Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short. Sharp. Brilliant. Devastating.
It is sometimes said that the pen is the sharpest of weapons when used correctly. In no book I have read has this been more true. This book is a mere 90 very small pages, even slow readers will make it through in a couple of hours, and the arguments are completely devastating all the way through, I was an out-an-out atheist before reading it, and I've always been so, but...
Published on 2 Jun 2008 by Anders Øverby

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent polemic against the "Talibanization" of America
This short polemic delivers some powerful arguments against the harm that religion brings to society. It is well worth a read for those who are questioning their faith or those who want an introduction to the various arguments against religion and the harm that obscurantist ideologies bring to society.

Those who want a more in-depth argument should definitely...
Published on 27 July 2010 by G. Slade


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 411 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Direct and to the Point, 29 Nov 2006
By 
Steve Schuman "Steve S" (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Letter To A Christian Nation (Hardcover)
Sam Harris says what a lot of us have been thinking, but have been afraid to say in public. In this concise book, Harris directly attacks the very foundation of religious faith.

One might expect such a book to be either mean-spirited or intentionally provacative. Christian Nation is neither, although some will experience it that way. Harris sticks to the facts. He does not believe that religious faith, including but certainly not limited to Christianity, is good for people.

Harris is concerned with reducing human suffering and increasing human happiness. He agrees that many of the things that Jesus about love and kindness are indeed valuable and wise. He points out, however, that the bible contains much, much more than love and kindness. It contains cruelty, such as slavery, and pointless rules, such as the ban on graven images.

In the end, Harris argues, religious faith, or any belief that is not based on evidence and reason, does not make sense and will ultimately lead to unnecessary suffering.

No doubt, many good and loving people would be offended or hurt if they read this book. But that simply proves Harris' point. These people have been so blinded by faith that they cannot even consider the possibility they have been led astray. Hopefully, a good number of religious people will muster the courage to read the book anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Respond to the Emergency, 7 Sep 2007
By 
Mr Hollywood (Hollywood UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Letter To A Christian Nation (Hardcover)
This very short book contains all the important information regarding the irrationalism of religion and the dangers it presents to the world in the 21st century.

It is predominantly aimed at American Christians, but also serves as a useful resource for atheists like myself. The book is more of a summary than a thesis and is a perfect alternative to The God Delusion for the casual reader. Sam Harris' intellctual words are direct, consise, evidence-based and are delivered with ruthless assertion, which in this subject matter, is desperately required to get people's attention.

If you are religious, I dare you to read this book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight to the point, 28 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letter To A Christian Nation (Hardcover)
Though it's title gives away its intended audience the thrust of its arguments can apply to anyone who struggles with faith or who does not understand the atheist position. It is simple, to the point and tackles all the main arguments of theists head on to devastating effect. The fact that it is short probably makes it accessible to more readers, plus its language should not alienate most people. I loaned 'The God Delusion' to a friend who used to be a Jehovah's Witness and she found it bewildering, Hitchens too, has a powerful intellect but not everybody can relate to the examples he gives or the references he cites. This is where Sam's book comes in. I like the fact that the big hitters of the atheist movement come in such different shapes and sizes. There is more than enough room for this book on anyone's shelf - the more the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A warning that religions horrors are probably not at an end .., 17 April 2007
By 
J. Potter "johniebg" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letter To A Christian Nation (Hardcover)
Specifically aimed at Christians in America, but eye opening enough it should send a shiver down the spine of any cognitive human.

The large portion of this book looks at the insanity of worshipping gods and details the pointlessness of trying to live a modern life by religious doctrine written 2000 years ago.

During the main body the belief system of Islam is compared to that of Christianity - highlighting the faith systems of Islam that seem ridiculous to Christians and then pointing out that Christianity is built on the same tenuous vague arguments, that neither has a viable grip on the origins of man or of our emotions.

The interesting point that Sam Harris rams home with chilling finesse at the end is that America needs to face upto the flaws of Christianity, because the same points of manipulation are being used to motivate followers of Islam and Muslims 'really know how to believe'.

Pros - the cleverly brief description on the frailties of the bible and the contradictory messages within. Of evolution as simply the progression of a species from a simpler form to one more complex. And then the very effective and almost casual dismissal of intelligent design and creationism.

Cons - a very occasional over reliance on statistics that took me from the main point and weakened, for my mind, his argument. Specifically when making his point on all the worst things that happen in America happening in areas with religious/political affiliations. This may be correct but the method of argument detracted from this.

A short well written warning to mankind that is unlikely to be heeded. Worth the one or two hours it is likely to take in reading no matter your background or belief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably preaching to the converted, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always good to read anti religious arguments. Slightly more offensive to Islam than Christianity, which seems odd, given the potential of the material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sophisticated and Simplistic, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letter To A Christian Nation (Hardcover)
'Letter To A Christian Nation' is both intellectual in its content, and simplistic in its reading. This is a relatively short book; however, it manages to pack a punch and will prove to be a good investment to even the most intellectual of atheists. Whether you are buying it to open your mind, or simply to know your enemy, this book will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exit your Comfort Zone, 8 July 2012
By 
Lionel Beck (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We are, for the most part, Christians or Muslims or (name your Faith) purely through accident of birth and upbringing. It passes from generation to generation and so our "Faith" is something we grow up with and by adulthood it is so ingrained in our minds that to challenge some of our beliefs takes us right out of our comfort zone. That is what our Faith is .. a comfort zone.

Sam Harris - like Professor Richard Dawkins, and the late Christopher Hitchens - forces us to confront the weight of our faith-based beliefs with the weight of rational argument. Unlike Dawkins and Hitchens, though, he does it in a more straightforward and readable way. It is compelling reading, though disturbing because it is stretching our personal ties with blind adherence to Faith to breaking point. But, the crux of the matter is this: once you have gone through the trauma of the break it is strangely liberating.

The potency of Harris's book is the fact that it is addressed to probably the most pious (Christian) nation on the planet, i.e., the USA. In this respect it is an act of some bravery in a land where a large percentage of the population believe the literal truth of the Bible in every respect, from the Creation as described in Genesis, to the acceptability of killing people in defence of "God" with his blessing.

Read this excellent little book and start using the brain you were born with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost oppotunity, 14 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letter To A Christian Nation (Hardcover)
Written after "End of Faith", A letter to a christian nation is Harris's assault on Christianity,focusing on the christianity of the USA.

Its a short book and it is limited in its impact due to this, even Harris's mighty command of the written word cant land knock-out blows on all the aspects he tries to cover, for example, he spends 3 pages only on Stem Cell resarch. Rather than leaving the theist unconscious on the floor, they are left crawling around in a bloodied pulp, but with just enough life left in them to start reconstructing their defences.
Does that matter? Well yes it does, since Sam intended this letter to be read by christians and for it to slap some sense into them by application of logic. With double the amount of pages this would have been a rival to God is Not Great (Hitchens) or a targeted "End of Faith".
As it is it is like watching Mohammed Ali get into the ring against a paraplegic, throwing one punch and then jumping out, leaving them in the ring to claim victory.

Thouroghly reccommend getting it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short, but so is a 1" Punch to the Gut, 27 April 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letter To A Christian Nation (Hardcover)
I did not realise how quick a read this would be: I read the whole thing in an evening!
Harris' writing style relentlessly smashes misconceptions about atheism while at the same time exposing the great fallacies of organised religion. It is lean and intelligent, never apologetic, and always relevant. I can't attest to its effectiveness as a catalyst for critical thought in the mind of a religious person, but I imagine it would give them something to think about. I imagine that the main problem is getting a believer to read it in the first place, although due to its size it is far more accessible than the God Delusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a bolt of lightening from Zeus, 16 July 2007
By 
Darren A. Savage (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Letter To A Christian Nation (Hardcover)
This book is a brilliantly efficient and devastatingly clear and well argued essay aimed at those of a religious persuasion, for those open minded enough to read it, I'm sure they found it more that a little uncomfortable to be confronted with such elegant and hard hitting prose. Personally I think this is a wonderful articulation of many of the things those who's minds have not been tampered with by religion have thought instinctively for ages.

Go read it; and then read it again, it won't take you long, but I hope as with me, it makes you feel energised and inspired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 411 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Letter To A Christian Nation
Letter To A Christian Nation by Sam Harris (Hardcover - 12 Feb 2007)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews