

versus
29 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Frosty receptions
A shred of plot returns to Merryville in the sixth book, after five books of Laurell K. Hamilton's boring sex and amazing fairy superpowers.

But unfortunately "A Lick of Frost" still has little substance to make it a really enjoyable book -- for every page of plot, there are five of Sparkly Super Merry, and rambling discussions about sex, relationships, and all...
Published on 10 Nov 2007 by E. A Solinas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action Comes Late But Great, 20 Jan 2008
Well, this was astounding. I hadn't really connected with these books before, so this was a bit surprising. Three of Princess Meredith NicEssus's guards have been accused of raping someone from King Taranis's court, but this is thrown by the wayside when King Taranis brutally attacks Merry's people through a mirror. But that's not all: in a strange event that I didn't understand, Merry receives her most devastating blow yet, and even though it comes with good news she can't be merry. (What? Someone had to say it.) But King Taranis isn't done with Merry yet. Unfortunately, it takes a while to get to the good stuff: I was reading but not particularly immersed until circa page 200, so the bulk of the action happens in the last 75 pages. There were moments when I was pissed off with Merry: she used magic to get a human doctor to do her bidding. And talk of Merry's favourites seemed to be quite an issue. Quoth Merry: 'Wasn't I entitled to have favourites?' Yes, you are, but if you're still shagging your non-favourites you're leading them on, and that's not nice. Those points aside, this is by far my favourite of the Merry books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo Laurell!!!, 14 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved it. I made the mistake of starting to read it late at night, and ended up staying awake until I finished it - just over 3 hours of racing reading because I wanted to know what was going to happen.

The plotline has steamed along, the characters are expanding and growing and the magic is still magic - bravo Laurell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Frosty receptions, 10 Nov 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A shred of plot returns to Merryville in the sixth book, after five books of Laurell K. Hamilton's boring sex and amazing fairy superpowers.

But unfortunately "A Lick of Frost" still has little substance to make it a really enjoyable book -- for every page of plot, there are five of Sparkly Super Merry, and rambling discussions about sex, relationships, and all the men who want to have sex with the heroine.

Merry and three of her guards are in a lawyer's office, squabbling about whether some of her OTHER guards could have raped a Seelie woman. Hamilton, of course, takes the time to lecture the world on how they should see sex. But things deteriorate when the lawyers contact King Taranis of the Seelie Court, to determine if he has cause to lie. Taranis goes berserk, leaving one of Merry's guards severely wounded, and possibly disfigured.

In the meantime, Merry finds that the Seelie nobles are sufficiently impressed by her sparkly goddess powers that they might be willing to dethrone Taranis, and make her queen. That doesn't sit too well with Merry's aunt Andais -- and dear Uncle Taranis, who is creepily interested in Merry's magic nethers, is still waiting in the wings. What's more, Merry's claim to the Unseelie Throne might just become a reality.

It must be admitted, "A Lick of Frost" is way above the all-sex-no-plot books that preceded it. Hamilton really seems to be trying to tone down the sex, and emphasize political machinations and plotting. Too bad it still reads like a personal fantasy, although more about becoming Queen of the Universe than orgies.

Part of this is because the political situations are staggeringly dull, and very simple. Additionally, most of the book is a mass of legal wrangling, sex negotiations, and familial squabbling on the magic mirror. The whole rape plotline is explored and then dropped without resolution. And a major turning point in the series -- Merry's potential pregnancy -- is turning into a melodramatic farce, complete with meiotic impossibilities that are explained away with "oh, it's magic." Sorry, not good enough.

And in the meantime, many of Hamilton's biggest faults are firmly in place. Rambling dialogue, religious bigotry, child-men, and endless miles of multicoloured hair and designer clothes. One character's rippling flamelike hair is even even described in the middle of explosive emergencies -- you'd think Merry would be more concerned with not being killed than with an acquaintance's highlights.

Then again, that attitude fits the main character. Merry remains a bland Mary Sue without much motivation for anything she does, except to tell us that sexual restraint is bad, that she loves all her boytoys, and to ruminate endlessly on sex, love, sex, high-heels, and her own self-conscious angst about her sparkly magic powers.

Of course, this doesn't prevent every man in the world from wanting magic sex with her -- Taranis, the Redcaps, Cel, the goblins, the lawyers. Her assorted boytoys are only slightly thinner than the book's individual pages, with the exception of the tragic Frost. He alone gets some fleshing out, complete with a sorrowful history and fate, rendered in the most inspired, delicate prose Hamilton has written in ages.

Though it has some sweet moments, "Lick of Frost" is bogged down by poorly-written politics and relationship angst. Try again, Ms. Hamilton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's getting there, 5 Dec 2007
For a lot of loyal readers who have been there since the start Laurell K Hamilton has been slightly in recent years, especially with later Anita Blake books but this book along with the recent Anita book seem to be back on form. Her writing seems to be getting back to what it was. Picking up on the story arc from the previous books, Merry is still trying to get pregnant to get the throne of the Unseelie; to save it from her insane Aunt and cousin. The plot moves far in this book, although I wished it was longer. I won't say why, I wouldn't want to spoil it for those who havent read it yet, but the narrative has moved far. The biggest suprise of all though: there are only two well written sex scenes in this book. LKH seems to have gone for quality over quantity in this book. Over-all a good read, I'm warming more to Merry as this series goes along!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YES!! LKH wrote an actual book again, 1 Nov 2007
I've always liked the Merry series but had become quite tired of LKH never moving the plot ahead and the book-length 0rgies. Well - she finally wrote something....and it was good! In Lick of Frost we see Merry and her lovrs advance the plot, have real character growth and real emotion. What a relief!! I encourage failing fans to read this one and renew your faith in LKH as an author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars you will not be able to put it down, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like this series better than the Anita Blake series and that's saying something! Just buy the whole series to save yourself time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Series-Love Merry and her boys!, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely love this series and hope that theres more to come in the merry series from my favourite author Laurell K Hamilton!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous read, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I could not put this one down, it had me going back to it for more all the time cant wait to read the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Implausible soft core porn, 28 Jan 2011
2 babies with 6 fathers? Really. I think perhaps Ms Hamilton has reached the point where its best to gently remove her books from the fiction section and into the um hum, 'adult' section. I tried to find a plot in between endless and repetative sex scenes but sadly failed. And the sex scenes weren't even that good - go and buy something by Anais Nin instead and give yourself an education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars urban fantasy, 5 Nov 2010
By 
A lot of events happened to move the story forward that I actually want to read Swallowing Darkness. My only complaint is that just like after a certain point in the Anita Blake series, Hamilton crams all these happenings in the span of a day. The opening chapters where they are being questioned by the lawyers seemed way too drawn out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb6b86684)

This product

A Lick of Frost
A Lick of Frost by Laurell K. Hamilton (Paperback - 5 Nov 2007)
10.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews