Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another fine addition to the saga of Pern
Dragon Harper is the third collaboration between Anne and Todd, and like the previous novels set in the Third Pass era of Pern's vast history. This story is very much a direct sequel to Dragon's Fire (although the epilogue in Dragon's Fire is in fact set several years into Dragon Harper), and tells the story of Kindan's apprentice years at the Harper Hall and of the...
Published on 8 Jan. 2008 by Mr. J. R. Hurst

versus
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I miss the old days
I have been reading the Pern stories for over a decade now and every time I read a new one I just feel more and more disapointed. Books like The White Dragon and Dragonsong are truely magical and I've read Moreta more than 10 times and it still makes me cry. It feels to me that these stories keep on coming just to keep the franchise going rather than to add anything new...
Published on 9 Mar. 2010 by E. McKiernan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not so good, 8 July 2009
I love the Pern series and have every book, this one however I did not keep to read again. Why? it was just too bleak and somehow the magic that transported me to pern just isn't there. I will just have to re read the ones I have. What a shame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 4 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always, a superb story from Anne McCaffrey - what an amazing writer. Can her son live up to this now?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dragons of Pern, 23 Jan. 2015
By 
K. Hutchinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great set of Books for anyone interested in Fantasy/Sci Fi, an old set with a very large following.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dragon Harper, 3 Jun. 2014
By 
Ms. Therese Gleeson "hells auntie" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dragon Books - I love them all. Why can't they be true. I want a dragon - or even a Fire lizard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars splendid, 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've had these books for many years - delighted to get them now on Kindle for a good re-read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She has a well deserved excellent reputation., 4 Nov. 2014
By 
Ronald Maxwell (Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Anne McCaffrey's Dragon series is a classic. She has a well deserved excellent reputation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The quality you get from the Pern books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not vintage but a good read., 19 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The whole Dragon world is getting tired and needs something new: this is a good read but it lacks originality and needed a little something extra - I'm not sure what!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Magnificent McCaffrey, 7 Sept. 2011
I have almost all of Anne McCaffrey's books. I read them over and over again. I met Anne at Dragonhold Under Hill in County Wicklow, Ireland. She made me a cup of tea and we sat and discussed her books. She showed me around her house which is full of gifts from readers, all in some way related to her books, especially the Dragon Series. She signed my copy of All the Weyrs of Pern. This book I have just read, Dragon Harper, had me gripped right from the beginning, not least because it reunited the reader with Kindan. I found the story absorbing, tragic and yet inspiring. I spent at least half of the book crying !!!!! Anne and Todd have a very special writing relationship and I hope they continue for many more years. You keep writing and I'll keep reading. A dradon rider's word on it !!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very enjoyable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragon Harper (Dragonriders of Pern): 01
Dragon Harper (Dragonriders of Pern): 01 by Todd McCaffrey (Hardcover - 1 Jan. 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews