Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An in-depth, fast-moving, powerfully written masterpeice!
From the moment Daughter Of The Empire is picked up, any avid reader will find themsleves helplessly involved in the novel, and glad of it.
Our first view of Mara is a gripping one, and within the first few pages the action has already begun. Soon we find ourselves immersed in a brilliantly written plot focusing on this seventeen year old daughter of an ancient and...
Published on 10 Jun 2005 by _myth_

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite book, let down by poor editing
I love this trilogy, and so glad to finally have it on Kindle, but why so many spelling and grammar errors? E-books are great, but don't let the quality slide please.
Published 21 months ago by N J Longley


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An in-depth, fast-moving, powerfully written masterpeice!, 10 Jun 2005
This review is from: Daughter of the Empire (Paperback)
From the moment Daughter Of The Empire is picked up, any avid reader will find themsleves helplessly involved in the novel, and glad of it.
Our first view of Mara is a gripping one, and within the first few pages the action has already begun. Soon we find ourselves immersed in a brilliantly written plot focusing on this seventeen year old daughter of an ancient and powerful house, the Acoma, and the sacrifices she has to make for its continuance. Left with few friends, little strength and many allies eager to obliterate the Acoma after the death of Mara's father and brother, lord and heir to the title of Lord of the Acoma, Mara must prove herself as a worthy player of the game of the council, using wits, intelligence and no small amount of cunning to allow the continuance of the Acoma line.
Journeying through the fast-paced and in-depth plot, we follow Mara as she marries a violent son of one of her greatest enemies to secure an ally and a son, bravely commands the respect of the alien cho ja race and ventures into the winlderness to face the hardened ruffian 'grey-warriors' who will form most of the Acoma garrison, commanded by the fiesty Lujan.
With fantastic characters, a plot that has you constantly on the edge of your seat and immensely cunning plots on the behalf of a strong, feminine leader, this book will never remain on your shelf for long. Cry over the fate of Papewaio, stand bravely at the side of force commander Keyoke, smile at the motherly intentions of Nacoya, first advisor to the great house and follow Arakasi, spy commander, into the shadows of his immense spy network; not to mention the hate we muster for Buntokapi, Mara's violent alchoholic husband and Jingu of the Minwanabi, the house that Mara has strived to obliterate to lay the spirit of her murdered father and brother to rest.
A great read, no doubt about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Feb 2005
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daughter of the Empire (Paperback)
This is the first of a trilogy of books set in the fantasy world of Kelewan (first mentioned in Raymond Feists brilliant Magician). Kelewan is an oriental type world, very reminiscent of feudal Japan, where protocol is paramount.
Mara is a young woman living in a world where women are submissive to the men in their lives. When her father dies and her brother is killed Mara finds herself alone with few friends to help her and many enemies who would like to see her destroyed.
This is the story of a young girl who battles against her upbringing in order to survive and to become the most powerful woman of her time. I don't want to give any more of the story away but suffice to say that Feist, partnered with Janny Wurts has produced a masterpiece of fantasy that will surely become a classic. This trilogy is a 'must have' on the bookshelves of any fantasy fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A spin off that almost eclipses its inspiration, 20 Feb 2011
This review is from: Daughter of the Empire (Paperback)
Lets be clear here, we all know (or should know) that in regards to writing, the dreaded collaboration can easily result in a work inferior to what either writer could have manage on their own. The Empire trilogy is not just an exception to that, but a shining example of how such a project can (almost) outstrip the individual work of the authors involved.

Politics, intrigue, magic, mayhem and complete immersion in the quasi oriental home world of the Tsurani, help make this an entertaining and thoroughly enjoyable read (if perhaps a little derivative of James Clavell's Shogun). The strength of this stand alone spin off is such that were it spinning away from anything less popular than the Riftwar saga, it probably would have long ago eclipsed its inspiration.

The bottom line? If you read and enjoyed the Riftwar Saga it's hard to imagine you'd dislike the Empire books. If on the other hand you haven't read it then your better off starting with Magician, its better (just) and reading this first may spoil some aspects of it (incidentally, if you're confused regarding continuity read this series after Darkness at Sethanon).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Thrilling Read!, 11 April 2000
This review is from: Daughter of the Empire (Paperback)
Daughter of the Empire immerses the reader in a new dimension of science fiction. An imaginative plot that evolves intelligently and at a well timed pace, along with well-developed and genuinely interesting characters form the focus of this novel. Readers will find elements of romance, humour, drama and surprise finely interweaved in the fabric of the storyline. The plot evolves around on the life of a young girl, Mara, who inherits her father's seemingly defenceless estates when her father's army is betrayed and decimated. Casting aside all remorse and bitterness, Mara must discover her leadership talents and master them to achieve the upper hand in a dangerous game of political intrigue. Intelligent and crafty, she will seek to gain trust, friendship and above all confidence to face her enemies which plan her demise. Mara's emotional conflicts, her strengths and weaknesses are the elements of a character so human that it is impossible not to relate to. A story of friendship, family, honour and destiny, the book explores to its full depth the magic of the human spirit. It is both impossible to put this book down once you've picked it up and not to buy the rest of the trilogy once you've read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent read, 16 Feb 2011
This review is from: Daughter of the Empire (Paperback)
Welcome to the world of Kelewan that was first introduced in Feist's Riftwar saga. This world has to be the most alien world in fantasy reading that I have ever come across-the creatures and the the political structure of the world. Into this comes Mara who has to survive the death of her father and brother and bring her house through political intrigue. Whilst magic features in the series (quite heavily in the third book), it is a bit part player to the political manovering. I love this series, Mara is well written (as are the other characters) and you see her develop naturally into an important player in Kelewan. If you have not read it and like strong female characters and fantasy then please get this, it is worth buying and reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one if for those book lovers! Hear Hear!, 23 Dec 2010
I don't generally enjoy sci-fi books on general bases, because I find them pretentious and the characters to be overblown from the realities of a real person characteristics. However the trilogy for the Empire books are an exception. Despite it being a sci-fi/fantasy book, a lot of the elements in the book reflects many aspects of the real occurances, but of course spiced up with interesting creatures and traditions.

If you are a Lord of the Rings fan or similar, you'll be guaranteed a good read with this. Think Tolkien, Trudi Canavan, Michelle Moran combo. :p
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning end to the first book, 19 Feb 2010
By 
Ms. K. Arthur - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daughter of the Empire (Paperback)
I have literally just finished reading this book, and wow, what a book!
A story of despair, sorrow, triumph, hate, cunning and so much more, this book surpasses what I expected and now I have to read the second part whilst finishing my university studies!

I've not read Raymond Feist before (or Janny Wurts); I happened to pick up this book and read the first few pages, and it gripped me to the point where I was walking around town with my nose in the book just to see what happened next.

An amazing story, I truly cannot wait to read the next chapter of Mara of Acoma's life, and see what dangers she has to face.

You have to read this book, it will grip you like none other, and make you feel as if you are standing beside each character, feeling what they feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honour, intrigue and one very brave lady, 22 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Daughter of the Empire (Paperback)
If you are a Feist fan ... then this is another good one ... I was nervous with co-authorship, but that was soon dispelled. Great detail, lots of twists and turns ... lots of hints to the East, if you like the Shogun type thing you will be engaged by the honour, power, intrigue and ritual with a bit (not a lot) of fantasy wrapped in. My only irritation? I had not bought in "Servant of the Empire" (bk2) before I finished this (bk 1) ... now I am having to wait for the next installment to arrive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Loss of Power, 15 Nov 2006
By 
Dr. Robert Fisher (Oxford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daughter of the Empire (Paperback)
I came to this trilogy having immersed myself in the Riftwar Saga - and was a little worried that Feist in combination with another author wouldn't hold the same power or connection.

Yikes! Was I wrong! Very powerful character portrayal, huge spread yet depth of plot, it's an absolute page-turner that will grip you, manipulate your emotions and leave you with very fond and happy memories. My initial fears were easily and quickly dispersed. A fine read, beautifully written and with fantsic description and the painting of wonderful vistas. Worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The magic of Magician continues (II), 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The setting and characters expertly woven into the backdrop of a human vs alien cultures without sci-fi. Mara of the Acoma prevails despite great odds against her. So absorbing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Daughter of the Empire
Daughter of the Empire by Janny Wurts (Paperback - 20 Nov 2000)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews