Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Dec 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Cold War: For 45 Years the World Held Its Breath (Hardcover)
If I could read this book in one sitting I would have. It presents both sides of the war realistically and the pace of the book keeps you interested. Bits of the first world war, second world war, korean war, vietnam, etc this book has it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very readable, fascinating mixture of pictures and text., 3 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Cold War: For 45 Years the World Held Its Breath (Hardcover)
Having often wanted to know more about those crucial recent world events that made up the cold war, this book tells you all you need to know without going into painful laborious detail. The pictures and writing style are all excellent. I found I wanted to read it in one go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book..wish the documentary was available., 22 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. D. Nicol (Ayr, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cold War: For 45 Years the World Held Its Breath (Hardcover)
This is a great book filled with lots of detail on a vital period in history. It's just a shame that the documentary itself has not been released on DVD. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant and complete review of the Cold War, 25 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Cold War: For 45 Years the World Held Its Breath (Hardcover)
This book is a perfect reference book giving insights into all aspects of the cold war. The structure is clear and simple, with chapters covering each of the important episodes of the time between the end of WWII and the fall of the Soviet Union, illustrated by the matching historic pictures. Some details may have been forgotten though, but the author has truely earned my 4-star rating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great introduction to cold war period, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold War: For 45 Years the World Held Its Breath (Hardcover)
This book very efficiently gives introduction in 45 years of cold war from begginings (divided Germany) to collapse of Soviet Union in early nineties.It also shows how the peoples from eastern Europes (Czech,Polish etc..) suffered under the communist regime during this period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource book!, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold War: For 45 Years the World Held Its Breath (Hardcover)
I bought this on the advice of my teacher as i am doing The Cold War at A-level. It is the companion book to a documentary series we watch as wider reading (well watching in this case) for our course. It is an interesting and informative look at the cold war even for those who aren't being examined on the period!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction, 13 April 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (PLYMOUTH, DEVON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cold War: For 45 Years the World Held Its Breath (Hardcover)
Obviously this book has to cover global history from the end of WWII to the present so it can only give readers a brief overview of the key events, so I don't know what previous reviewers expected! The text is easily readable and informative and not academic and the pictures enhance the text. If we are to learn anything, it is not to accept blindly what politicians tell us. This was a war, not always fought with guns and bombs, but a war all the same and every dirty trick was used by both sides. The main losers were small nations seeking independence who ended up throwing off one colonial master only to have that replaced by debt to a superpower. I recommend this book as an excellent introduction to students. Other good reads are "Body of Secrets" by James Bamford about the NSA, "Legacy of Ashes" by Tim Weiner about the CIA, and "People's Century" by Godfrey Hodgson another television series book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Cold War is Over, 9 Oct 2009
This review is from: Cold War: For 45 Years the World Held Its Breath (Hardcover)
This book accompanied a splendid 24-part TV series of the same name.

From it's striking mushroom cloud cover image to the two simple words 'Cold' and 'War' you know you're in for an eye-opening treat of a read, especially when the sub-title reads 'For 45 years the world held it's breath...'

I held my breath in places whilst reading this book.

Many books may have been written about the 45 year (Cold War) period spanning the end of WW2 and the fall of the Berlin Wall and dissolution of the USSR, but for me, this is arguably the best and by far the easiest to read... it is a true page turner in every sense.

This book gives a superb insight into all of the major incidents during the period known as the 'Cold War' and far from being cold, it was frighteningly 'hot' on more than a few occasions. To read this book, you actually begin to wonder how on earth we managed to avoid actual nuclear war during some of the more darker days of this period of history, and it's a chilling reminder to us all of the threat still posed by nuclear weapons. People should know more about this period of our history, and this is the perfect book for those people that are curious about not only the 'Cold War' but with an interest in contemporary history.

The Iron Curtain, The Marshall Plan, Korea, The Berlin Wall, Cuba, Vietnam, Uprisings, etc, etc. It's all here and it's positively chilling in places (is that why it was known as the 'Cold War', because it was 'chilling'?). Sorry, I digress... This book is a must-read book. Yes, the USA and USSR were the major protagonists, but almost every nation in the world was affected in some way, as were all who lived through those years.

It is wonderfully illustrated and expertly written. Not only does this book cover every aspect of the Cold War but also includes sections on Cold War Films and Literature.

Don't expect a successor to this book...
This book is the Final Word on the Cold War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cold War Overview, 23 July 2006
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cold War: For 45 Years the World Held Its Breath (Hardcover)
This is a brilliant look at the cold war period and the events that lead up to it. It is comprehensive enough without becoming too dry to plough through and I found it engaging throughout. The illustrations are well produced and the chapters are full of detail. Well recommended if you are interested in learning more about this period of history.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cold War, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold War: For 45 Years the World Held Its Breath (Hardcover)
Very interesting read, would recommend for any history enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cold War: For 45 Years the World Held Its Breath
Cold War: For 45 Years the World Held Its Breath by Taylor Downing (Hardcover - 3 Sep 1998)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews