Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars25
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 February 2005
The books in the Horrible Histories series are fantastic, because they are written to entertain children from 9-13, and are full of facts, cartoons, lists, pictures and quizzes. This book, The Blitzed Brits, covers evacuation, gas masks, bombing, rationing, and dozens of true stories about children during the Second World War.
As a teacher, I think it is brilliant because it makes the children want to read and find out more about the topic we are covering, it can be dipped into and the children are learning while having fun.
Highly recommended.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2001
The Blitzed Brits is a fantastic read which uses a informal way of teaching history to young children (13-16). The book includes humerous stories based on real life events and quizes at the end of each chapter to see what you learnt, or just for fun.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2007
Can you imagine life without television, road signs and bananas?

Or only having enough clothing coupons to buy a small pair of knickers?

Not to mention the late-night bombing raids.

These were just some of the hardships for the people who stayed at home in World War Two - the blitzed Brits.

Want to know:

* what really happened in Dad's Army?
* how to make a rude noise with a gas mask?
* why the blitzed Brits ate chicken-fruit, sinkers and nutty?

Read on for some spiffing slang, foul food facts about rotten rationing, awful evacuation tales, and the terrible truth about London's bloodthirsty blackout murderer.'

A witty, colourful cover opens to 128 pages, split over chapters:

1. Blitzed Brit timeline
2. Beat the blitz
3. The bothersome blackout
4. Grotty gas masks
5. Blitzed Brit kids
6. Evils of evacuation
7. Rotten rationing
8. Rotten rationed recipes
9. The black market
10. Famous firsts of wartime
11. The Home Front
12. The Royal Family
13. Potty poems
14. Wartime words

with an introduction and an epilogue.

Written with the typical Deary humour, and illustrations from Kate Sheppard throughout.

'Did you know?

On Friday 1st September 1939 the service to the 2000 televisions in Britain was stopped.
There was no television again until 1946.

Seven years without television ....
....today some people can't go seven minutes!....'
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2007
Can you imagine life without television, road signs and bananas?
Or only having enough clothing coupons to buy a small pair of knickers?
Not to mention the late-night bombing raids.
These were just some of the hardships for the people who stayed at home in World War Two - the blitzed Brits.

Want to know:-

what really happened in Dad's Army?
how to make a rude noise with a gas mask?
why the blitzed Brits ate chicken-fruit, sinkers and nutty?

Read on for some spiffing slang, foul food facts about rotten rationing, awful evacuation tales, and the terrible truth about London's bloodthirsty blackout murderer.'

A witty, colourful cover opens to 128 pages, split over 14 chapters:-

Blitzed Brit timeline
Beat the blitz
The bothersome blackout
Grotty gas masks
Blitzed Brit kids
Evils of evacuation
Rotten rationing
Rotten rationed recipes
The black market
Famous firsts of wartime
The Home Front
The Royal Family
Potty poems
Wartime words

with an introduction and an epilogue.

Written with the typical Deary humour, and illustrations from Kate Sheppard throughout.

`Did you know?
On Friday 1st September 1939 the service to the 2000 televisions in Britain was stopped. There was no television again until 1946.
Seven years without television ....
....today some people can't go seven minutes!....'
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
I never new that a book could be funny and factual at the same time! My favourite bit is the story about a lady running out of her house naked when an air rade siren went off! And I especially like the pictures. I suggest that you either buy this book in the series or that you by another book by this awesome novelist (which, I can ensure you will be equally good!) I hope it tickles your funny bone!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2011
This is the fun way to learn history. And even if you like me, a historian, think you know everything about the subject, you don't. The author has dug up funny stories, absurd things and practices that probably are news to a lot of people that did not live in those days. Give this book to anyone that says "history is boring"! I certainly will.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2010
Kids (aged 14 & 12) loved this book. It breaks down the story of the blitz into small readable chunks. Its fun to read, which they say makes it easy to understand, and I have been told many stories about how the children of the day survived.
Its not the first "Horrible Histories" book that we have bought, and all of them give the same sort of easy reading format. Would recommend it to anyone.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2011
My eldest son is a big fan of the Horrible Histories TV series, and is enjoying collecting a few of the books too. This one was to compliment his school topic on the 2nd World War. The books, alongside the wonderful TV series, make learning history fun - in fact we (I'm including myself!) have picked up historical facts without even realising we're learning. Recommend.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2006
FANTASTIC BOOK

You get the feeling of being a blitzed Brit

or a child torned from family

Fact after fact and its a great read in its self

funny so funny shocking and sad etc etc but above all

Says a lot more in simple terms than any historian ever did

buy you cant go wrong
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
The Blitzed Brits isn't the best Horrible Histories book, but it's still worth a read - in my mind, the Vicious Vikings and the Rotten Romans made for better reads. Still, this does give a valuable glimpse in to the dangerous world of The Second World War.

Let's be honest, it's a period in British history that even I'm proud of, and I'm hardly patriotic. But the Brits made a name for themselves for stoicism and resilience, and they lived up to their reputation when they stood up to the Nazis during World War II.

As with any war, it's the human stories that really grab your attention - Deary captures the essence of their stories like a master.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse