Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great and getting better
Kerr is certainly getting better and better as her series goes along. The characters are gaining more depth, the plot is unfolding into a complexity I had trouble keeping up with on the first read or two. A valuable resource are the soul tables and the pronounciation guides.
Anyone comparing this series to Marvel comics must be having trouble understanding the...
Published on 3 May 2002 by kowari1@yahool.com

versus
1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Childish
This is the third in an expanding series set in a cod-Celtic world focussed on the "kingdom" of Deverry. I was impressed enough by the first to buy the whole opening quartet, and was sadly disappointed. Books 1 and 2 are advertised as re-written, and are reasonably polished. The unrevised 3rd and 4th books have a first draft quality and increasing reliant on...
Published on 17 May 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great and getting better, 3 May 2002
By 
kowari1@yahool.com (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dawnspell: The Bristling Wood (Deverry) (Paperback)
Kerr is certainly getting better and better as her series goes along. The characters are gaining more depth, the plot is unfolding into a complexity I had trouble keeping up with on the first read or two. A valuable resource are the soul tables and the pronounciation guides.
Anyone comparing this series to Marvel comics must be having trouble understanding the amazing amount of reseach and time gone into creating the series. It is evident in just the construction of the names! The historical accuracy and gelling into a darkages/medieval celtic world astounds me every time. I can just about smell the horses and the riders. Kerr does not gloss over the horrors of the time either, life was not pleasant then. This is something I appreciate every time I read the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fans of Mists of Avalon Should Not Overlook This Book, 7 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Dawnspell: The Bristling Wood (Deverry) (Paperback)
After an uneven start in "Daggerspell," Katharine Kerr has continued to build upon and expand the characters and world of Deverry, and with "Bristling Wood," the third book of the octet, has brought her storytelling talents to full maturity. Description, while lacking the depth of a Jordan or Martin, is nonetheless detailed and vivid, characterizations diverse and singular, and the secondary characters have begun to contribute significant roles to the story, greatly enriching the tale. With this volume Kerr's series must begin to be considered as a contender among the few truly notable works of fantasy fiction, and I expectantly look forward to reading the rest of the eight to see if the story fulfills its undeniable promise. Fans of "The Mists of Avalon" would be making a mistake in ignoring celtic Deverry.
(Titled "Bristling Wood" in the States)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite so far, 8 Feb 2010
By 
A. L. Rutter "Floor to Ceiling Books" (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dawnspell: The Bristling Wood (Deverry) (Paperback)
This is my favourite of the series so far! In this book the modern day plot follows Jill and Rhodry as they are forced apart by circumstance, and ends on a real cliffhanger where Rhodry vanishes, and it is up to Jill and Salamander to try and find him. In the past we meet another incarnation of Jill and Rhodry, at a time when the silver daggers are brought into being and Rhodry fights to bring the one true king of Deverry to power.

As I said in a previous review, because the flashbacks tend to be the bulk of the book, it is necessary to find them entertaining if the novel as a whole is to be considered a success. In this novel, I thoroughly enjoyed reading about Jill and Rhodry's previous life, especially the novelty of Jill being reborn into a man's body this time around. It was a gripping insert, and I loved to see exactly why the silver daggers came into being.

We saw a great deal more of modern times, and the politics affecting Deverry. Lovyan stepped onto centre stage, and I appreciated the fact that Kerr wrote into the story strong female characters. I got tired of Rhys' stubborn ways concerning Rhodry and was frighteningly indifferent to his plight.

One character I was genuinely curious about and repelled by was Perryn. His treatment of Jill, and the way he was able to entice women, was presented as extremely disturbing, especially because it was so involuntary.

Again, I loved the Wildfolk, and found it particularly amusing when Salamander used them to cow the pirate folk of Slaith.

All in all, a great book. Because of the extreme cliffhanger and the introduction of Taliesyn as a character, I am desperate to read the fourth in this sequence and think that Kerr is doing a fabulous job bringing the world of Deverry alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first two!, 8 Feb 2001
By 
Dan Dean (Myrtle Beach, SC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dawnspell: The Bristling Wood (Deverry) (Paperback)
This was one of the best fantasy novels I have ever read- its funny, I almost stopped after darkspell... That one let me down. But as it turns out, I made a great decision! The only problem I had was that she dove into her best flashback sequence ever in the forging of the silver dagger group, but then she proceeded to leave us hanging.... in the middle of that story she returns to the current story which I found to be less intriging... and then she never picks up the other story. A huge disappointment! Still- a fabulous read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this series!, 24 Feb 2012
By 
I read this series years ago and recently introduced it to my 10 year old son. While he read the series I re-read it. He loved it and I loved it all over again! If you like fantasy, magic, elves, dragons etc. its fab. Katharine Kerr writes in a way that is easy to read. The only challenging bit is that she slips back and forward in time to show how previous lifetimes affect current and future lifetimes. It can be helpful to keep handy a table of incarnations while reading it but its not necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dawnspell, 29 Mar 2011
By 
B. Tingate (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series of books is fascinating if you are interested in magical and spiritual knowledge and the plots are riveting, I and a friend were unable to put them down until we had reached the final climax...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More great fantasy from Deverry!, 4 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawnspell: The Bristling Wood (Deverry) (Paperback)
And the series just keeps getting better! Katharine Kerr makes Dawnspell the best book so far, with a massive flashback sequence detailing the origins of the Silver Daggers, but it is the present section that really wowed me. A new character called Perryn is introduced, and without spoiling the plot, his and Jill's lives become entwined in a surprising way. Throughout the book Rhodry is in danger, and while Nevyn tries to protect him from dark forces, his brother Salamander is also trying to find him. Kerr really begins to build on Salamander as a character in this book, and so far I really like him. Lets hope he continues to appear. There are scenes with other minor characters too, namely Lovyan, Rhys and Blaen - showing Kerr hasn't given up on them, and she'll continue to develop them. There are shocks in store for readers, with several twists, and the ending will leave you wanting more. The next book looks set to be fantastic! Buy this now - but start from Daggerspell of course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the series as a whole, 28 Aug 2003
This review is from: Dawnspell: The Bristling Wood (Deverry) (Paperback)
this series is a great one, & once u'v finnished the first 4, there's another 12? to go!!! it just keeps getting better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Childish, 17 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dawnspell: The Bristling Wood (Deverry) (Paperback)
This is the third in an expanding series set in a cod-Celtic world focussed on the "kingdom" of Deverry. I was impressed enough by the first to buy the whole opening quartet, and was sadly disappointed. Books 1 and 2 are advertised as re-written, and are reasonably polished. The unrevised 3rd and 4th books have a first draft quality and increasing reliant on dialog, long stretches that read like film-script, which isn't well-written and expose the poor quality of the character writing. Book 1 dealt with some adult themes, principally incest, but in book 3 the heroine Jill is just gratuitously and tastelessly sexually abused. The series's main gimmick is that the main characters are linked by destiny through reincarnation, and their "reunions" at different points in history are the notional thrust of the first four books. In the first book the stories run parallel and reflect on weach other. As the series runs on the link between eras is weaker and the switch between stories is awkward and arbitrary. In the later volumes, in an attempt to prop up the idea of an eternal battle between good and evil, the author crow-bars in opposing schools of "Light" and "Dark" magic, obvioulsy "inspired" by The Force from Star Wars. Her magicians also work and battle in an "astral plane" with extraordinary close parallels to the world of Marvel comics hero Dr Strange. In the final analysis these are teen romances, populated by lacklustre characters, adequately written but operating on the law of diminishing returns. I bought them so I had to read them. Don't be sucked in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dawnspell: The Bristling Wood (Deverry)
Dawnspell: The Bristling Wood (Deverry) by Katharine Kerr (Paperback - 4 July 2011)
£10.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews