Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Odyssey Three
Following on from 2001 and 2010 Clarke continues the adventures of Heywood Floyd for this third novel in the series, featuring a rendezvous with Halley's Comet and a crash-landing on Europa. If there is a criticism with this novel it's that the overarching mythos of the alien monoliths isn't really developed at all (the transformed Dave Bowman and HAL make the breifest...
Published on 18 July 2007 by Jane Aland

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine, but not worthy of the series
There's nothing wrong with this novel per se; it has an intriguing plot, and the scenes on Halley's Comet are interesting. The problem is that alongside the visionary brilliance of 2001 and 2010, a common-or-garden sci-fi thriller is not what the fans were looking for. People crash on Europa, have some adventures, see a bit of the local fauna, and then get rescued. End of...
Published on 18 Oct. 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine, but not worthy of the series, 18 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: 2061: Odyssey Three (Paperback)
There's nothing wrong with this novel per se; it has an intriguing plot, and the scenes on Halley's Comet are interesting. The problem is that alongside the visionary brilliance of 2001 and 2010, a common-or-garden sci-fi thriller is not what the fans were looking for. People crash on Europa, have some adventures, see a bit of the local fauna, and then get rescued. End of story. Fine in itself, but it doesn't actually add anything to the central idea of the monoliths in the way that 2010 added to its predecessor. One cannot help suspecting financial motivations for its creation, although surely Clarke doesn't need the money?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Odyssey Three, 18 July 2007
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 2061: Odyssey Three (Paperback)
Following on from 2001 and 2010 Clarke continues the adventures of Heywood Floyd for this third novel in the series, featuring a rendezvous with Halley's Comet and a crash-landing on Europa. If there is a criticism with this novel it's that the overarching mythos of the alien monoliths isn't really developed at all (the transformed Dave Bowman and HAL make the breifest of cameo appearances at the end), but Clarke keeps things moving with his basic but effective prose, and there's certainly enough space action to justify the 'space odyssey' tag. In terms of moving the series forward this is by no means essential, but it's still not a bad book, and those who have enjoyed the previous two installments should still find plenty to enjoy here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2061 A Strange Odyssey, 22 Aug. 2007
This review is from: 2061: Odyssey Three (Paperback)
Non Spoiler Section:

This book is the third in the monolith series (2001/2010). It continues 50 years after the climactic and brilliant end of 2010. My problem with this book is that it is pointless and doesn't fit the series.

The story isn't overly coherent or seemingly complete, almost as if A.C.C had a 300 page limit and had to quickly wrap things up. The writing style is very different, much shorter chapters, every one with a little cliffhanger or reveal.

It has some great ideas, but that does not warrant this book. I have yet to read 3001, if it has good reviews then get this to complete the series, if not I'd stop at 2010.

Spoilers:

Ok, so what's wrong with it? Hal and Bowman turn up for approx 2 pages. Heywood has no real relation to the story, in fact his trip to the comet never recieves a pay off later on. His becoming immortal made little sense in terms of the how, the why or the when.

The plot involving Europa, while more interesting, is closer to a thriller than an adventure. There's little climax to it all, the rescue is glossed over in a few words, the 'diamond' revelation appears early on in the script. The USSA 'intrigue' is not resolved. It's poor storytelling.

In regards to moving on the series plot, the cliffhanger is AWFUL, it's a sloppy one line at the end that has no reference to events before or it's ramifacations. The monoliths don't actually do anything at all in this book.

This story, to me, would make far more sense as a stand alone book than a "2010" sequal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How to make a living..., 4 Aug. 2000
By 
Normann Aaboe Nielsen (Odder Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2061: Odyssey Three (Paperback)
A writer must write to earn his living. Doing a sequel, he sometimes violates whatever magic there once were in the beginning of that sequel. In my oppinion Clarke did that with this book (and also with RAMA II). The story goes on only 51 years after the new star Lucifer was turned on and with the message "All these planets..." still sounding in the ears of humans. The son of Dr. Floyd does the Buck Rogers thing (landing on Europa) and we - the readers - must follow the show / dramae like some over-sentimental soap opera. Not good, and it does not bring anything new to the saga!
At this point in time as a writer, it seems to me that Clarke writes one or two pages of text, then looks at it, says "hmm... OK!", gives it a suspense-heading (like "Downfall" or "Life!" or something) and calls the output a chapter. This is a book to read between bus-stops - a chapter is just the right size for that. But for serious readers, I don't think this book is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed, 15 Feb. 2008
This review is from: 2061: Odyssey Three (Paperback)
I was so dissapointed when I first read 2061. While not a bad book, it just isn't a sequel to the previous two. Most of the story is completely irrelevant to the "Space Odyssey" universe, and I would dare to say that this is a novel that Clarke start writing and after a while he thought, "let's give a commercial title to it, say Odyssey Three". Sure, Clarke's unique style of writing is present, and as a person who read more than 10 of his novels, I would recognize his style with eyes closed. It's just the progression of the story that is so boring.

A good reason to read this (and maybe the only reason to do so), is to move on to "3001" after, which is a superior book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars unfortuntaly average., 4 Mar. 2010
This review is from: 2061: Odyssey Three (Paperback)
I really enjoyed 2001 and 2010 and was looking forward to reading 2061.

On the whole it is a good book with a catchy premise. 51 years after Lucifer erupts and Europa is declared of limits human greed and political intrigue lead to an accident that traps a vessel on Europa... "The monoliths are gonna be vexed." I hear you say... But no.
Dr Floyd rushes to the rescue and tries to deal with HALman to try and stop any repricussions.

Clarke doesn't fail to enthrall the reader with his epic descriptive paragraphs about Halley's comet and the surface of Europa, really pulling the reader into the universe but I found it lacking bite from the plot, there was no urgency for the rescue and it kind of peetered out before their arrival.

I was also left feeling a little cheated with the recycling of a couple of the chapters from 2010 and 2001 and I had a feeling half way through one page of Deja-vu before realising that i wasn't crazy and I HAD read the chapter before, But they were good chapters so worth reading again.

On the whole its a good book but as the other reviews have said it added very little to the overall 2001 universe and despite it being well written and enjoyable to read it felt like a conservatory on the house that Clarke had already built... Not overly necessary however nice it may be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Prelude to the Final Odyssey?, 14 Feb. 2009
By 
Archy (ALTRINCHAM, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Many writers of classic novels are tempted to write a sequel. It's almost obligatory. The Odyssey series comprises four volumes, of which this is the third. Unfortunately, the law of diminishing returns has set in; while 2010: Odyssey Two developed the story of HAL, Bowman, and Heywood Floyd, this one does nothing at all. It's wrapped up with a rather nonsensical tempter for the final volume, but would have worked better as a stand alone novel; as a second sequel to 2001: A Space Odyssey it just devalues the brilliant original.

Plotwise, there's nothing really new; we're back to the sort of thing Clarke wrote with Earthlight or Fall of Moondust, except it's set further out. It's the old stranded astronauts tale, though in this case the end is so anti-climatic it's very disappointing indeed.

The characters are, as ever, rather two dimensional. Heywood Floyd's still around - over 100 but still able to zoom off to Jupiter. His grandson is here too, though this character is introduced without any real attempt at character development at all, so it's difficult to have any sympathy with him. David Bowman and the monolith do next to nothing, tacked on so this can be sold as part of the Odyssey series.

There are some enjoyable parts; Arthur Clarke seems happiest when using his imagination to describe alien worlds and, in this case Halley's comet, which makes a longer than needed appearance of no great relevance to the rest of the book. His political intrigues, though, are badly dated.

All in all, it's easy enough to skim through, and Odyssey fans will want to do that. But compared to that brilliant original it's very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars 256 pages of bland stodgy filler material with little meaningful plot., 28 Oct. 2014
This review is from: 2061: Odyssey Three (Paperback)
256 pages of bland stodgy filler material with little meaningful plot. Having read 2001 and 2010 (both great novels) this came as a total and utter disappointment. The first section, talking about political upheavals on earth and the failure of a chinese space mission, is utterly boring, the next part where they travel to the comet, is even worse - pages and pages of irrelevant and tedious chat between the characters on the space ship. The only half decent part of the book is where they land on the comet and explore it, but this is an interlude which leads nowhere and has no real meaning in the plot of the overall series. There's some feeble attempt by one of the characters to sabotage the mission, their motive a complete mystery which never gets mentioned again or fits the overall plot in a sensible fashion. Then the complete anticlimax of the ending with Dave Bowman & HAL popping in to say hi, about 2 pages from the end, then leaving (they probably decided that it was a bad party and it was better to cut their losses and head back to the pub...)
If you are a die-hard A.C.C. fan then by all means read it - but don't say I didn't warn you ! If not and you've read the first 2 books in the series and want to complete it - do yourself a favour : read about the plot of this novel online and skip straight to the final book. You'll save yourself several hours of your life which would undoubtedly be better spent doing something (anything) else !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Um, 26 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2061: Odyssey Three (Paperback)
Returning to the story-line after a considerable break for me, this didn't deliver the same plethora of science and fiction I had hoped. I'm just about to start 3001 with a slightly heavy heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A.C. turns another story in to a trilogy of unfinished business., 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2061: Odyssey Three (Paperback)
Arrived quickly as described no hassles.

NO SPOILERS

what is it with Mr Clarke. Yes we all owe him a massive debt of gratitude for the satellite and comms world we live in. No doubt of it.

But we also have to thank him for the unfinished......thought, idea, sentence? -

Its really annoying when he starts something brilliant and then doesn't finish it. This is not the only example of his writing where the initial concept was staggering and the possibilities were tantalisingly hinted at and laid out before us. however, rather than give us a complete, finished, rounded piece of work he is quite content to either leave it hanging.......or just churn out more in the same vein and then leave it hanging.

If you're happy with the 'journey' and actually like inconclusive endings then A.C.'s your man.

Don't misunderstand me I love his books and his ideas - I just wish one of them could be concluded. Perhaps it's me and I'm just not capable of seeing the ending. Or then again it is a great money spinning M.O. to maximise the return on one idea.

ACID TEST: Would I advise someone to read this - NOT if they wanted a reveal/explanation etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

2061: Odyssey Three
2061: Odyssey Three by Arthur C. Clarke (Paperback - 4 Dec. 2000)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews