Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short. Sharp. Brilliant. Devastating.
It is sometimes said that the pen is the sharpest of weapons when used correctly. In no book I have read has this been more true. This book is a mere 90 very small pages, even slow readers will make it through in a couple of hours, and the arguments are completely devastating all the way through, I was an out-an-out atheist before reading it, and I've always been so, but...
Published on 2 Jun. 2008 by Anders Øverby

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent polemic against the "Talibanization" of America
This short polemic delivers some powerful arguments against the harm that religion brings to society. It is well worth a read for those who are questioning their faith or those who want an introduction to the various arguments against religion and the harm that obscurantist ideologies bring to society.

Those who want a more in-depth argument should definitely...
Published on 27 July 2010 by G. Slade


‹ Previous | 15 6 712 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars I could not put this down., 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent read that lives up to the billing in the forward by Dawkins.

It is strange to read something that explicitly spells what I realise that I feel before I have fully thought it out. Sam Harris ranks alongside Richard Dawkins, Christopher Hitchins and Bertrand Russell as my hero from here on.

I need to read his other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bang on!, 21 Nov. 2013
By 
D. H. Mccree - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Says exactly what it needs to say. Sharp, direct and extremely powerful. It might be a shorter book than you like, but that takes nothing away from its potency - in fact, it tends to increase the effectiveness of the contents. This is a book you will be glad you bought!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant easy to read and to-the-point book., 30 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well thought out and well written book. I did however think he was a bit too 'nice'. Lots of good points, though he could have gone more deeply into the various matters, but he might then lose some of the readers. Hope lots of people read it, and it spurns them on to read many more of the same ilk. He fills the niche between the man on the street's beliefs and the scientist's understanding. Catch up with him on youtube as well.
Ann Pretorius, South Africa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Concise, clear, well informed and very persuasive, 15 Aug. 2013
A definite must read in my opinion for any non-believer (or believer for that matter). Harris does a fantastic job of getting so many persuasive and essential points across in such a clear and concise way. Perfect for anybody who perhaps doesn't want to indulge in a larger book such as 'The God Delusion' or 'God Is Not Great' to name only a couple. Can easily be read in one sitting (although doesn't have to be. However once you have read the first chapter I can't imagine you'll want to stop reading). After completing this book I imagine many people will be drawn to diving straight into the works of Dawkins, Hitchens, Mills and Stenger if you already haven't done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sam Harris socks it to the fundamentalists, 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The insanity of religious fundamentalism, and in particular the modern phenomenon of its manifestation in the world's wealthiest country, has no greater critic than Sam Harris. This short, eloquent book gives the reasonable mind plenty of ammunition with which to confront the religious fanatics. Those who remain rational have a duty to read it and fight on against the dark forces of religious fundamentalism in the west.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beware the fundamentalists from either side, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book highlights some things that I had not thought about...Bad things happen when good men do nothing. Are you rational..?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Case against religion, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I give this rating as it clearly explains what religion can do to innocent people . And that it has encouraged me to believe that we don't need religion to live our life's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should be taught in school, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant, brilliant book. Quite how anybody could continue to subscribe to organised religion after reading this is beyond me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tell it as it is, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cannot get enough of this type of book at the moment - Sam Harris, Dawkins, Hitchens, Dennett have all helped me on the way to thinking more critically about religion. This book is in response to letters he has received from christians and seems therefore to be mostly targeted towards them.

It is a short but worthwhile read. I particularly liked the way he seems to describe how christians and muslims view each other, and then compares those views with his own towards them both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Profoundly shocking!, 10 April 2013
This book must shock believers to their very core. Harris takes religious dogma, submits it to rational argument and eviscerates it. How any reasonable person with the slightest ability to hold open views could believe in theology after reading this book escapes me. It should be required reading in all schools - if necessary along with all of the religious malarkey which is taught to pupils, rendering the problem of religiosity more difficult to resolve in future years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 712 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Letter To A Christian Nation
Letter To A Christian Nation by Sam Harris (Hardcover - 12 Feb. 2007)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews