Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Gripping and Unsettling Read
Doris Lessing's 'The Fifth Child' may be a slim novel, but it is one that makes a real impact and is a compelling read from beginning to end. Harriet and David Lovatt have a seemingly idyllic life; they have four lovely children and plan to have several more; they have a beautiful, rambling family house complete with a huge kitchen where family and friends congregate;...
Published 17 months ago by Susie B

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm, not quite there, but gripping never the less
I enjoyed the writing style of this book, but found that the story lost its wasy after the first half of the book. I was unsure about giving it a 2 or 3 star but found it strangely compelling and so felt it deserved a 3 in the end. The main character who drove me mad was the mother, who I didn't find that believable as she was so limp and flaky.

I'm not sure if...
Published on 12 May 2012 by Manda Moo


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Child (Paladin Books) (Paperback)
great book, bought for school
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "A thought-provoking read! Recommended!", 20 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fifth Child (Paladin Books) (Paperback)
Jeanette Levin: (eddylevin@dentalsurgeon.demon.co.uk) from London, England , 20 September 2000 I read this little book many years ago and have never forgotten its impact upon me. My understanding of this psychological drama was that, despite the warm, close, loving environment into which this Fifth Child was born and, from which his older siblings seemed to emerge as normal, loved, educated, employed individuals, this Fifth Child's behaviour gave another, frighteningly eery view of the origins of the deviants in our society. The English Liberal philosopher, John Locke (1632-1704) proposed that man was born a blank slate and that all knowledge is derived from experience. In complete contrast, the Scottish philosopher, David Hume (1711-1776) developed Locke's empiricism into the scepticism inherent in it and proposed that man was born a savage beast with no inherent social graces. Thus I see the destiny of this Fifth Child, doomed impervious to his environment, a savage beast', seeking the company of those like himself and hell-bent upon a life of non-conformity. It should however carry a Government Health Warning, DON'T READ WHILST PREGNANT'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The fifth child, 25 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An intriguing story about a couple who wanted a perfect family and perfect life.they had 4 children and their life was all they wanted it to be but when they had their 5 th child the maverick Ben everything changed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Jan. 2015
By 
N. A. Whitaker "nico" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Harrowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Child (Paladin Books) (Paperback)
perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Book, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Child (Paladin Books) (Paperback)
I was very surprised and disappointed to find several pages contained written comments by the previous owner which I found very off putting when reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 46 per cent read, 4 Dec. 2013
By 
Mrs. Joyce P. I. Gillham "Nuttytart" (Essex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Child (Paladin Books) (Paperback)
I was loving this book until it got to 46 per cent read and that was the end,so...for my money I got less than half a book !!! Joyce Gillham
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed up, 9 Feb. 2007
This review is from: The Fifth Child (Paladin Books) (Paperback)
Although this book was gripping and I could not put it down, I also found parts highly unrealistic. Not so much the Ben parts, as it is supposed to be'horror', but for example the part where he is just taken away to an asylum overnight with no assessment of any type which of course in this day and age would not happen. Why does she take so much effort with the historical detail of life in the 60s at the start of the novel and then totally ignores it later on? This asylum is like something out of a bad Victorian novel and at that point I must admit I lost a bit of respect for the book as it just made it a melodramatic badly written novel. quite good, but below Lessing's usual standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Child (Paladin Books) (Paperback)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars aticipation lost, 18 Nov. 2013
I wanted to read this book very much and looked on the amazon site to read reviews. The are not reviews. Many of them reveal too much about the story and characters resulting in my thinking 'what is the point of reading it now'?
Contributors need to know exactly what a review is. It is definitely not a discussion site for the intricacies of the story.
Shan't bother to look them up again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fifth Child (Paladin Books)
The Fifth Child (Paladin Books) by Doris Lessing (Paperback - 2 April 2001)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews