Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars99
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 February 2010
Very helpful, with scientifically proven approach.
At the end of the book you will not remember the name or the face of the person who left you in a state of shock.
Simply just second to none.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2005
If there is anyone out there who is suffering from a broken heart read this book asap!!
My fiance of 4 years and I recently broke up and I was extremely upset and heartbroken - I truly just wanted to give up and felt it would be better to die. I spent most days in an awful state crying and desperately trying to make him get back together with me, I just could not accept that it was over...so I came across this book and it has been like a bible to me! I still miss my ex and am not totally over him yet but I no longer waste time crying about it and I know that I really am better off without him (thanks to this book!). It taught me some amazing exercises that really have changed the way I feel about my ex and my sister is now reading it after her husband left her for another woman. Just read it, I promise it will help - do not give up! You don't need any man to make you whole, you are perfect by yourself :) xxxx
22 comments|138 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2005
I never thought I was the type of girl who would resort to a self help book, but a late night minute of madness saw "How to mend your broken heart" land on my doorstep.I'm so grateful it did.If you're currently in the stage of crying to yourself alone with a bottle of wine or sobbing to your friends and family on the phone , then this will be a great help. It helps rationalise your feelings, and also proves that all the things your friends and family said are true. Nothing hurts like heartbreak, but with time it gets better, gradually. The visualisation exercises are great, and it reinforces the view that you're not going mad and there is a life out there without "them". Read it, you'll nod your head in recognition and shake your head that you're not the only one, and come out of it thinking "why did I waste so much time thinking about that ******!" Enjoy!
0Comment|81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
Heyy. I ordered this book for next day delivery because I was in so much pain I wanted to kill myself. When it arrived I put a whole day aside to reading it, and it's great. The CD is so relaxing and is so well recorded. It's too early to tell whether it's helped or not yet but all I know is it is relaxing and a very good hypnosis CD.

What is good as that as soon as you begin reading, I felt that someone understood how I felt, even the ridiculous and embarrassing parts like secretly not wanting to let go even if they've hurt you, and being devastated over someone you've only been with for a few months (he says it's because of how strong our feelings were and how much we'd mentally planned our futures with them, rather than the length of the relationship). So it made me see my most embarrassing feelings were normal. There are a lot of EXCellent exercises in this book. A lot of it is NLP and visualisation based. personally I am not good at visualising so I can't seem to get the reimagining the ex exercises to do much for me- however after doing the 'positive intention' exercise I realised that this is probably because part of me doesn't want to forget how he looks like (he's jaw-dropingly good looking), and that's okay, as long as I do the other exercises. I found three of them in particular were really relevant to me, and by going through them slowly and in depth the suicidal feeling has disappeared. I need to get some things sorted in my real life and finish the book and do the exercises few more times, plus listen to the CD some more times, before I can fully review the book, but for the moment I think it's been amazing.

I will update my review when I am done

**UPDATE 13.08.2013**
Hi! I worked with the book a bit more and wow!!! I didn't do or focus on all of it; certain chapters and exercises will be more relevant to you than others. For me, the Reframing perspectives and Positive intention exercises were particularly helpful and so I practised these a few times. I felt SO much better!! I started thinking about life with someone ohter than my ex because as much as I love him (I thought he was my soulmate and I literally have never, ever felt like that about anyone before) he has treated me appallingly and hurt me deeply. So I just think now, unless he does a 180 and changes his personality I don't want him anywhere near me, spoiling my future and potential future happiness. I am now excited to meet someone much better than him, and when that happens I will come back and update my review again!

I just want to say that although this book was great, I still had to have a single session with a therapist.However this wasn't because the book wasn't enough; it was because I personally don't really 'get' things by myself and learn much better via conversation with other people. The therapist said pretty much exactl the same as what was in Paul and Hugh's exercises and for me it was the final confirmation (hearing an impartial 3rd party saying it out-loud) I needed to feel better about what happened.

I was so impressed that I got his other book Change Your Lifein 7 Days and I'm working through that now..it's brilliant! Because of the "finding the positive intnetion" exercise in both these books I took the big decision to hire a life coach and I start working with her today because I realised the reason I couldn't move on was because my life needed a drastic makeover. I will update this review an my CYLI7D review later on after I've progressed more
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
When my partner left me it was a bolt out of the blue and I felt like my life had been blown into a million pieces. The pain was absolutely unbelievable and I really didn't think I would get through it. If you are feeling like this as well, then this book is for you. I bought it based on others' recommendations that I read here and it has literally brought me back from the brink. I can mend your broken heart is full of lots of practical advice and strategies which really do work. There is also a mind programming cd which I listened to several times a day at the beginning. My friends and family can't believe how I have improved in such a short time, and I put it all down to this book. I hope this review helps you and I know if you buy this book it will be a lifeline for you as well.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2008
After a 19 year relationship my partner tells me he wants to separate. For several weeks I was in a fog of misery, shock and I was terrified of a future without him. I was crying all the time, unable to sleep and having panic attacks - I had never experienced such a deep dark feeling. Reading this book gave me the first glimmer of light - listening to the CD gave me the first period of calm. It showed me that, although someone else had hurt me, it was I who was continuing to toture myself mentally, and that there are things I can do to break the cycle and recover from this awful event. It gave me a sense of empowerment, where I had felt so helpless. It is not a cure all, but I cannot recommend it highly enough - if you are broken hearted buy it! If you know someone whose heart has been broken - buy it for them!
0Comment|54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2011
If you are going through the pain of a break-up and considering purchasing this book I seriously urge you to do so. I've only had this book/CD for a couple of days and it has helped me so much already.

At the beginning of this week I wrote in my diary "I feel like somebody has died....I wish it was me." I can honestly say that I don't feel like that anymore. It does get better. This book really has helped me already.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2011
To anyone who has a broken heart - buy this book.
It will be the best money you ever spend.
I felt as if nothing could make me feel better. I was unbelievably wrong. This book helped me deal with negative thoughts, dwelling on the past and most importantly for me, improved my self confidence dramatically. I truly believe this is the reason I was able to move on so quickly with my life after a horrendous and painful break-up.
Family and friends commented on how my whole attitude to life had changed. I was happy, care-free, not stressed - and dealing with the split better than anyone could have imagined.
If you are considering buying this, please do.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 May 2007
The best advice from Paul McKenna. I particularly like his approach because of his non sexist stance. This book takes a step by step approach to the all encompassing feelings one has following a break up with someone you really thought you loved. I like his suggestions of minimising the person in question everytime you think about them. Practical advice as to how to handle possible hurtful scenarios all dealt with thoughtfully and sensibly.
0Comment|49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2008
Have this book on standby, because nothing is guaranteed.

I bought this book yesterday and can look forward to changing my destructive patterns, and achieving neutrality. I was the one who ended it, or at least was instrumental in doing so, but now the fog of misery is starting to lift. Listening to the CD has also given me a considerable boost and, for the first time in weeks, I feel calm.

It's full of exercises that help reprogramme the way you look at relationships, giving you the tools to move towards a happy, fulfilling relationship not just with the person of your dreams, but with yourself. Ultimately this is where healthy relationships start! And the next time you embark on a relationship, you'll feel wiser and happier for having all this knowledge, not jaded and cynical. You're worth it.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)