Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Secret Societies, Occult Religious Beliefs, New Theories
Picknett and Clive make bold assertions about "secret" revelations they researched regarding religion and the 'occult' knowledge and practices of the Knights Templar, Freemasons, and Cathars. These groups are presumed to have based their beliefs and religious practices to the time of Solomon and the ancient religion of Egypt, Osiris and Isis. While it is not a scholarly...
Published on 23 Aug 2004 by Erika Borsos

versus
32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Tour of the Occult Underground Through the Ages
The Priory of Sion, Rennes-le-Chateau, Freemasons, Rosicrucians, Cathars, Isis, Black Madonnas, John the Baptist, Mary Magdalene, Hermes Trismegistus ... and much more are examined in The Templar Revelation.
If it sounds like the book is unfocused, that is likely to be your impression while reading it, at least for quite a few pages. There is a thread linking all...
Published on 12 Oct 2003 by Rick Darby


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Templar Revelation, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar Revelation: Secret Guardians of the True Identity of Christ (Hardcover)
I enjoy expose history and finding out what the "Church" has had hidden, and probably still hides today. I thought that Napoleon had removed all the literature from the Vatican when he was in Italy but it would seem not (more research needed by me). If the Church had not been invented we might have stepped on the moon by 1750. This book covers the influence of Mary Magdalene and John the Baptist on the people of Langdouc in what is now southern France. Cathars and their troubles with Philip the Fair (haired) who hounded them and destroyed the Templars one Friday the thirteenth. The book suggests that Joshua Ben Joseph came out of Egypt and was a follower of the baptist until he formed his own breakaway movement, stealing some of John's disciples and possibly using his acolyte Salome to remove the opposition. Jesus (his Greek name) wanted to reintroduce the female god to the Jewish religion using Isis and Osiris as the basis of his teachings. The book also shows how the Gospels borrowed from John's teachings and attributed them to Jesus, even the Nativity story was stolen to make JC fit the bill. I enjoyed the authors interpretations and the book read smoothly, a few repetitions but overall I liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This book is not about the Knights Templar as Secret Guardians, 16 April 2013
By 
John H (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This book is more about the origins of Christianity, or more specifically, who 3 of the main biblical "Christian" figures we know today really were (plus others) and the Gnostic Gospels, rather than a book about the Knights Templar being secret guardians of anything or anyone. Most of the book is an investigation in to who Jesus, Mary Magdelene and John the Baptist really were and what they were really teaching, and how, and mysteries behind them such as the Black Madonna, Rennes Le Chateau and more. The authors document their findings and research very well, but it is a challenging read at best because of the sea of hyphens and supportive information very frequently found in parentisis which breaks up already scattered ideas thus causing a lot of back tracking. There is one chapter mostly devoted to the Templars which was very interesting, and they're mentioned here and there throughout the book. If you're a Templar fanatic/researcher...this book is ok, but dont expect to learn a lot. You may get a little out of it, but dont hope for a lot, if any, "ah-ha" moments. It's an ok book, but the title is very misleading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the templar revelation, 25 Feb 2013
By 
Rebecca Woodley "r s woodley" (somerset uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
thank you amazon! you came thru with flying colours once again! my new book arrived on thursday, well inside the time frame of the date you said it would arrive! the book arrived in perfect condition, and so did the package! well done amazon team :-) ive only had this book 3days, have lots too read with it, will let you know how i feel about it, once i have read it all....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A heavy, but interesting work., 26 Nov 2012
By 
Robert Howard "Potty Bob" (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is based on a lot of supposition which you can believe or not. Their research has been excellent. The problem I have with it is not the subject matter at all, in fact a good deal of it only confirms a lot of my beliefs, I find that the regular occurence of refering back to a point, or stating that a point will be discussed later takes a little out of it and sometimes the whole point is devalued.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Make up your own Mind, 18 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. Alasdair B. Gordon (Scotland (UK)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This edition is a 2007 update of the original edition of 1997 and takes account of comments and subsequent findings. The book is controversial as it addresses the question of who Jesus really was. Was he the true Messiah or was John the Baptist intended to be the chosen Christ? Whilst the authors have not convinced me with all of their arguments, their book is well sourced and researched and more than worth reading. The book takes its readers through Templars, Cathars and other esoteric groups. This is certainly a fertile area for conspiracy theories. I am glad to have read this book. It is certainly thought provoking. Make of its conclusions what you will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Templar Revelation, 31 Jan 2010
By 
C. Hart (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well and authoritatively written, this book sits well with all the others that I have on this topic. A relatively easy read but the attention to detail is excellent. It also continues to pose many questions which will probably never be answered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Truth Is Strictly Personal!, 23 Oct 2000
By 
john chadwick (Middlesbrough, Cleveland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I bought my copy at the Rosslyn Temple, which suggests that there is either some truth in all this or that someones making a lot of money out of it all.
I've never been to keen on the authors presumption that because Leonardo Da Vinci was an incredibly intelligent man from the past that he therefore is responsible for everything Rosicrucian even the Turin Shroud. I personally prefer the Knight and Lomas theory.
What can I say, it's still good fun and keeps the spirit of the Templar myth alive but always be aware that truth is a personal thing, its not hard to convince someone of your "Truth" if there's enough historical references present. Still this is more convincing than anything by David Icke, but then so was Dr Seuss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting facts.....can't agree with the conclusions, 15 Aug 2001
At first I found this book to be very gripping. Unfortunately, the more I read the more difficult I found the book. The book highlights some very interesting facts about several things including occult societies in europe and practices of the church in absorbing pagan ideas and utterly destroying other interpretations of christianity where possible. However, all to often I felt conclusions where drawn on evidence which I felt was shaky at times. These conclusions where then the basis for other conclusions to follow.
I happen to believe that the early christian church was very (very) different to the church that exists nowadays, right down to fundemental beliefs. But I could not agree with conclusions drawn about Jesus, and John the Babtist (peace be upon them) and thier followers.
Final word: very interesting read. Take it with a pinch of salt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stop browsing - this is the book you are looking for!, 17 May 2001
By A Customer
As with (it seems) all the other reviewers here, I can't sing this book's praises highly enough. The only problem with it is the anger you will feel at the end, having your eyes opened to the fact that so much evidence that contradicts the foundations of the Christian faith has been in the public domain for so long - yet has been systematically ignored, supressed or belittled by the Church 'leaders'. Every Christian leader should be sent a copy and asked for comment - the points raised here really do merit public discussion. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Areal page turner of a book., 7 Sep 2000
By 
rtmp (Liverpool England) - See all my reviews
An enthralling read. This is a well researched book which should open the eyes of anyone with a passing interest in Christianity and its origins. The comparison of the story of Christ to that of Osiris left me shocked. I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Templar Revelation: Secret Guardians of the True Identity of Christ
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews