Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
58
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 August 2002
As always, Feist weaves a tale of Fantasy that retains a realistic quality that is missing in so many Fantasy novels. Feist obviously researches his material thoroughly before putting pen to paper. ( Or keyboard to word processor as it may be !! ) This novel is a a prime example of his ability to make a "Fantasy" setting seem almost real. Several chapters of the novel are spent aboard ship and his attention to detail and knowledge of wooden ships steering the mighty sea provides so realitic a setting that you can almost feel the cold ocean air, the creak of the ship and the sound of the ocean waves , as if you were onboard ship yourself instead of immersed in a novel upon the make believe world of Midkemia. This book follows Amos Trask and young Prince Nicholas on an important journey for the crown. It is a good break from the normal Midkemia surroundings that allows us to see other parts of Feist's world and develop a love for new characters. For all of those Feist fans out there that have not read this book ( Although I can't believe there are any of you!!), or those who like realistic Fantasy..this is a book you should read and Feist is an author you should follow.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 February 2016
I have had difficulty finding a new adult fantasy writer for some time now, most of the genre seems to be either targeted at the teenage demographic or is a pale imitation of authors such as Feist, Martin, Kerr or Gemmell and so once again I have returned to my bookshelf to revisit the masters of the genre and add their works to my more mobile Kindle collection.

Raymond E Feist is one of the handful of fantasy authors that I have collected and kept on my shelves over the years and re-read chronologically from time to time.

The King's Buccaneer continues the saga and as always is a good read, fast paced and entertaining.

Feist's epic saga is still one of the best fantasy series ever.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 November 2003
The King's Buccaneer is Feist's second book designed to introduce the next generation of his characters to the reader. This book sees Prince Arutha's youngest son, Nicholas, lead a band of assorted souls disguised as pirates to the rescue of those who were kidnapped in the sacking of the Far Coast.
This is perhaps Feist's strongest novel. It does not rely on past events overly and although it does set the stage for events to come, the story is still both complete and fully entertaining. Feist's real strength shines through in Buccaneer - his ability to draw engrossing and realistic characters with depth.
One of my all-time favourtites.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2012
I like the series and this book. This review is more about the quality of the ebook.

There are too many errors for the professional quality full-price ebook.

clintele for clientele
Drondorian for Krondorian
Ufe for life
failing for falling
certin for certain
Fulgan for Kulgan
finen for linen
Several missing open quotes at the start of paragraphs
some hyphens instead of em-dashes (elsewhere em-dashes are used correctly)

And that's just the first eight chapters. I haven't checked thoroughly, but I feel it gets a bit worse futher into the book.

Oh - and scene changes aren't marked out sufficiently well.

So: I'm pleased it's now available as a legal ebook. I'm slightly disappointed that OCR errors that shoud have been caught by spell check at least (Ufe ?) were missed.

Hopefully they'll fix the errors at some point.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 October 2004
THE STORY:
Prince Arutha's youngest son, Nicholas, is sent to Crydee to gain some experience outside of Krondor's court. When Crydee is devastated by a brutal raid Nicholas and a band of survivors attempt to track down their captured loved ones, but to do so they must sort out a convoluted scheme involving Tsurani assassins, Keshian slavers, pirates and the Pantathian serpent priests. Their adventure will take them across the ocean to the mysterious land of Novindus.
WHAT'S GOOD:
Although supposedly a sequel to 'Prince of the Blood', this book is a continuation of the story of 'A Darkness at Sethanon' in ways that it's predecessor never was. The story is at all times gripping and the young people struggling with responsibility, love and the harsh realities of the world is very reminiscent of Feist's greatest work (and first) 'Magician'. With the inclusion of Pug and Nakor, Feist even manages to expand on his exploration of the nature of magic itself, without over exposing the idea. Which gives me an entry to say just how much I love the character of Nakor. Pug is always aloof and mysterious (as you'd expect from the most powerful magician in the world), but Nakor is a thoroughly personable character and his excentricity blends excellently with his obvious power and wisdom. Nakor's training of Anthony was one of my favourite elements of this book.
WHAT'S BAD:
I don't have alot bad to say about this book. The way in which everyone ends up finding that special someone and falling in love was a little too unlikely for my tastes and I thought that Nicholas' whirlwind relationship with Iasha was doubly unlikely considering the way their interaction goes throughout the book. This book also suffers slightly from the fact that you're always aware that it's really just a prelude to the Serpent War saga, cheapening the otherwise brilliant reading experience.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2016
I can't believe how Raymond E Feist can come up with so many stories set in Midkemia and keep us wanting more. He keeps adding more characters and situations within the familiar. This is another great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
This stand alone tale is excellent. A gripping and well paced plot. With resolutions that actually make sense. As well as plenty of further progression for the series as a whole in the character of Pug and Major.
The new characters were interesting and well developed and by taking the setting to another new place it gave a greater worldbuilding perspective to readers of the whole series.
I would heartily recommend this book to both new and regular readers of the riftwar cycle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 1999
Of the six books that comprise or grow out of the "Riftwar Saga," this is without doubt Feist's best effort in terms of writing skills. Backing away, at least in the beginning, from the event laden narrative of his earlier books, the author finally attempts to provide greater depth both in terms of his characterizations and building up a premise from which to launch this newest tale. Unfortunately he does not entirely follow through with this effort, and after the first 150 pages begins to fall back upon his old formula of letting the action primarily support the story. The result is that all the characters introduced after the first few chapters become the typical Feist caricatures that populate his previous works, and even some of the early players - Harry in particular - devolve into one dimensional stereotypes. The author's unfortunate use of the Hollywood pirate, as well as his bald borrowings from Mongolian and Saharan cultures again become evidence of his lack of descriptive imagination or a tendency towards indolence. Further, his plot devices have become repetitive: In the last six books assination attempts have played a role in three, Crydee has been devastated by seaborn raiders in two, dragons again save the day, all the boys and girls pair up, and the Pantathian threat remains essentially the same; only the Slayers have changed the color of their costume. And again Feist winds up his tale in mawkish sentimentality identical to "A Darkness at Sethanon."
Feist does offer the reader moments of unexamined action and pleasurable escape. The problem is that these modest diversions appear more and more to be much of the same: Names and places change, the action shifts chronologically, but the overall story remains familiar. But like McDonalds, I suppose, Feist appeals to those who like the expected.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
A return to midkemia after a fantastic end to the empire saga, filled with fast paced, well written action and character development. If a little sad knowing that your instinct of who will make it and who won't, the book is nevertheless great at keeping the tension high and the melancholy brief. A fantastic return to the serpent story with enough half clues as to the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2002
this book was a really good read, having read all of fiests work this was one of my favorite pieces of work there was great depth in the workings of ALL his charecters, not one lagged anything at all. my favourite charector in this book has to be Amos Trask the pirate (turned navy).
This a really good read for anybody begginer or full time fan like me.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.