Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prelude to Foundation
After hearing, for years, the hype about the epic 'Foundation Series' I read this book with high expectation. At first it struck me as being rather quaint, and not what I expected from a galaxy sprawling epic, yet non the less kept me enthralled in its own special way. The summation is fantastic and only upon reading futher into the series do you realise the full scale of...
Published on 10 Oct 2002 by ian morrison

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very dated.
Very dated. I got bored as the story tried to get in sync with the original series. I loved the 3 books though they are dated too and Asimov's style of "reveal" gets to be predictable. Amazon should pay UK taxes based on sales in the UK and not hide in a rich tax haven like Luxembourg.
Published 1 month ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prelude to Foundation, 10 Oct 2002
By 
ian morrison (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prelude to Foundation (The Foundation Series) (Paperback)
After hearing, for years, the hype about the epic 'Foundation Series' I read this book with high expectation. At first it struck me as being rather quaint, and not what I expected from a galaxy sprawling epic, yet non the less kept me enthralled in its own special way. The summation is fantastic and only upon reading futher into the series do you realise the full scale of what has been invoked in this volume.
It also expands upon the character of Hari Seldon, which is much appreciated after the fleeting glimpses we get of the man throught the other Foundation novels. We get to meet the man behind the plan, and see that even great prophets have human frailties and reservations like the rest of us.
A fine place to start with the series and worth your time...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great description of Foundation's "founder", Hari Seldon, 12 Dec 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Prelude to Foundation (The Foundation Series) (Paperback)
The first Asimov book I read, it inflamed my interest, and I have read nearly ALL of Asimov's other science fiction works in the year and a half since! The Foundation series is incredible, as are the Galactic Empire and Robot novels. "Prelude" details Seldon's Flight across Trantor, and shows Asimov's excellent eye for studying cultures, sociology and human nature. Indeed, I believe my way of looking at people's motives and thoughts has changed having read Prelude etc. Always a joy to read, with some amusing and erotic pieces, Prelude leaves you wanting more and more and more!!! Read this, and I promise you won't be disappointed, and you'll reach for the rest of the Foundation series guaranteed!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prelude to Foundation (The Foundation Series) (Paperback)
classic read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Asimov again, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prelude to Foundation (Unbound)
What can one say? This is Asimov in his latter years tying everything together. The man was a master story teller and this audio version was read by a master
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prelude to the foundation, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prelude to Foundation (The Foundation Series) (Paperback)
Bought this for my husband as he is a sci fi fan and has other books like this thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still a good read, 18 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read most of Isaac Asimov's books and have enjoyed reading them, this one filled in the story that was missing from the foundation trilogy, very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amzing read and excellent companion to the Foundation series, 21 Oct 2013
This review is from: Prelude to Foundation (The Foundation Series) (Paperback)
I read this on the back of several good reviews, and because i wanted to read more Asimov!

Prelude to Foundation provides a closer look at Hari Seldon, someone who is referenced in the Foundation series, and how he came about the idea of psycho-history.

There are several great characters within this book which help make up great companions for Mr Seldon.

The book itself rasies several intriguing points that really make you think, and helps go someway to explaining how and why the idea of psycho-history came about.

Additionally, this has an absoutely amazing ending which i did not see coming - but when you read it, it just makes sense! And you begin to understand why things happened like they did in the book.

All in all, a great read, and was itching for more once i got to the end. At no point does the story seem to drag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant, 18 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. Thomas W. Johnston (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prelude to Foundation (The Foundation Series) (Paperback)
I loved reading this book. I like most others began by reading the original trilogy, this however is the first of the prequels. It follows Harri Seldon as he begins to develop his theory of psycho-history whilst on the run from those that would use the theory for their own means
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prelude to Foundation (The Foundation Series) (Paperback)
Another cracking Asimov novel to enjoy. They just get better and better and are a definite page turner for the Sci fi fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent start for the best sci-fi series ever..., 7 Oct 2011
By 
J. M. Hayward - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is so very good. Lovely bit of backstory for Seldon, interesting characters, and brilliantly written, as is to be expected from Asimov. My only qualm is that it could be longer. Not because this is a short book, you understand... I just didn't want it to end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prelude to Foundation (The Foundation Series)
Prelude to Foundation (The Foundation Series) by Isaac Asimov (Paperback - 22 Aug 1994)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews