Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a fascinating, though sometimes personal, account
I thoroughly enjoyed this well written and informative account of the life Margaret Thatcher. The author, Robin Harris, who worked in the Cabinet office until Thatcher's defenestration in 1990, and who remained close to her in her retirement, including by drafting her memoirs,has clearly attempted to give an unbiased view. He does not shy away from critism of Thatcher's...
Published 14 months ago by markr

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Inconsistent and insincere
This is a book that has three distinct and stylistically different parts, which have difficulty merging into one story. The first part covering early life simply re-hashes all the old "living over the grocery shop" clichés and brings absolutely nothing new to the subject. I expect it was simply a re-write of the draft Harris made for her auto-biography.
Then...
Published 9 months ago by Neil Carmichael


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for Turning. - Robin Harris, 6 Jun 2013
By 
Mrs. Oriel G. Bayliss (South Wales - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not for Turning: The Life of Margaret Thatcher (Hardcover)
An excellent book, well written, and very informative. I'm enjoying reading it, as I have always been a great fan of Margaret Thatcher, a woman of guts, determination and honesty, more than I can say for any other modern day politicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great view of a great lady. Not much new learned for well read devotees but the post Premiership part offers new insight although, alas, is poignant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not for Turning: The Life of Margaret Thatcher (Hardcover)
Bravo!
Great book! Robin Harris did a great job!It is useful to read a book written by someone who was close to the Prime Minister Mrs. MT. It is much clearer what was happening at the time. Excellent job! Written clearly and with a lot of details and therefore I recommend the book to all who are interested in British and world history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be interesting, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not for Turning: The Life of Margaret Thatcher (Hardcover)
Not quite sure when I will read this but recent death of Margaret Thatcher made me interested in finding out more about her and this book very well reviewed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a superb read by a man that was there., 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not for Turning: The Life of Margaret Thatcher (Hardcover)
The writer was always in close proximity to mrs Thatcher;therefore he saw it all.The book is a real page turner not a duff page in it.So glad ive read it; and; i would highly recommend it to all lovers of politics of any hue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Read., 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book, Robin Harris is writing from an advantageous position which he never exploits. I felt admiration for both the author and the star player Mrs Thatcher.
She was an amazing politician, Robin Harris writes with insight, understanding and respect.
I found the Margaret Thatcher years interesting and politically exciting, this book has answered some of my unasked questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A woman of Substance, 20 Sep 2013
REVIEW OF NOT FOR TURNING

So much has been written about Mrs Thatcher, by she herself and by many friends and foes, but I think a biography has much more authority written after, but not too long after, the demise of the person in question before events start to be remembered less clearly. The fat lady has sung and can no longer influence events, so the conclusions can now be analysed with honesty and clarity.

The author of this book was close enough to be a party to many aspects of her life, her background, the friends and enemies surrounding her and the way she structured her life for what she believed was the right thing to do. Her father was undoubtedly the most influential character in the foundation of her political drive. She was a woman of principle, with energy, intelligence, drive, courage and scrupulous integrity, all nurtured by her father. Her childhood had a lot of discipline, but not a lot of warmth.

This book shows how Margaret Thatcher transformed the British political landscape, indeed she had an enormous influence, not only at home, but on world affairs too. Without her the Trade Unions could well have still been holding the country to ransom and I doubt if anyone else would have had the courage to take our country to war to recover the Falklands, a very difficult decision for a mother sending other peoples sons and daughters into danger.

Great fun has been made of her and her handbag, but what effect they yielded when up against the entire force of the European countries and the monstrous conditions imposed on us in entering the community.. This author shows the chicanery she had to endure from her colleagues and the effects her victories had on her ego. She could be cruel and humiliate her supporters as well as her enemies. She was easier to admire than to like.

The Poll Tax was her downfall in the end and it was a shame that she had to be dragged kicking and screaming from No.10 which took some of the glitz off her dazzling career.
If you watched the TV documentary THE DOWNING STREET YEARS, this book fills in many gaps and makes absorbing reading.
376 words
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 24 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. Michael Thorne "mykultee" (Nookey, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not for Turning: The Life of Margaret Thatcher (Hardcover)
I will fill up the front end with words.Now I can say that I did like the book thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About Margaret Thacher life, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not for Turning: The Life of Margaret Thatcher (Hardcover)
About Margaret Thacher
I think it was a great read . She was a great lady. May she rest in peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars maggie thatcher book, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not for Turning: The Life of Margaret Thatcher (Hardcover)
well researched and gives a rounded view of the former prime minister,the auther was personnelly known to mrs thatcher and this comes across in this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Not for Turning: The Life of Margaret Thatcher
Not for Turning: The Life of Margaret Thatcher by Robin Harris (Hardcover - 25 April 2013)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews