Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun read!
Well forget the other reviews I loved it. It was fast, fun and I never lost the plot ( although my wife thinks I do sometimes....but that's another story!!) I love biotech/virus type novels and throw in a little political intrigue and we have all the ingredients for a great read. Go on buy and enjoy!!
Trev in Bristol
Published on 1 Jan. 2003 by RT Twinem

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the Cordy of old, but a good effort.
Michael Cordy, together with John Case, is a clear cut above the rest with his knowledgeable and fast-moving biotech thrillers.
Whilst not on a par with the brilliant Miracle Strain, Crime Zero is perhaps actually a more realistic look at the uses and abuses of bioengineering in the near future (or perhaps even today). The plot to is centred around the 'need' to...
Published on 15 Aug. 2000 by chrishyams


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun read!, 1 Jan. 2003
By 
RT Twinem "freeloader" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crime Zero (Paperback)
Well forget the other reviews I loved it. It was fast, fun and I never lost the plot ( although my wife thinks I do sometimes....but that's another story!!) I love biotech/virus type novels and throw in a little political intrigue and we have all the ingredients for a great read. Go on buy and enjoy!!
Trev in Bristol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the Cordy of old, but a good effort., 15 Aug. 2000
This review is from: Crime Zero (Paperback)
Michael Cordy, together with John Case, is a clear cut above the rest with his knowledgeable and fast-moving biotech thrillers.
Whilst not on a par with the brilliant Miracle Strain, Crime Zero is perhaps actually a more realistic look at the uses and abuses of bioengineering in the near future (or perhaps even today). The plot to is centred around the 'need' to finally end crime and war by negating male-based violence through globally eliminating an entire generation of males to be replaced by a male population that will become gentically pacified. Of course, bioethics don't really enter the equation as the world will be a much better place once the programme is complete. Thus, billions of innocents who will probably never commit a crime or violent act are therefore in imminent danger of extinction as the programme quickly progresses, and human males will have been artificially 'evolved'.
However, the execution of the plot is ocassionally plodding and the characterisation is somewhat limited (it does not quite have the soul or the breakneck storyline of The Miracle Strain). Furthermore, the finale looks rushed and could have been a little more thought-out.
Nevertheless, this is a certainly a good book for taking on vacation and is still well-worth a read, as the basic plot is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very good book but not good enough to get a 5 star., 3 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Crime Zero (Paperback)
One of the things i liked about this book is the sheer depth of the technical as well as scientific detail included in the book. This is only rivalled by "Dragonstrike" by Simon Holberton & Humphrey Hawksley.
Another good thing is the way Michael Cordy creates the atmosphere, most notably in the bit where Luke Decker discovers the chamber of horrors of Karl Axelman. I'm not ashamed to say that this is the only moment ever in my life when i can feel chill running through my skin while reading a book. If the author can keep up this sort of atmosphere and vivid writings in his future novels then i am happy to look forward to buying them.
However, the reason i did not give this book 5 crowns is simple, the lack of depth on the main characters of the book. I have to say that Michael Corday fails badly when it comes to creating vivid characters. The female villains were absolutely shallow, the FBI director were not scary or evil at all, the head of ViroVector was very timid and in my opinion is less evil than Decker. Also there were absolutely no chemistry between Luke and Kathy and any portrayal of love and affection between the two are absolutely pathetic and not believable.
Another unfortunate problem suffered by Crime Zero is the inevitable comparison with Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six when it comes to plot. The basic plot is killing off the whole male population of Earth, similar to the killing of EVERYONE in Rainbow Six.
Nevertheless, i am prepared to accept this as lack of experience in novel writing and i am sure that Michael Cordy's future novels will be of much higher quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What If ?, 11 Aug. 2004
This review is from: Crime Zero (Paperback)
First book I've read by this author, and bought on the recommendation of Amazon. This will certainly not be my last book by Michael Cordy.
Inspite of the scientific nature of the story, this was an extremely easy read, and the technical data was easy to understand. Crime Zero features a number of very strong characters, and the plot is certainly not without the odd twist or two along the way.
At the end, my over riding thought still remained "What If" it were really to happen, and is it really beyond the realms of possibility ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars engrossing thriller, 20 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Crime Zero (Paperback)
For those who have already read books by this author, this novel is again of high standard. Although bordering on futeristic it is not outside the bounds of belief, and makes for very compelling reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Unreal, unlikely and unoriginal, 16 Sept. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Crime Zero (Paperback)
when i first read the outline of the book i was impressed, this sounded like the perfect book for me. however as i read the book i realised just how close the idea was to that of tom clancy's Rainbow Six but this was much worse. i could not empatise with the villans and felt no loyalty to the heroes. This is an empty book in trumped up packaging. Only read this book if you enjoy female violence and facism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy successor to The Miracle Strain., 17 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Crime Zero (Paperback)
Cordy produced one of the greatest genetic thrillers of all time with his debut and has managed to equal those lofty heights with his follow up novel.
Crime Zero is compellingly readable and an all too possible glimpse into life after the human genome project. If you like intelligent, thought provoking fiction then this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 1 star is generous, 9 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Crime Zero (Paperback)
I have now been caught twice by Michael Cordy's books. I felt really stupid this time....
It is poorly narrated, poorly written and contains virtually no character development. In both cases I picked up the book, read the cover, liked the basic premise and then once started, I wanted to throw it away after 20 pages.
I will not be caught again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good easy read, 26 April 2001
This review is from: Crime Zero (Paperback)
Okay, so this book is not some literary classic but it's not meant to be. It is a good and easy read which is ideal for the train or beach. So the characters aren't as developed as some would like but who cares, let your mind relax and simply enjoy a good story. If it's classics your after go and buy Dickens or Bronte !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the book that puts you on the edge of your seat!, 14 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Crime Zero (Paperback)
this was so easy to into, within the first couple of pages it had you wanting to know more. As a person who doesn't read that much I really enjoyed the whole book. Its a defnate must for all those Crime thriller readers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crime Zero
Crime Zero by Michael Cordy (Paperback - 2 Sept. 1999)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews