Customer Reviews


1,443 Reviews
5 star:
 (545)
4 star:
 (255)
3 star:
 (221)
2 star:
 (191)
1 star:
 (231)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pretty mind blowing read!
Follows the same thriller formula as his other books which Hitchock devised 50 years ago - a 24 hours chase with the protagonist (with girl) pursued by both the cops and the baddies while they follow a trail of clues in an attempt to solve all the puzzles before an imminent deadline that threatens with catastophy. There is also the obligatory completely mad bad guy...
Published on 18 Aug. 2010 by Dedonno Jason Enzo

versus
26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a bit of a drag
back when I worked in a bar I had one customer who loved to hear his own voice. Out of politeness I would stand or sit and listen to him drone on about things he knew of. He'd go on for hours on end. Sometimes he'd come up with a gem of a saying or some vital bit of gossip, but aside from that it was painful having to listen to him.

Reading this book felt just...
Published on 25 Feb. 2013 by C. Winterburn


‹ Previous | 1122 123 124145 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sloppy and too Easy, 8 Nov. 2009
By 
A. M. Kenny "bingocheater" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon) (Hardcover)
This is just a pastiche of his last 2 books. very sloppy and the plot twists are SOOOOO obvious.

Beach read, wait you can get a copy from a charity shop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The King is in the altogether ..., 3 Oct. 2009
By 
Shane Culleton "culleton" (Kanazawa-shi, Ishikawa-ken, Japan.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon) (Hardcover)
I really disliked this text. I've never been to Washington D.C., and I've no real interest in going there either. This book, however, is what I am concerned with. It's essentially unbelievable, poorly written and expressed, and with far too many assumptions made of the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a damm good yarn - fast paced and entertaining, 8 Oct. 2009
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon) (Hardcover)
The Lost Symbol was bound to cause controversy: there were - depending on one's view of Dan Brown's writing - either 5 star reviews or 1 star reviews on amazon even before the book was published and anybody had a chance to read it. Quite amazing I reckon.

Dan Brown has created with his kind of writing a whole new genre. Ever book in this field published after the Da Vinci Code seems to measure itself with regards to the Da Vinci Code (usual line is "even better tha the Da Vinci Code). Dan Brown keeps his style: short chapters, different angels from present and past, few main characters following the same story and a ladng up to final show down. The background again similar to his previous writing: this time it is not about oen religion being based on something fake, but rather about all organized religions. There are some great line on this, but it is not totally convincing as lots is based on the bible. Well, we all know how the bible texts were complied and edited. But -as with the Da Vinci Code - this is a novel and it is about entertainment not message passing.

So, is this book entertaining and a great crime story: yes it is! I was not bored one second and got through it in no time.It is a again a fast paced thriller and one can smile too. I just like it.

As the style and method was not as "new" as the previous books by the author I would rate it only with 4 stars, but still it is damm good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 9 Nov. 2010
Absolutely amazing book, totally addictive and on a par with Da Vinci Code. I could not put this book down for four days. Totally recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner, 9 Oct. 2009
By 
Helena Silver "Jammy Dodger" (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon) (Hardcover)
OK, maybe Dan Brown's novels aren't great literature, but this was one of my more enjoyable guilty pleasures. To be honest I can hardly wait to get home from work or to have a bout of insomnia so I can get back into it - yes a real page turner! Yes, the characterisations are undeveloped, yes it's similar to the other 2 Robert Langdon novels, but somehow it doesn't matter. Perhaps it's because I wasn't expecting much in the first place?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Symbol, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dan Brown never disappoints with his books and this one really gets the grey matter working well. Looking forward to starting the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 5 Nov. 2010
This review is from: The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon) (Hardcover)
This is a typical Dan Brown book, starts good and has an excellent finish, very hard to put down, so good I have read it three times so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise!, 1 Oct. 2009
This review is from: The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon) (Hardcover)
I'm not a huge fan of Dan Brown, but I must say that The Lost Symbol is pretty good! Brown's writing is much more polished, and Langdon came over as a more interesting and likeable character. Fast-paced, with a few good twists, and some interesting historical information. A good book for a rainy day.

I'm amazed at the number of readers who've attacked this novel without having bothered to read it. Get a life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MICHAELS, 30 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THIS IS A BRILLANT BOOK IT WOULD MAKE A GOOD FILM, JUST LIKE "ANGELS AND DEMONS" AND "THE DA VINCI CODE". JUST COULD NOT PUT THE BOOK DOWN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 4 Dec. 2012
By 
L. Mcseveney (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon) (Hardcover)
Fantastic book, so so gripping and an incredible storyline, took me no time to read as I couldn't put it down, would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1122 123 124145 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon)
The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon) by Dan Brown (Hardcover - 15 Sept. 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews