Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars93
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 November 2005
this book is superb. having known nothing about tibet, i now can say i have at least a passing knowledge about this incredible country.
this is a must-read book - you're sure to enjoy it.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2012
I read this book years ago (18 plus) and way before the film was even a twinkle. I have recently re-read it and actually enjoyed it more now than . It has some nice descriptions and for me created an "atmosphere" about a place which has always been shrouded in mystery. But i think reading it now and with several years of experience and maturity I could relate more to the characters.

Would I recommend it? Yes, but with one proviso keep hold of it and read it again I think you may well get more from it on a return read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2008
It's a wonderful story about a man that just wanted to be free and basically doing something, not sitting around in a prison, so he escaped to Tibet and developed a great love for Tibet and Tibetans. I'm interested in oriental culture and Buddhism so naturally I loved this book. I did find it difficult to read at times but I think that was due to the translation, it didn't hinder my enjoyment of it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2010
This is a wonderful little book. Heinrich Harrer's exploits read at times like a Boy's Own adventure story, full of bravery, daring and at times, bare-faced cheek. His descriptions of the closed society of Tibet in the 1940s, the landscape and the people show his deep affection for them and make the reader wish they too could have seen it all too. His relationship with the Dalai Lama is a delight, you glimpse a brief glimpse of life before his exile. Harrer underplays his own character, but you see that he must have been a remarkable man to have inspired such trust and affection from the people he met. The prose is a little stilted at times, but it is important to remember that this is a memoir by a mountaineer, not a writer of novels. What comes across over and over is Harrer's abiding love for Tibet and his deep regret for the loss of an ancient culture. Having read this book, I too regret the loss, and the final sentence of this book, first written in 1953 is as true today as it was then...
I loved this book and would recommend it without reservation...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2012
For me this is one of the most interesting books ever written, given that if focuses on the formative years of the current dali lama. Over the years I've bought and given away several copies, but for a good read, the early hardbacks are the best. Good sized print and published soon after the fact. The dali lama is still relevant today. Could not recommend more highly. 10/10
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
Beautiful book from Heinrich's own words. I love the foreword which is by the Dalai lama, I recommend it to anyone who is interested in history or Buddhism. The only negative aspect can be said to be a little slow phased but all is worth, you can feel the sincerity of Heinrich. He even apologises for his story telling in the beginning.
Again, great book :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The first half, in which the author is escaping, is more enthralling then the second half, whe he settle in Lhasa untill the Chinese invasion force him to leave the country. The movie it is not rapresentative of the book.

The book, although quiteold, was in very good conditions and arrived in a resonable time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 March 2016
This is a fascinating account of Austrian explorer Heinrich Harrer's escape from internment in India, the travails of his journey to and across Tibet, and finally his life in the closed country of Tibet. Harper eventually became tutor and friend to the 14th Dalai Lama and remained in Tibet for 7 years until the Chinese invasion of 1951.

This is a fascinating account too of life in Tibet in the late 1940's. No cars, no electricity, no roads. Just peace and ancient customs based almost entirely on traditional Buddhist life. Occasionally Harrer's views jar slightly - there is a sight touch of European snobbery about Asian people in places, but his commitment to, and subsequent work for, the cause of the people of Tibet, who have lost over one million lives as result of the invasion massively outweighs that minor niggle.

A fascinating book about a fascinating country
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2012
Read this book 12 years ago but enjoyed it so much I thought it worth a second read so introduced it to my book club. They were all impressed by the story of Hienrich Harrier and mountaineering friend who escaped in 1944 from an Indian internment camp during WW11 and made their way over the Himalayas to Lhasha in Tibet where they spent 7 happy years. Harrier became a close friend and adviser of the Dalai Llama until they all fled from the invasion of the red Chinese in 1950.
Harrier spoke to The Royal Geographical society for the second time in 2002 when he was 90.His book is still a travel classic and the most stolen book from the library of RGS.Funnily enough the only copy our library had was missing!! A must read if you like travel or mountaineering or even have an interest in the old life of Tibet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2012
If you want a book that engages your senses and takes you a journey to an exotic land then this is the book for you. I found SEVEN YEARS IN TIBET far better than the film adaptation which was dull for me. The film lacked the magic that the book contains.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)