Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Background to the Wamphiri AND horror/thriller plot.
My favourite aspect of this sequel is the background to the Wamphiri, (namely Thibor and his captor, Faethor). Although there is a very good real time plot about a new vampire, I preferred the 'history' sections, (which are almost equal in number to the contemporary sections). I have no doubt that the history is more crucial to someone endeavoring to read following...
Published on 3 April 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Necroscope Remade
Not a bad book in its own right, the second in the Necroscope series I find dull, simply because it is far too similar in plot to the first. It reads like a rewrite of the first with less zip.

If you intend to read the entire series (and I'd recommend it) then you'll need to read this to follow the story arc, but don't expect any major pzazz from it.
Published on 20 Jan. 2012 by SJATurney


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Background to the Wamphiri AND horror/thriller plot., 3 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Wamphyri! (Necroscope, Book 2) (Paperback)
My favourite aspect of this sequel is the background to the Wamphiri, (namely Thibor and his captor, Faethor). Although there is a very good real time plot about a new vampire, I preferred the 'history' sections, (which are almost equal in number to the contemporary sections). I have no doubt that the history is more crucial to someone endeavoring to read following books in the series, (like me). This is well worth reading, (i.e. it isn't uneconomical for the rewards, even if you don't have myriad time to spend reading).
Contrary to popular opinion, I believe that this novel is stronger than the prequel, Necroscope, in terms of simplicity and readability, although the first book did start many fascinating concepts. Overall, this is a decent choice for anyone's next book if they have read Necroscope some time in the past. If you have not read Necroscope, I advise that you get that aswell; it really is worth the time consumption and the money, (although time consumption is more crucial to most people when we are talking about a maximum of £14 for two books that will give you hours and hours of entertainment).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exploring the Necroscope mythos, 10 May 2008
By 
SonicQuack (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wamphyri! (Necroscope, Book 2) (Paperback)
Wamphyri! is written in a similar mould to the original Necroscope novel, in that there is extensive character exploration, then the chase, and finally an explosive finale. The sequel is best enjoyed after having read the original Necroscope, which paves the way for events contained in this second chapter. Wamphyri! is a slow burner for the first 200 pages, which follows the historical adventures of the Wamphyri introduced in the first book. After that, the plot shifts up a gear in to more modern times. Plenty of new characters are introduced and Lumley works hard to produce a twisting tale, laden with suspense, intrigue and horror. He is clearly creating a whole mythos to himself within the supernatural genre. The finale is rather too neat, in which all the plotlines are neatly sown up, but is exciting none-the-less. A great entry in to a classic series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best just got better!, 27 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Wamphyri! (Necroscope, Book 2) (Paperback)
WOW! Just finished the second in Brian Lumley's excellent Necroscope novels. This book is so exciting! I found myself coming home from work and reading a couple of dozen pages just so I could find out what was coming next! Very interesting story. Brian Lumley has the ability to make you believe what he is writing could actually be real! And when you consider he's writing about people with ESP, vampires and people who talk to the dead, that's quite an accomplishment!
One thing puzzles me. Why on earth has Necroscope not been made into a movie yet? It seem the perfect material to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Necroscope Remade, 20 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Wamphyri! (Necroscope, Book 2) (Paperback)
Not a bad book in its own right, the second in the Necroscope series I find dull, simply because it is far too similar in plot to the first. It reads like a rewrite of the first with less zip.

If you intend to read the entire series (and I'd recommend it) then you'll need to read this to follow the story arc, but don't expect any major pzazz from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Once again Lumley captures the imagination of the reader, 16 April 2001
By 
graciec@lineone.net (North Yorkshire England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wamphyri! (Necroscope, Book 2) (Paperback)
Superb read which certainly had my imagination running riot. I was hooked to the necroscope series after reading the first one and was certainly not disappointed with this book. Well worth reading and I cant wait to read the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good continuation of the story started in NECROSCOPE, 24 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Wamphyri! (Necroscope, Book 2) (Paperback)
Extremely compulsive reading. Very interesting because it goes into the bloody background of the Wamphyri. The characters feel very belivable and likeable (even the devil-tounged vampires themselves!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brillance of the Highest Magnitude !, 20 Jan. 2000
By 
Paul Curwen (Southampton, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wamphyri! (Necroscope, Book 2) (Paperback)
After finishing Brian Lumley's Necroscope, I was gasping to read the second novel. Harry was left drifting the moibus continuim, whilst a new vampire Yulian was growing in strength. The novel grabs you and holds you to the last page. The series is wonderful and I'm left wondering where he can go with the next book. The conflict and possibilities of E-branch are intricate and detailed, you could almost believe that such a department exsisted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant second installment of the Necroscope series, 26 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Wamphyri! (Necroscope, Book 2) (Paperback)
After finishing The Necroscope, I was thrilled to know there were four more books following on from the first.
Necroscope II is a brilliant sequal that allows you to learn that bit more about the complex characters and organisations that appeared in the first.
A must for those fans of The Necroscope!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wamphyri! (Necroscope, Book 2) (Paperback)
Well what can I say about this book.... First 30 pages and I am like WOOOOOOOW now I see!!! im half way through the book now and I just realising a lot of things I could not understand in the previous one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Brilliant Novel, 26 April 2014
By 
J. G. Price "majoreyeswater" (Bisbrooke, Rutland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wamphyri! (Necroscope, Book 2) (Paperback)
A Brilliant Follow up to Book One! More Gore and a very exciting story with all of the fascinating Gory storyline of book one what a brilliant mind Brian Lumley has!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wamphyri! (Necroscope, Book 2)
Wamphyri! (Necroscope, Book 2) by Brian Lumley (Paperback - 23 Jun. 1998)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews