Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic book, 27 Nov 2005
Once again, Tamora Pierce weaves us into her magical world of Tortall. In this book, which follows on from Alanna- the first adventure, Alanna is still posing as a boy in the palace and is continuing her knights training. A battle breaks out between Tortall and Tusaine, and Alanna and her knight master prince Jonathan have fight both the tusaine warriors and their growing feelings for one another.
I'd have to say that this is the best of all the books in the Song Of The Lioness quartet, as we see Alanna coping with more and more emotions that feel quite familiar with us! Will she be able to face the Chamber? Will she be able to keep her secret from the people she has grown so close to? And most of all, will she, like The Godess Mother asks her to, learn to love?
A gripping book, and definately worth reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the Hand of the Goddess, 14 Mar 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Alan(na) is still posing as a boy. In this second installment of "Song of the Lioness" Alan(na) has become a squire to Prince Jonathan. He is one of the few who knows that she is in fact a girl. Their relationship develops into something more than friendship in this book.
This book is about Alan(na)'s continued quest for knighthood. In this book she is called by the Goddess Mother as one of the goddesses own. As a gift from the Goddess, Alanna is joined by the cat Faithful. Prince Roger is still out to get Alanna. She seems to be the only one at court who sees him as a threat. Her friendship with George the Rogue continues. As she grows older, Alanna realizes that being a girl posing as a boy entails a lot more than she initally thought. In order to deal with this she enlists help from George's mother.
Being a girl in a man's world is not easy. It is not easy in the real world either. Gender does play a part in how we act, what we are allowed to do or not do and what vocations we choose in life. That is why it is important to have books that challenge the prevalent world view in an exiting manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic book from T.P, 1 Aug 2001
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Hand Of The Goddess (Song Of The Lioness 2) (Paperback)
This is the second installment of the thrilling quartet by that wonderous woman >Tamora Pierce< Again she captivates her audience and throws them in to the life of Alanna, the girl who must still disguise her self as a boy and go by the name >Alan< She is as charming as ever and her enchanting personallity and courage shines as always!! This book should be a classic and, joined by it's quartet sisters, read by all! well I like it anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if you love fantasy you'll LOVE this!!!, 8 Mar 2001
If you've read the first book and(only) liked it you'll love this! It contiues the story of alanna and her quest (disguised as a boy!) to become a knight!The book has every thing any respectable fantasy should have, magic, bravery, Gods, heros, evil relatives, the battle between good and evil, all taking place in a distant magical realm ready to welcome you into it!So, stop reading un-justyfying reviews and find out for yourself! Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ! Amazing!, 20 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: In The Hand Of The Goddess (Song Of The Lioness 2) (Paperback)
After reading the whole of the 'Song of the lioness' series,I have to say that this book was defiantly the best. I loved all the characters, especially Faithful and George who were both really sweet. The combination of romance and action in this book makes its worthy of being loved by anyone who has read it, and if you haven't, then I highly advise that you do.-Clare Pidsley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 21 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: In The Hand Of The Goddess (Song Of The Lioness 2) (Paperback)
After reading all of the 'Song of the lioness' series,this has got to be the best book in it. The author uses a wonderful blend of action and romance to create a book that is impossible to put down. I loved all the characters, especially George and Faithful who were both really sweet, and I would defiantly recommend the whole series to anyone aged 10+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the better books in the genre., 1 April 1998
By A Customer
"In the Hand of the Goddess" is the stunning sequel to "Alanna: The First Adventure". This book was so incredibly breath-taking, I found myself gasping at every turn. The characterisations are superb, embedded in a well-developed plot set in a believable world.
Alanna is the young, secretly female squire of the heir to the Tortallen throne. She struggles with her identity, visitations from divinities and the love of her best friends and gradually discovers herself. She faces her nemisis in the oily Duke Roger, and.....
The characters in this book bear notice because they cannot be neatly classified, as the one-dimensional characters in so many modern books so neatly show us. The world is completely believable, from the gods and goddesses to the common people. Tamara Pierce ought to be commended for her excellent work in this genre, allowing it to become something more than shallow entertainment. This book is a gem; do yourself a favour and get it today!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great one of TPs best, 17 Jun 2002
This is the great second installment of the Alanna series. It is about Alanna's life as the squire of Prince Jonathan, heir to the throne. Alanna ia still disguised as 'Alan' the boy squire. Alanna also has some trouble with George who falls in love with her and Jon who she falls in love with. There is also Duke Roger to see about and a terrifying kidnap when the knights are fighting in the Drell Valley. Is it just a coincidence that Jonathans men are in the most dangerous part? After all this she has to come back to Tortall to try and pas her Ordeal. She also has to think about what she is going to do if she passes-she can't keep her sex a secret forever. A thoroughly good and entertaing read I recommend this to all fantasy lovers. If you have not read the first one in this series (Alanna: The First Adventure) then I advise you to do so before reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first but.EXELENT BEOND WORDS!, 6 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: In The Hand Of The Goddess (Song Of The Lioness 2) (Paperback)
Alanna the first adventure was so good so i thought this one would be good! I was right wasn't I ! I loved it so much I swoped it with my best friends and most of them loved it! I think its a componation of action and romance, adventure. Its a thriller it keeps you on your toes. your heart starts thumping and you just can't stop. If you havn't read them then you have to. If you have read it before and didn't enjoy it , read it again! It might have been to old for you or you may have been skiming to fast. so read it again you may be plesently surprised!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alanna, 14 Dec 2002
By 
This review is from: In The Hand Of The Goddess (Song Of The Lioness 2) (Paperback)
Tamora Pierce relates Alanna's adventures with spirit, confidence, sensibility and stubbornness - four words to sum up Lady Alanna's character. I don't believe in putting ages or genders on a really good book, which _In the Hand of the Goddess_ certainly is. If you're mature enough to appreciate the book, read it! I say that after every book, but I've been carrying Alanna's stubbornness for years as inspiration. "What would Alanna do?" I sometimes ask myself, or I pretend I am she, getting through school the way she braved her lessons at Roald's palace. By not reading this, you are denying youself hours with this determined young woman, wishing you could live in magical Tortall, admiring Alanna's Prince and cheering on her other, more ambiguous thief lover, breathing hard after her intense duel with an evil sorcerer and chortling at remarks from her contrary cat. So read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In The Hand Of The Goddess (Song Of The Lioness 2)
In The Hand Of The Goddess (Song Of The Lioness 2) by Tamora Pierce (Paperback - 17 July 1998)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews