Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wurts: original and skillful...
I read this book in pretty short order. The description in the sleeve is maybe a bit too in depth, since it tells you every major thing the main character is going to do in the course of the book.
Depite this, there was a lot to be said about the charm of Korendir. He is a taciturn character whose silences are more telling than any dialogue he is involved in...
Published on 19 Dec 2005 by miles_teg

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A very old-fashioned fantasy novel.
This reads like a story from the seventies rather than the nineties, it is like a Morcock or Leiber novel, better than Leiber but worse than Morcock.

The troubled hero triumphs against impossible odds again and again due to a combination of his indomitable will power and the incredible stupidity of his opponents.

The various quests are fairly...
Published on 22 July 2009 by plot hound


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wurts: original and skillful..., 19 Dec 2005
By 
This review is from: Master of Whitestorm (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this book in pretty short order. The description in the sleeve is maybe a bit too in depth, since it tells you every major thing the main character is going to do in the course of the book.
Depite this, there was a lot to be said about the charm of Korendir. He is a taciturn character whose silences are more telling than any dialogue he is involved in.
The twist of his identity is somewhat blatant but that doesn't detract from the authors skill or the readers enjoyment of it.
Having one of the most memorable endings I've read in the genre, I would have given this book 5 stars if not for the sleeve description.
One of the best stand alone books I've read in a long time. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read...., 15 Jan 2001
This review is from: Master of Whitestorm (Mass Market Paperback)
I've spent many an hour reading through the various customer reviews of books from a range of authors. Whilst many of them comment on the language used, the word and sentence structure and an over-use of descriptive text, many fail to even tell you whether the book is any good or not! So, here it is. This is a good book. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I highly recommend this book, 13 Sep 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Master of Whitestorm (Mass Market Paperback)
The books of Janny Wurts are usually suspenseful. This one was no exception to that rule. This book is also one to make a person weep (at least I did).
The slave Korendir escapes from the Murghai slave-galley with his oar-mate Haldeth. Once on land Korendir sets out to master a set of challenges, each one bringing him closer to his goal of ownership of Whitestorm. But even with his goal achieved, Korendir is still a man driven by the need to help those who cannot help themselves. In the end this brings about marriage and children for him. His compassionate nature is his guideline, as his enchantress wife knows, and Korendir continues to help others, even at the expense of his own lasting happiness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant, poetic and superbly written - an outstanding book!, 17 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Master of Whitestorm (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a truly excellent book. The writing-style is vividly poetic and the characters memorable. The brooding intensity that underlies the entire novel is complemented by the universal themes of compassion, humanity and, in the end, fallibility. This is fantasy at its absolute best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A splendid read, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Michael Newman Brown (Harrogate, North Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Master of Whitestorm (Mass Market Paperback)
Janny Wurts has a good history for bringing out brooding, mis-understood heroes that you can't help but emphasise with when the rest of of their world doesn't. Here's one of her early works that sets up the tone.

Korendir, largely as seen through the eyes of his companions, is grim and haunted by a tough past. But through wit and determination he takes on impossible challenge after impossible challenge, driven by a mix of compassion and compulsion to self-destruction. Some companions fall away, unable to watch what seems to be a sure if eventual doom... others's come to love him to the point that they'll accept that end and watch it anyway. Readers will likely be in the second class from his start as a wily galley slave through to his last battle.

Wurts writes a world cruel to its human kingdoms and to her hero, but that only makes the triumphs all the sweeter when they're won. Read this... but you may be hooked by her talent to read her other works too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A very old-fashioned fantasy novel., 22 July 2009
By 
plot hound (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Master of Whitestorm (Paperback)
This reads like a story from the seventies rather than the nineties, it is like a Morcock or Leiber novel, better than Leiber but worse than Morcock.

The troubled hero triumphs against impossible odds again and again due to a combination of his indomitable will power and the incredible stupidity of his opponents.

The various quests are fairly standard fantasy fare with little originality, the magic isn't interesting either and none of the characters have any personality of depth.

It is a nothing sort of book, old fashioned, inoffensive and instantly forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful read, 17 Sep 2005
By 
xenofan "xenofan" (Kansas, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Master of Whitestorm (Mass Market Paperback)
Korendir is a character that I came to respect and admire as I followed him on his quest to build Whitestorm. His motivation are utterly believable, and the various quests he embarks upon are full of imagination and adventure. I didn't like the book at first, because the writing style was a little more overly descriptive than what I tend to prefer, but I soon became engrossed in Korendir's character --- of learning more about him. There were many very tender moments, and I'm sure this story must have made many a reader cry. A definite must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Master of Whitestorm
Master of Whitestorm by Janny Wurts (Mass Market Paperback - 4 July 2011)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews