Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars8
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 February 2003
This is a coming-of-age story intertwined with a web of family secrets told from the point of view of Tom. Peter Straub's characters and locations are so believable you really do feel as if you watching as a bystander to the action. I literally could not put this book down (except I suppose to eat) until I had finnished it - and went straight out and bought 'The Throat'. Buy this book!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2004
The book surprised me! I have read most of Straub's books and had anticipated something more mysterious, supernatural.
Let the record show that I was not in the least disappointed!!
Straub writes horror like noone else, gives you that creepy feeling, that makes you look over your shoulder ell the time, but he is also very good at crime stories. It would be interesting, should he want to write more books like these, without any supernatural accurrencies, but still dark, gloomy and ill-boding.
The story is very good and enjoyed every page of the long read.!
Excellent!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2002
I picked this as a holiday read, and quite frankly I couldn't put it down. There are many intertwining stories leading to a quite unexpected ending. Tom Pasmore's journey of self discovery, combined with several murders amongst the fictional communities elite draws you in, not as a passive observer but as a participant in what is going on. There are enough characters in the story to enable to identify yourself with one.
A highly recommended read, on a par with many Stephen King novels.
It is little wonder that Stephen King thinks so highly of Peter Straub, and has collaberated with him on several books.
Since buying this book almost accidentally, I have since purchased several more of his books, and as I class myself to be a "fussy reader", I can give no higher praise to this author.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2003
Set in the fiftie's on a secluded island of power & wealth, poverty & corruption. Tom, a ten year old has an enthusiasm for detective work. A murder in the 1920's fascinates Tom who forms a friendship with his neighbour Lamont von Heilitz a once renowned amateur sleuth. An enigmatic character who shuns much of Mill Walk's powerful society. It is these powerful people that tidy up murders to be forgotten. Tom's interest arouses disapproval and he is in danger of uncovering the dark secrets of the people who own & run Mill Walk as well as family decit.
A complex and sinister web of corruption, a moving love story, a novel about family & class. A compelling, engrossing mystery.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2015
Mystery is a solid and well-crafted plot, if a little convoluted, but is worth sticking with for the climaxes and twists. Tom is a young sleuth who takes an interest in the crimes committed on a small Caribbean Island of Mill Walk.

This is partly due to suffering a horrific traffic accident as a young boy and Tom has little to do but to read and research during convalescence. Tom’s ‘pastime’ is frowned upon by his grandfather, Glen, who, along with the Redwing magnates corrupts the island. And so Tom is sent to Eagle Lake to get him out of the way.

But this further piques Tom’s curiosity about how the crimes are connected. And with recluse and island ‘weirdo’ Von Heilitz, begins to see the bigger picture. But Tom suspects he is digging too deep for somebody’s tastes.

Tom acts a little robotic at times and his passion for love interest Sarah didn’t quite convince. His reaction to finding he had not been castrated after his childhood accident was bemusing. ‘So he had not been castrated after all.’ And then no further mention of this revelation. Well, it’s only a penis, I suppose.

I enjoyed Mystery and liked the downtrodden nurses and underdogs of the island who were incorruptible. The locals and the officials created a real sense of a flawed yet colourful closed society that was at times alluring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2003
Set in the fiftie's on a secluded island of power & wealth, poverty & corruption. Tom, a ten year old has an enthusiasm for detective work. A murder in the 1920's fascinates Tom who forms a friendship with his neighbour Lamont von Heilitz a once renowned amateur sleuth. An enigmatic character who shuns much of Mill Walk's powerful society. It is these powerful people that tidy up murders to be forgotten. Tom's interest arouses disapproval and he is in danger of uncovering the dark secrets of the people who own & run Mill Walk as well as family decit.
A complex and sinister web of corruption, a moving love story, a novel about family & class. A compelling, engrossing mystery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
You haven't lived if you haven't read Peter Straub. (I never did finish the last 100 pages and must forthwith.) I guess the author is an historian of the Northern States of Scandinavian 'n Germanic influence o' the U.S.A., -like in 'Floating Dragon', where he reaches back into the Colonist days- and all of America's mental, cognitive history: if Lou Reed was the Poet of New York, Well Mr. Straub is a Doppelganger for people who forget the past, and he holds the consciousness of the country's history: the National Ghost teller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
First class
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£15.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.