Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top of the bill
Harry Barnett must be one of the least likely heroes I've encountered ever. Although he has failed in all he's ever tried his hand at before, when his friend Heather disappears he sets out to find her with the persistence of a pit-bull. But his search leads him to some very unexpected places.

This is the fifth book I've read by Robert Goddard, and until now he...
Published on 12 Nov 2006 by Didier

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Into the Blue by Robert Goddard
Not overly impressed with this book, very well written but the story too complex and more than little unbelievable, good idea but the characters do not gel for me.
Published 18 months ago by Mrs.C.M.Nurse


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top of the bill, 12 Nov 2006
By 
Didier (Ghent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Harry Barnett must be one of the least likely heroes I've encountered ever. Although he has failed in all he's ever tried his hand at before, when his friend Heather disappears he sets out to find her with the persistence of a pit-bull. But his search leads him to some very unexpected places.

This is the fifth book I've read by Robert Goddard, and until now he hasn't let me down a single time. Each and every time upon finishing one of his books I say to myself 'surely the next can't be as good', but I'm happy to say Goddard has proven me wrong again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of Robert Goddard's best, 16 Sep 2007
By 
HORAK (Zug, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Harry Barnett lives the life of an Englishman on holiday on the Greek island of Rhodes where he is the care taker of the Villa ton Navarkhon belonging to his powerful friend Alan Dysart. He lives peacefully in the shadow of a past disgrace until Heather Mallender, a guest at the villa, disappears on a walking tour on Profitis Ilias. Harry becomes the number one suspect. While a Greek detective tries to catch him, and the British newspapers accuse him of murder, Harry's conscience is his worst enemy of all. What happened to young, beautiful Heather Mallender? Who took her-and why didn't Harry realize that something was amiss?
Suddenly Harry, a man steeped in failure, finds a purpose: retracing the strange, twisting route that led to Heather's vanishing. But the more he learns, the less he knows. Until Harry finds himself at the heart of a dangerous puzzle whose pieces are scattered everywhere: in the realm of British politics, in the beds of adulterous lovers, in the past, the present, and most of all, amid the secrets of an unsuspected killer....
A nicely designed plot with plenty of twists and turns and a sympathetic protagonist are the strengths of one of Mr Goddard's most entertaining adventure stories.
Paul Shelley reads "Into The Blue" for BBC Audiobooks. A very good performance indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant -one of his best, 14 April 2010
Great book. The usual twists and turns and false leads and the relentless "hook" that Goddard achieves with his books- you find yourself grabbing a couple of paragraphs whilst the kettle boils. Another highly readable intellectual thriller, beautifully written with memorable characters superbly drawn.
DON'T BE TEMPTED TO BUY THE VHS TAPE OF THE TV VERSION-(JOHN THAW)IT IS A MUTILATED AND HIGHLY DISTORTED VERSION OF THE BOOK. IT EVEN HAD A DIFFERENT MURDERER AND REASON FOR THE MURDERS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Into the blue., 5 Feb 2009
By 
jj Harding (Oxford , UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fantastic book , couldnt put it down. This was the first book from Robert Goddard that i read. Probably about the best one i've read so far , as it's inspired me on, to read alot more Robert Goddard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought it for mum....who liked it lots, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Blue (Paperback)
Mum normally reads John Grisham but loved Steig Larsson when she gave his books a go. Tried Jo Nesbo but was disappointed so I randomly chose Robert Goddard as a writer of a similar genre and mum devoured both this book and Blood Count in a few days. Mum would recommed it but she doesn't do t'internet, so I am recommending it having bought it for her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Among Goddard's best...from his classic period., 5 Aug 2011
This review is from: Into the Blue (Hardcover)
Many avid readers of Robert Goddard would agree that his early books are his best.The author's writing style, prose and imagination has always set him above many of his contempories.Also the fact that his novels are difficult to pigeon hole into a particular style.In bookshops his novels can be found under 'fiction' in one store and 'crime' in another.

Robert Goddard had written three first rate thriller/mysteries before 'Into the Blue'. Leaving the historical fiction to one side for this book he concentrated on writing about a very mundane 'loser' in life ....Harry Barnett, and in so doing wrote one of his finest and most suspensefull mysteries.

This is an excellent book that keeps the reader guessing all the way, with plenty of twists and turns involving past deceipts,high politics and low skullduggery.

Goddard created perhaps his most remembered protaganist in Barnett, a popular character with readers who would return in two unconnected and (in my opinion) lesser novels.

Published in 1990,this novel remains the only Goddard book to have been filmed,and although the late John Thaw made a good job of playing Barnett, the whole story was much changed and is not a good reworking of what is an excellent thriller. This left the author dissapointed and unhappy and perhaps very choosy about what may be done with his work in the future. This is a pity because if done properly there could be some excellent adaptations of novels such as 'In Pale Battalions' and 'Take no Farewell' as well as his more contemporary stories like 'Play to the End' and 'Sight Unseen'....( a sequel to this would be good......)

Harry Barnett a middle aged failed businessman is living on the island of Rhodes, caretaking a villa for an old friend, an upcoming star politician in the Thatcher government.(it is 1988).
Harry befriends a young English woman(Heather Mallender) who disappears 'into the blue' whilst on a visit to the mountain, Profitas Ilias. No body is found but Harry is arrested and suspected of foul play. When he is released (with the help of Alan Dysart,Tory junior Defence Minister)he collects Heather's photos and begins to piece together her past in an effort to unravel the mystery of her disappearence and to clear his name of any criminal involvement. The deeper Harry digs, the more dangerous and obsessive his quest becomes.......and there I leave it for it is for you, the next reader to figure out the mystery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm, 23 Mar 2013
By 
Ms. J. Walsh (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Blue (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed the story, but didn't like the 'hero' of the story which rather spoiled it for me. I was totally unsympathetic to his cause. Shame, 'cos everyone else in the book was acceptable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 4 Mar 2013
This review is from: Into the Blue (Kindle Edition)
This was a very good read I realy enjoyed it. I am hooked now and I'm going to read all his books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blue yonder, 1 Jan 2013
By 
Steven Greatwood (Leicester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Blue (Paperback)
This was the first Robert Goddard book that I read and it hooked me into all his work. This is because I had been to Greece after reading it and went to the places he describes. What Robert does is fully research all places he describes and must have gone to them. This is carefully layed out and gathers pace as you progress into the tale. What's more it is truly believable that the events actually happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A SEARCH FOR THE TRUTH, 6 Dec 2012
By 
Red Rock Bookworm (St. George Utah USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Into the Blue (Paperback)
Goddard does it again! In this novel we meet Harry Barnett, a fiftish failure with a past. Harry's life is immersed in disappointment; its only positive aspect being Harrys unlikely friendship with Alan Dysart, an Undersecretary of State at the Ministry of Defense. While house sitting at Alan's villa in Greece, Harry is drawn into a perplexing and bizarre puzzle involving the disappearance of a beautiful, young houseguest.

These are only two of the several plot threads that textures this story and weaves it into compelling whole cloth. Goddard's writing invites you to walk in Harrys shoes as he attempts to utilize the one clue in his possession to solve a mystery whose pieces are scattered from Greece to England to Switzerland.

You may think you have the solution.....but don't be too sure!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Into the Blue
Into the Blue by Robert Goddard (Hardcover - 24 May 1990)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews