Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for every age.
This book is great if you want the full history of Dr Martin Luther King JR in a way that all ages can read it. I struggle to read and to have a book that I can understand everything that's written is the best feeling. I recommend this book for anyone who want's to know about the history of Dr King.
Published on 3 April 2012 by UniversityStudent2012

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars martin luther king
same opinion as [measure of a man] written for school children not what i was expecting at all
amateurish to say the least
Published 7 months ago by kevin doyle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for every age., 3 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Have a Dream: The Story of Martin Luther King (Scholastic Biography) (Paperback)
This book is great if you want the full history of Dr Martin Luther King JR in a way that all ages can read it. I struggle to read and to have a book that I can understand everything that's written is the best feeling. I recommend this book for anyone who want's to know about the history of Dr King.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptionally Informative Reading, 10 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Have a Dream: The Story of Martin Luther King (Scholastic Biography) (Paperback)
Martin Luther King was an exceptional man, he fought for what was right even in troubled times. I have thoroughly enjoyed this book and bought it as a useful help when writing an assignment for MLK for my current GCSE in English (Public Speaking, 2012). However, the book became more than just an accompanying thing; it became interesting, and certainly, a book I will read again. It tells the story from the start about how MLK grew up and what kind of incidents as a child and teen influenced him to become the person he was. Fabulous read, the only downside was it is in large print, but then again I could read it without glasses!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars martin luther king, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Have a Dream: The Story of Martin Luther King (Scholastic Biography) (Paperback)
same opinion as [measure of a man] written for school children not what i was expecting at all
amateurish to say the least
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars M. King, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Have a Dream: The Story of Martin Luther King (Scholastic Biography) (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading this book. It was very informative and easy to read. I have recommend it to my family as well as friends.
Delivery was good, value for money good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I like it, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Have a Dream: The Story of Martin Luther King (Scholastic Biography) (Paperback)
"I HAVE A DREAM" indeed we all should as I have bought this book through Amazon. It is a dream come through. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I Have a Dream : the Story of Martin Luther King (Scholastic Biography), 15 Jan 2013
This review is from: I Have a Dream: The Story of Martin Luther King (Scholastic Biography) (Paperback)
I bought this for my son but didn't realise that it was a very simplified version for much younger children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading crtic review of a book that is not accurate and full of dribble..., 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Have a Dream: The Story of Martin Luther King (Scholastic Biography) (Paperback)
We rarely review anything on Amazon but felt we had to warn potential buyers about this travesty of a biography on Martin Luther King and others. Very, very disappointed with this piece of writing, and shocked that it is published under the Scholastic Biography label. It is deeply offensive and full of inaccuracies and assumes that it's readership are uneducated and unintelligent with no knowledge of Martin Luther King, the civil rights movement or the struggle for racial and gender equality. The Amazon write up misleads by not warning potential customers of the low age/mental age target audience of this book - written in basic language tone and content and the text is set in big type. This meant we wasted our time and money buying this item as it is way too shallow and simplistic for our 12 year old home educated son who rated it 'dis-empowering' in his book review. Unfortunately we bought this book before the reviewer who also rated this book a 1 warned it 'is a very simplified version for much younger children'. FTR we would have rated it 0 but the minimum Amazon allow is 1.

EG taken from Pages 41 & 42 regarding the one year long Montgomery anti-segregation bus boycott when black people walked miles to work each day rather than ride on the buses.

'But on Thursday, December 1st, 1955, a woman named Rosa Parks refused. She had worked hard all day at her job in a downtown department store. After work she'd done some shopping. Now she was finally on her way home. Sighing with relief, she sank into one of the seats right behind the "Whites Only" section... "I don't know why I wouldn't move." Mrs. Parks said later. "There was no plan at all. I was just tired. My feet hurt."

Surely not the same 'mother of the civil rights movement' Rosa Louise Parks!!!?!

The Rosa Parks who was an activist all her life and was a "incredibly amazing, political conscious, highly trained field secretary of the Montgomery chapter of the NAACP (National Association for the Advancement of Colored People) for years & part of a female collective that had been organizing the action against segregation on local buses for some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Have a Dream: The Story of Martin Luther King (Scholastic Biography) (Paperback)
Excellent condition and wrapping. Postal time fair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Have a Dream: The Story of Martin Luther King (Scholastic Biography) (Paperback)
Great facts and easy read for 9 year old
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good quality., 17 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Have a Dream: The Story of Martin Luther King (Scholastic Biography) (Paperback)
Arrived quickly. Good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Have a Dream: The Story of Martin Luther King (Scholastic Biography)
£3.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews