Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent triology, better than The Riftwar/Serpentwar
I have to confess to having read this triology (Daughter, Servant & Mistress of the Empire) maybe over a dozen times now. For me this is the ultimate science fantasy, and easily outstrips anything Feist does on his own, though I enjoy those too.
With Janny Wurts, Fiest manages to achieve a greater depth to his plots that otherwise he lacks in Riftwar etc.
By...
Published on 2 Nov 2001 by Leigh

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Readable if over long saga
As the Amazon review implies the Empire saga is overly long. There is lot of unnecessary detail in there which could have been missed out. For example how many times do we need to be told what Mara and her advisers are having to eat? Or reminded about the honour system they are supposed to live by? That said though I did find it a worthwhile read, and stayed up very late...
Published on 5 Jan 2009 by Charles G.


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent triology, better than The Riftwar/Serpentwar, 2 Nov 2001
By 
Leigh (Essex, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mistress of the Empire (Paperback)
I have to confess to having read this triology (Daughter, Servant & Mistress of the Empire) maybe over a dozen times now. For me this is the ultimate science fantasy, and easily outstrips anything Feist does on his own, though I enjoy those too.
With Janny Wurts, Fiest manages to achieve a greater depth to his plots that otherwise he lacks in Riftwar etc.
By creating Mara as the central character, JW & REF explore interesting side issues that are lacking in other fantasy, where the dominant character is usually male.
The whole issue of the Tsurani culture and politics, though clearly taken from the Far East, is a novel and refreshing idea to put in a book, and the continual comparisions made to the 'barbarian world'of Midkemia throughout is a interesting moral byplay for the characters in the book. Particularly good are the characters Arakasi, with his Spy Network, the radical Light of Heaven who supports Mara covertly & Lujan, Mara's Force Commander (who could easily have been left behind in development). All characters are explored thoroughly and developed, to the point where sometimes you can almost pre-empt their actions as you get to know them. Even the 'bad guys' receive the same attention, which is unusual, and make compelling reading. Tasiao, the warmonger, Jiro, the scholar, but whose 1st advisor Chumaka, pits his wits against Arakasi in the third book, is a wonderful piece of writing. These really are the sort of books you can lose days reading. The intrigue is compelling, the quality of writing, both in narrative and dialogue surpasses anything that these 2 writers have achieved individually. This in part is allowed due to the size of the books 600,700,900 pages (approx)respectively, but rather than being daunting, still you will get through them quicker than you want.
The authors aren't afraid to kill off characters, in the end, few of the original remain, which means that a touch of realism is allowed, which sometimes is lacking in this respect in Riftwar.New characters develop at a pace which allows the reader to understand them, without confusion.Several other moments are brilliantly written, when Arakasi's cold heart melts, but in Tsurani fashion,of course. Moments of compassion from the cold Tasaio when he takes a wife, yet moments later watches the execution of his courtesan with bloodlust. In a way, these books explore every facet of human life. Read them for what they are-fantasy, or read something deeper into them if you choose, whatever you do, you'll enjoy them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous Mara is Majestic, 1 Sep 2003
By 
Owen Anslow (Ipswich, Suffolk Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mistress of the Empire (Paperback)
This final installment of the Empire saga is fantastic Feist at his best...(along with Janny).
I don't won't to give too much away but the book has an explosive start and from that point, it's impossible to put down. If you liked the last two, then you'll love this one and probably be reading it whenever, and wherever you can.
Mara has her biggest struggle for survival yet. Not only has she lost her beloved Kevin but she has to fight everyone who wants her dead to keep the Acoma name going. Even with her newly appointed title of Mistress of the Empire, there are mnay who are plotting her demise.
Enter Jiro of the Anasati. Still bitter over Mara's rejection of marriage many years ago, Jiro will stop at nothing to see her
delivered to the Red God. Mara also has to find out who is employing assasins to try and end the Acoma name. As she seeks the answers she gets further and further to the truth that a certain sector of the Empire do not wish to be uncovered.
Mara will have to face the Assembly of Magicians sooner or later, the almighty force of the Empire...they are beyond the law.
There is so much more to enjoy in this book. It involves a great journey Mara has to endure to seek the truth. New powers enter the story and a huge battle is drawing inexorably close.
The one thing I loved about this book is that it is an explosion of events. Things are happening all over the place and there is never a dry moment....like you find in the first and second novel.
Arakasi is also focussed on a lot more in this book. He belongs in the hall of Feist Legends (i.e Jimmy, Pug, Arutha, Nakor). The reason for him being the best Spy Master in the Empire is shown in a great chapter at the start of the book. And there is a great on-going battle of wits and subterfuge between himself and Jiro's right-hand man, Chumaka.
Please enjoy this book,...it's a great ending to a great saga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow what a book!, 26 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mistress of the Empire (Paperback)
For anyone who has read the first two books , this is a stunning ending to one of the best written trilogies ever, also the cho ja get to do something! If this is the first book you have looked at get "daughter of the empire" first or you'll be totally lost as the plot dose focus on alot of the politics in the other two books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Fiest yet, 30 Nov 2004
By 
R. Broome - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mistress of the Empire (Paperback)
I've read the majority of the REF books but have to say the 'empire' trilogy is the ebst of them all. A truly absorbing portrayal of a different (to western readers) culture. I especially appreciated the portrait of the 'heroine' of the books. It is rare to get a strong female lead character who isn't merely a cliched version of either the astoundingly beautiful yet fiesty princess or the warrior woman/amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Finale!, 18 Oct 2005
By 
JA Fairhurst "johnfair" (Edgeley, Stockport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mistress of the Empire (Paperback)
Lady Mara of the Acoma had overcome all her enemies, or so she thought, with Jiro of the Anasati's hatred neatly blocked by the Assembly of the Great Ones' refusal for the two Houses to destroy each other in mutual devastation. But Mara found herself under threat from the Assembly and the only way she can get help is to seek out the cho-ja that did not acknowledge the rule of the Empire.
In her journey outside the borders of the Empire Mara finds her assumptions, already battered by her association with a Midkemian slave, broken down. The Great Lords find themselves forced to take sides in the confrontation between Mara and her enemies.
This is the concluding volume in the story of Mara of the Acoma. This sees her facing her most powerful set of opponents Mara and it seems quite unlikely that she would survive!
In Mara's world we have one of the more unusual civilisations in fantasy fiction and this novel explores that world quite widely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Empire Series, 27 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mistress of the Empire (Paperback)
This is the best by far of the Empire series, I am now on my second copy of the book. It rounds off the story of the with a great ending, I wont spoil it for you. I have to recommend this book to any Fiest or Wurts fans, I think they have done a great job together in writing this book. I only wish they had written a follow up book to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Fantasy Feast, 28 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Mistress of the Empire (Paperback)
As a third part of the trilogy new readers would be much better to start with Daughter. For those of those familiar with Feists previous work this is somewhat of a departure because along with Wurtz these books concentrate a lot more on the political intrigue which motivates Kelewan society than on epic battles. For those who have read Magician etc they provide a good insight into the "alien society" which is at the heart of these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read this., 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Finishes the tale of the girl who inherits the family power and estate and rises to be the top of the tree in the empire. Great story which pulls you along nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memorable!, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Every now and then you come across a really unforgettable read with such a clever plot you wonder how the author managed to conceive it all in her mind.

I really loved the entire trilogy and would give it a highest recommendation but you really have to read the Riftwar Saga trilogy first to understand where you are, what type of people you are dealing with etc.

I seldom read a book twice but I will definitely come back to this trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars total immersion, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
vivid believable characters and setting including the bad guys, consistent clever plot lines. Characters are real and flawed. In a struggle with a cruel society good people do bad things. This is a rolling epic and probably even better than the occidental side of the rift stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mistress of the Empire
Mistress of the Empire by Janny Wurts (Paperback - 20 Nov 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews