Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


110 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could not have coped without this book!!!
If there is anyone out there who is suffering from a broken heart read this book asap!!
My fiance of 4 years and I recently broke up and I was extremely upset and heartbroken - I truly just wanted to give up and felt it would be better to die. I spent most days in an awful state crying and desperately trying to make him get back together with me, I just could not...
Published on 14 Sep 2005 by Ms. C. I. Leggate

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't do much for me
I really didn't think much of this at all though I have been told by a few people how brilliant it was.
Many of the techniques can be found in other books by him.
It just didn't do anything for me. If you love his other books than you might well like this one.
If his NLP techniques don't work very well for you then I wouldn't recommend this.
Published on 6 Nov 2010 by The Emperor


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

110 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could not have coped without this book!!!, 14 Sep 2005
By 
Ms. C. I. Leggate "snoopy" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If there is anyone out there who is suffering from a broken heart read this book asap!!
My fiance of 4 years and I recently broke up and I was extremely upset and heartbroken - I truly just wanted to give up and felt it would be better to die. I spent most days in an awful state crying and desperately trying to make him get back together with me, I just could not accept that it was over...so I came across this book and it has been like a bible to me! I still miss my ex and am not totally over him yet but I no longer waste time crying about it and I know that I really am better off without him (thanks to this book!). It taught me some amazing exercises that really have changed the way I feel about my ex and my sister is now reading it after her husband left her for another woman. Just read it, I promise it will help - do not give up! You don't need any man to make you whole, you are perfect by yourself :) xxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It'll get better, trust me!, 6 Oct 2005
I never thought I was the type of girl who would resort to a self help book, but a late night minute of madness saw "How to mend your broken heart" land on my doorstep.I'm so grateful it did.If you're currently in the stage of crying to yourself alone with a bottle of wine or sobbing to your friends and family on the phone , then this will be a great help. It helps rationalise your feelings, and also proves that all the things your friends and family said are true. Nothing hurts like heartbreak, but with time it gets better, gradually. The visualisation exercises are great, and it reinforces the view that you're not going mad and there is a life out there without "them". Read it, you'll nod your head in recognition and shake your head that you're not the only one, and come out of it thinking "why did I waste so much time thinking about that ******!" Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He REALLY Can Mend Your Broken Heart, 26 Feb 2010
By 
Mrs. Erzsebet Herczeg (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Can Mend Your Broken Heart (Paperback)
Very helpful, with scientifically proven approach.
At the end of the book you will not remember the name or the face of the person who left you in a state of shock.
Simply just second to none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A light in the dark, 13 April 2008
This review is from: I Can Mend Your Broken Heart (Paperback)
After a 19 year relationship my partner tells me he wants to separate. For several weeks I was in a fog of misery, shock and I was terrified of a future without him. I was crying all the time, unable to sleep and having panic attacks - I had never experienced such a deep dark feeling. Reading this book gave me the first glimmer of light - listening to the CD gave me the first period of calm. It showed me that, although someone else had hurt me, it was I who was continuing to toture myself mentally, and that there are things I can do to break the cycle and recover from this awful event. It gave me a sense of empowerment, where I had felt so helpless. It is not a cure all, but I cannot recommend it highly enough - if you are broken hearted buy it! If you know someone whose heart has been broken - buy it for them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seems to work, 3 Feb 2012
By 
CL Perry "catpea33" (Sept-Iles, Québec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Can Mend Your Broken Heart (Paperback)
I felt a bit stupid buying this book, simply because I'm not really the sort of person to buy self-help books like this. I have having trouble getting over my ex, not helped by his blowing hot and cold attitude that would suck me right back in, and figured this book was cheap therapy if it worked and a cheap waste of money if it didn't.

First off, I was totally sick of thinking about my ex. I'd just made an international move (to his city and country) and had a lot on my plate with no job, a language barrier etc and didn't want the added stress of heartbreak or a meltdown on top of all this. I was ready to move on, so perhaps that helped a little. I started reading the book as soon as I got it and liked the writing style that had been used; informal and friendly. I also liked the explanations of what I was going through and why because it made me realise that I wasn't the only person feeling the way I was. I did the first few exercises that day, such as an exercise where you minimise the size of a mental photo of your ex and turn it to black and white, and then stopped reading so I could absorb what I'd already read. I found that after that, any time I thought of my ex he was minimised and black and white!

That night I tried the CD. I've never really been a hypnosis person and felt a little bit stupid while listening to it. I don't know if it worked. I listened to it a 2nd time after a day where my ex was in my thoughts more than I liked and the following day he was absent from them. Is that because of me or the CD? I don't know. I can't tell you what they say on the CD because I genuinely don't remember and with two people talking at once, it's sort of hard to follow the 'conversation' anyway.

So that was last month, this month I feel great: optimistic, confident, free.... I haven't used the CD or the book since then. Were they just both so good that I only needed them for that short time or was it me feeling ready and wanting to move on or a combination of both these factors? I don't know. If I ever break up with someone again (which I hope I don't), I'll be using both the book and CD - that tells me something. To me it doesn't matter how or why they work, it just matters that they seem to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book, 8 Feb 2013
By 
P. Donnelly "Peter" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Can Mend Your Broken Heart (Paperback)
I never write review for products but felt I had to for this book.

My first ever relationship ended, and I was distraught. I couldn't work, or focus or carry on with my life. I couldn't take any enjoyment from being with my family or going out with my friends anymore, everything in my life triggered memories of my ex and pulled me into feeling depressed for most of the day.
This book (if you want it to) breaks this cycle, and although I had been for counselling to help me get back on my feet, I needed to DO something and not just sit around talking about feelings. I knew all the answers already, my rational mind knew the relationship wasn't healthy and I was being used and abused but when your in love you don't listen to your rational mind. Through a series of helpful techniques this book 'reprograms' your thinking and makes life so much better.

I have no doubt this progress would have came in time without the book, and Paul states this also, but the tips and techniques he explains simply speed up the process.
Also, one of the main rules when getting over a breakup is 'zero contact' and I became more and more disheartened every time I read this online, or in articles - because I have to see my ex on a daily basis. This book helps you to see your ex, not as your ex anymore; but more importantly trains you to take control of your own emotions. No matter the terms on how it ended, it's over now and it's unfair to continue to let that person detrimentally affect your life.

A month or so later, I can pass my ex on the street without letting it ruin my day any more, and I am finding my old, sensible, clear thinking self again. I could not have managed without this book, heartbreak seems to be in the air at the moment and I have bought copies for friends and am making my counsellor read it also. I will also say that this book is for anyone, I am a young guy, and was dating a guy.. My first love. There is no judgement in this book, love is love and heartbreak is heartbreak, regardless of gender or sexual orientation.

Invaluable
Thank you Paul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read It and be healed!, 25 Feb 2009
This review is from: I Can Mend Your Broken Heart (Paperback)
He is SOOO good. I bought this book because I wanted to break up with some-one and didn't know how I would manage, but I knew I couldn't go on the way I was. It was not easy, but I started to practice all that Paul said and gradually my eyes opened, I saw things as they were, and I was excited and eager to move on. The methods DO work and you can be healed and move forwards and look back and laugh at the you that was so dependent on the person you want to forget. I was sceptical, I did think my situation was unique, I did think it would be impossible to get over him, but I was so wrong! You must read this and practice all the methods and you will break free!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won't put down this book, 4 July 2010
This review is from: I Can Mend Your Broken Heart (Paperback)
Hello Everyone,

I cannot help but sending in a review about this book also. Without going into to much detail I ended a relationship with my ex-boyfriend who had drinking issues. My life came crushing down around me and I did not know where to turn or who to turn too. I was going around confused, in a daze and a thousand more feelings - my life was not the same and no one could make my world any better because I lost who I wanted.

I happened to be doing a search on the internet to find a book that would be right, but there were so many of them so I decided not to buy a book at all. One day I was in Galway walking down the main shopping street and I decided to go into a book store and there was one copy left on the shelf of 'I Can Mend Your Broken Heart'. I bought this book not knowing what to expect and I must really say that Its helping me to get through this relationship breakup and make me realize that I can still live a happy life without my partner.

There is also a lovely CD included with the book that is absolutely amazing and it helps focus on your sub-conscious mind that is the cause of most of your negative and repetitive feelings during a break up. Its on for about 20 minutes and whilst listening to it I found myself really letting go of all my feelings as I cried heavy and hard as the lovely backround music completely stripped my emotions of all the anger, bitterness, loneliness and much more - but by the end of listening to the CD I was doing far better and It now has also helped me to move on.

Please if you need support in your life during a time of heartbreak you will find the pages of this book to be instrimental in helping you to get where you want, and fast! The authors of this book and CD be very proud of themselves for approaching such a touching subject with great ease and guidence. I took my time to send in this review because I now know just how hard a relationship breakup is and how much it can destroy YOU as a person for a time - but this book and DVD will help you along the way and again, fast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put the heartbreak behind you, 29 May 2007
By 
Sally Wilton "Sally" (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Can Mend Your Broken Heart (Paperback)
The best advice from Paul McKenna. I particularly like his approach because of his non sexist stance. This book takes a step by step approach to the all encompassing feelings one has following a break up with someone you really thought you loved. I like his suggestions of minimising the person in question everytime you think about them. Practical advice as to how to handle possible hurtful scenarios all dealt with thoughtfully and sensibly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I have ever read, 1 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Can Mend Your Broken Heart (Paperback)
If you are looking for this type of book, due to a break up or know of someone going through one, please please give it a go.
Even if you don't normally go for this type of book, or believe in it.

My ex was abusive for 10 years (starting with rape at 14) he eventually drove me to a breakdown and nearly suicide, thankfully I was put into the priory and saved, however the hurt only got worse, and then when my next relationship failed, i found myself at the self help section of my local book store, (being a trainee counsellor by that time)

Thankfully I chose this book, and not looked back since.
It will not make it "all go away over night", or "instantly better", but it is as dam close as you will get. It will help the pain fade and quickly.

I have recommended it a lot, always with the same out come, people extremely grateful and passing this gem of a book on to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Can Mend Your Broken Heart
I Can Mend Your Broken Heart by Hugh Willbourn (Paperback - 4 Dec 2006)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews