Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A page-turner from the first sentence!, 25 Feb. 2003
By 
LEANNE (YORKSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mystery (Paperback)
This is a coming-of-age story intertwined with a web of family secrets told from the point of view of Tom. Peter Straub's characters and locations are so believable you really do feel as if you watching as a bystander to the action. I literally could not put this book down (except I suppose to eat) until I had finnished it - and went straight out and bought 'The Throat'. Buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class crime fiction!, 6 Dec. 2004
By 
B. Jonsson "Literate Warlock" (falun, dalarna sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mystery (Paperback)
The book surprised me! I have read most of Straub's books and had anticipated something more mysterious, supernatural.
Let the record show that I was not in the least disappointed!!
Straub writes horror like noone else, gives you that creepy feeling, that makes you look over your shoulder ell the time, but he is also very good at crime stories. It would be interesting, should he want to write more books like these, without any supernatural accurrencies, but still dark, gloomy and ill-boding.
The story is very good and enjoyed every page of the long read.!
Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a gripping thriller, 21 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Mystery (Paperback)
I picked this as a holiday read, and quite frankly I couldn't put it down. There are many intertwining stories leading to a quite unexpected ending. Tom Pasmore's journey of self discovery, combined with several murders amongst the fictional communities elite draws you in, not as a passive observer but as a participant in what is going on. There are enough characters in the story to enable to identify yourself with one.
A highly recommended read, on a par with many Stephen King novels.
It is little wonder that Stephen King thinks so highly of Peter Straub, and has collaberated with him on several books.
Since buying this book almost accidentally, I have since purchased several more of his books, and as I class myself to be a "fussy reader", I can give no higher praise to this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant Mystery, Murder, detective time piece., 6 July 2003
This review is from: Mystery (Hardcover)
Set in the fiftie's on a secluded island of power & wealth, poverty & corruption. Tom, a ten year old has an enthusiasm for detective work. A murder in the 1920's fascinates Tom who forms a friendship with his neighbour Lamont von Heilitz a once renowned amateur sleuth. An enigmatic character who shuns much of Mill Walk's powerful society. It is these powerful people that tidy up murders to be forgotten. Tom's interest arouses disapproval and he is in danger of uncovering the dark secrets of the people who own & run Mill Walk as well as family decit.
A complex and sinister web of corruption, a moving love story, a novel about family & class. A compelling, engrossing mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant Mystery, Murder, detective time piece., 6 July 2003
This review is from: Mystery (Hardcover)
Set in the fiftie's on a secluded island of power & wealth, poverty & corruption. Tom, a ten year old has an enthusiasm for detective work. A murder in the 1920's fascinates Tom who forms a friendship with his neighbour Lamont von Heilitz a once renowned amateur sleuth. An enigmatic character who shuns much of Mill Walk's powerful society. It is these powerful people that tidy up murders to be forgotten. Tom's interest arouses disapproval and he is in danger of uncovering the dark secrets of the people who own & run Mill Walk as well as family decit.
A complex and sinister web of corruption, a moving love story, a novel about family & class. A compelling, engrossing mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars U.S.A's Story teller, 30 Jun. 2014
You haven't lived if you haven't read Peter Straub. (I never did finish the last 100 pages and must forthwith.) I guess the author is an historian of the Northern States of Scandinavian 'n Germanic influence o' the U.S.A., -like in 'Floating Dragon', where he reaches back into the Colonist days- and all of America's mental, cognitive history: if Lou Reed was the Poet of New York, Well Mr. Straub is a Doppelganger for people who forget the past, and he holds the consciousness of the country's history: the National Ghost teller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Nov. 2014
By 
Mr. T. Moran - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mystery (Audio Cassette)
First class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mystery
Mystery by Peter Straub (Paperback - 4 July 2011)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Shadowland
Shadowland by Peter Straub (Mass Market Paperback - Mar. 2003)
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (10)   
Buy new£5.19
In stock

Lost Boy Lost Girl
Lost Boy Lost Girl by Peter Straub (Mass Market Paperback - 31 Oct. 2004)
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6)   
Buy new£5.26
In stock

The Throat
The Throat by Peter Straub (Paperback - 8 May 2001)
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6)