Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A modern book of blessings
John O'Donohue's death earlier this year was a sad, sad loss.
Heard him at Greenbelt in 2007 and he was simply awesome.

If you've not read any of his books, then I would not advise you starting with this one. Start with Anam Cara, which in my view is his masterpiece.

This book of blessings will make much more sense after you've read Anam Cara...
Published on 30 April 2008 by Celtic Edgewalker

versus
7 of 61 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Left me cold
I was surprised to be bought this book by a member of my close family. They thought it a book for people who have faith in supernatural explanations and for those who do not. I am the latter and an atheist.

Religious believers may glean more useful "blessings" from the texts and prayers of their chosen faith.

Setting beliefs aside, I find the book...
Published on 26 April 2008 by T. J. Fairless


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Benedictus Blessings, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benedictus: A Book Of Blessings (Hardcover)
Perfectly meets my needs.
This book is exactly what I wanted.
I have seen the poems online and I wanted to have them at my fingertips.
This book gives me beautiful poems any time I want them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spiritual consolation for the non-religeous, 5 July 2010
This review is from: Benedictus: A Book Of Blessings (Hardcover)
Like many people disenchanted with organized religion, I miss the religous rituals that mark the major events in a person's life. Benedictus helps to satisfy this human need. Its poems cover many life situations and show a keen insight into the human heart. It is a good book to have by your bed if you need to be consoled about life's ups and downs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 26 Feb 2014
By 
A. Marshall (Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benedictus: A Book Of Blessings (Hardcover)
Exceptionally beautifully written and a blessing for every occasion you can think of. It is a very soulful book, thanks John.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift / did not disappoint, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benedictus: A Book Of Blessings (Hardcover)
Love the poetic , spiritual focus John O'Donohue shares with us as we unfold its pages it draws you in to a new focus on life. A great way to start the day / just a small passage lifts the spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful book, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benedictus: A Book Of Blessings (Hardcover)
Heart warming. Beautiful suggestions and ideas for many life matters. And written with such grace and wisdom. Wd make a great present for a special person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blessed by having this lovely book!, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benedictus: A Book Of Blessings (Hardcover)
There are some very beautiful Celtic blessings in this lovely, simple book. John O'Donohue writes with such feeling and depth. My favourite blessing from this book is: 'For Belonging'. It begins: May you listen to your longing to be free. May the frames of your belonging be generous enough for your dreams. May you arise each day with a voice of blessing whispering in your heart ..........

There are blessings in this book - for birthdays, anniversaries, deaths and many more. Some are long, some are short but all touch the heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benedictus: A Book Of Blessings (Hardcover)
An inspiring book.one you can dip into anytime. Given as presents to many people - all of whom love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Profound insights tangebly expressed. Supportive and enabling. Like the book itself no more needs to be said. Read it and you will see how influencial it can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Text most helpful, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benedictus: A Book Of Blessings (Hardcover)
This is subjective but i find some of the language of the blessings - not mine and hence not texts i could use comfortably. Some work for me, some don't. But the introductory text to each section is good - he brings a Celtic approach and understanding to life and the spiritual - for that alone it is worth having. I am sure his poetry would repay slow and thoughtful exploration. It compliments his other book Anam Cara.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended by a friend, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benedictus: A Book Of Blessings (Hardcover)
I already saw the book as a friend recommended it and immediately thought what a wonderful gift for my father - he absolutely loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Benedictus: A Book Of Blessings
Benedictus: A Book Of Blessings by John O'Donohue (Hardcover - 5 Nov 2007)
£12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews